The Network of Ensemble Theaters presents Intersection: Ensembles + Universities livestreaming from LaMama and New School University in New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday, October 31 to Sunday, November 2, 2014. In Twitter, use #howlround to share conversation. See the livestream schedule below.

What is Intersection?
Intersection is a symposium that will launch a multi-year investigation of the connectivity between professional ensembles and colleges/universities. Across the country, NET is seeing an increase in ensemble artists working within academia, with a concomitant increase in the inclusion of ensemble practices within curriculum. In addition, universities and colleges produce many of the next generation of ensemble artists. Recognizing these already significant interrelationships, NET hopes to identify ways to serve more intentionally as a resource and connector within and between sectors.

Among the issues to be addressed in the inaugural symposium will be ensemble pedagogy and training, the practices of ensemble creation within the university structure and time frames, and how NET might serve as a pre-professional bridge between graduates and ensembles, to build connections and strengthen and track post-graduate career progress for ensemble theatremakers.

Among the questions to be explored:

• How do we create, perform, teach, and practice ensemble with in the university setting?
• What do students gain from learning ensemble practice in academia?
• What are examples and hallmarks of successful ensemble/university collaborations?
• How can universities/scholars and ensembles/artists work together to better serve one another and fulfill the goals of each?
• How does or can ensemble artmaking function as academic research? What tools, language, and structures are required?

Intersection will explore these questions and others through hands-on learning, peer-to-peer conversations, interdisciplinary workshops and performances, and community brainstorming.

What is an ensemble?
As defined by NET: "An ensemble is a group of individuals dedicated to collaborative creation, committed to working together consistently over years to develop a distinctive body of work and practices."

Livestream Schedule:

Friday, October 31

Opening Plenary: La MaMa: A Nexus for Ensemble and Universities

10am-1pm PDT / 12pm-3pm CDT / 1pm-4pm EDT / 17:00 GMT - 20:00 GMT
Welcome
Fourth Arts Block (FAB)
40 Years of Ensembles at La MaMa
Four Generations of Ensembles
La MaMa and Universities

Saturday, November 1

Keynote: Liz Lerman
7am PDT / 9am CDT / 10am EDT / 14:00 GMT
Making Rules and Breaking Rules: a choreographic consideration of creating structures for collaborative-making, and the nature of leadership within those structures.

All Theatre is Physical Theatre
8am PDT / 10am CDT / 11am EDT / 15:00 GMT
Facilitator: Cecilia Rubino (The New School). Presenters: Leonard Cruz (St. Mary’s College of Maryland), Meghan Frank (Dell'Arte International), Elisabeth Hostetter (Rowan University), Lane Savadove (Rowan University), Melanie Stewart (Rowan University)

Plenary: Theater Grottesco performance
11am PDT / 1pm CDT / 2pm EDT / 18:00 GMT
Presented by Theater Grottesco, CONSIDER THIS is a 60-minute romp, masquerading as a lecture-demonstration, through the pre-history of American theatre—from Greek tragedy to commedia dell'arte clown, buffoon, masks, and more.

Training Designers for Ensemble Collaborations
12:30pm PDT / 2:30pm CDT / 3:30pm EDT / 19:30 GMT
Facilitator: Sabrina Hamilton (Ko Festival of Performance/Ko Theater Works) Presenters: Leon Ingulsrud (SITI Company), Robert H. Leonard (Virginia Tech), Darron L. West (SITI Company). 

Plenary: Cross-Generational Influences - Rosemary Quinn, Cristal Chanelle Truscott, Tiana K. Johnson, and Rebekah Stevens
2:15pm PDT / 4:15pm CDT / 5:15pm EDT / 21:15 GMT
Three generations of ensemble theatremakers, educators, and students share performances and discuss legacy, training, inter-generational collaboration.

Sunday, November 2

Plenary: 100 Questions, 3 ideas, 1 story, and a ghost - Michael Rohd
7:30am PDT / 9:30pm CDT / 10:30am EDT / 15:30 GMT
A reflection on ensemble practice inside and outside the theatre, the arts, and civic settings.

 

Ensemble + University Partnerships for Creating Socially Engaged Theatre
8:30am PDT / 10:30am CDT / 11:30am EDT / 16:30 GMT
Facilitator: Bruce Allardice (Ping Chong + Company). Presenters: Steven Hitt (LaGuardia Community College), Yuko Kurahashi (Kent State University), Michael Rohd (Northwestern University/Sojourn Theatre)

 

Closing Session
10:15am PDT / 12:15pm CDT / 1:15pm EDT / 18:15 GMT

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming