2018 LTC Carnaval of New Latinx Work

The Latinx Theatre Commons (LTC) invites artistic directors, artists, decision makers, dramaturgs, literary managers, producers, and scholars from the U.S. theatre field to the 2018 LTC Carnaval of New Latinx Work, July 19-21, 2018, produced in association with Teatro Vista and the Alliance of Latinx Theatre Artists  of Chicago (ALTA), and hosted by The Theatre School at DePaul University in Chicago, IL. All interested in producing work by Latinx artists are invited to attend!

Carnaval 2018 will build upon the success of the 2015 LTC Carnaval of New Latina/o Work by featuring readings of six new plays. Each featured  play—selected from a nationwide call—will receive development with a Latinx creative team including a director, dramaturg, actors, and designers. Carnaval participants will also have the chance to visit Chicago theatres for workshops, tours, and sessions with the aim of introducing national participants to the rich variety of Latinx companies and artists working in the city. The 2018 LTC Carnaval is free, but you must register and receive confirmation to attend. Your participation will be confirmed by May 18, 2018.

Dates of Import
Play Submissions Opens: December 5, 2017
Play Submissions Closes: January 10, 2018
Carnaval Registration Opens: Monday, April 16, 2018
Carnaval Registration Closes: Sunday, May 6, 2018

Notification of Participation: Friday, May 18, 2018
2018 LTC Carnaval: July 19-21, 2018

Announcing the 2018 LTC Carnaval Advisory Committee

The Advisory Committee for the 2018 LTC Carnaval is made up of an amazing array of theatremakers representing the country and the Chicago area. We are excited about the growing support for this convening and look forward to welcoming their participation.

Will Davis, Artistic Director, American Theater Company
Sandra Delgado, Playwright/Performer
Joseph Haj, Artistic Director, Guthrie Theater
Naomi Iizuka, Playwright

Maria López de León, President & CEO, NALAC
Richard Montoya, Co-Founder and Ensemble Member, Culture Clash
Mildred Ruiz, Co-Founder and Ensemble Member, Universes 
Anna D. Shapiro, Artistic Director, Steppenwolf Theatre

Liesl Tommy, Director 
Luis Valdez, Founder, El Teatro Campesino 
Chay Yew, Artistic Director, Victory Gardens Theater

Please contact LTC Producer Abigail Vega with any questions.  For more on the 2015 LTC Carnaval, see our Café Onda content about it here.