A commons by and for people who make performance. Learn how you can participate>

Washington Post theater critic Peter Marks (@petermarksdrama) will be co-hosting the Howl this week on Twitter using #newplay. This week we will continue the conversation from last week about the impact of social media on the future of arts criticism.

Join us on Tuesday, April 3 from 12pm-1pm (San Francisco) / 2pm-3pm (Chicago) / 3pm-4pm (New York) / 7pm-8pm (GMT) / 8pm-9pm (London – BST) / 9pm-10pm (Paris – CEST).

To participate, put “#newplay” in your Twitter messages to get your voice heard.

For some background on the topic, read journalist Chloe Veltman's post, artist Mark Jackson's post, listen to the recent David Dower Friday Phone Call with Peter Marks, and watch this #NEWPLAY TV video from "Critiquing Criticism: (re)imagining the future,"a panel discussion moderated by Polly Carl at the Humana Festival of New American Plays at the Actors Theatre of Louisville. Panelists included: Sasha Anawalt (Publisher, www.Engine28.com), Ilana M. Brownstein (Founding Dramaturg, Playwrights’ Commons), Gordon Cox (Variety), Thomas Graves (Co-Producing Artistic Director, Rude Mechs), William F. Hirschman (Chair, New Plays Committee, American Theatre Critics Association), Deborah Stein (Playwright), and Diep Tran (American Theatre Magazine).

An hour prior to the start of this discussion, we’d like to invite you to DJ with us in the HowlRound Turntable Room. We want to hear your music!