Event Has Passed

The 25th Annual Theatre Communications Group National Conference in Cleveland—Thursday 18 June - Saturday 20 June 2015

Thumbnail

Theatre Communications Group (USA) presented the 25th Annual National Conference in Cleveland: Game Change livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 18 June to Saturday 20 June.

In Twitter, use #TCG15 and follow @TCG and @HowlRoundTV.

See the livestream schedule on HowlRound TV below. (The four plenaries have live American Sign Language interpretation within the livestreamed video. This is an collaborative experiment between HowlRound and TCG, so please send us your feedback @HowlRoundTV in Twitter or tv@howlround.com)

Game Change: It’s that moment when an unlikely dream suddenly becomes reality and more becomes possible. The rules change, the pieces on the board flip, and the world scrambles to adapt to the vision of the game-changer. Our not-for-profit theatre movement was launched by our game-changing founders, and is renewed by every theatremaker that dares to create a new artistic form, or forge a deeper connection to our communities, or find a more sustainable way to support our theatres.

From 18-20 June in Cleveland, Ohio, TCG’s 25th National Conference will convene hundreds of theatre people to empower game-changing moments through peer exchange, model sharing, and exciting speakers. When the largest national gathering of theatre people turns 25, it’s also time for a party!

This 25th National Conference will also be an opportunity to reconnect and reexamine our purpose. What began as an intimate gathering of game-changing founders has blossomed into a diverse, multi-generational exchange between hundreds of theatre people from across the world. What should the role of the National Conference be now, with our ever-expanding field finding its way in a digital age? How can our coming together for three days lead to stronger relationships, groundbreaking ideas, and an ever more vital theatre ecology?

 

Thursday 18 June, 2015

1 p.m. EDT / 10 a.m. PDT:
How We Show Up: A Playbook for the Conference
Teresa Eyring, Dafina McMillan, Devon Berkshire, Ty Defoe, Gus Schulenburg, and Kevin Moore
.

1:30 p.m. EDT / 10:30 a.m. PDT:
Ally Skills-Building
Carmen Morgan, Dafina McMillan, Gus Schulenburg, Leslie Ishii, and Larissa FastHorse.

2:45 p.m. EDT / 11:45 a.m. PDT:
Hiring for Change: Racial/Ethnic Diversity in Production Departments
Sharifa Johka, Tirzah Tyler, David Stewart, and James Streeter


4:15 p.m. EDT / 1:15 p.m. PDT:
The Legacy of American Theatre Magazine

5:45 p.m. EDT / 2:45 p.m. PDT: (ASL Interpreted and Captioned)
Opening Plenary, Baratunde Thurston

Friday 19 June, 2015

9 a.m. EDT / 6 a.m. PDT: (ASL Interpreted and Captioned)
A Conversation with Lisa Kron
Lisa Kron and Oskar Eustis

10:30 a.m. EDT / 7:30 a.m. PDT:
Audience (R)Evolution: Sharing and Prototyping Strategies, Part 1
Kristen Jackson, Tom Quaintance, Nancy Schaeffer, Seema Sueko, Kelsey Tyler, Hallie Gordon, Mica Garcia de Benavidez, Daniel Penilla, and Ariadna Freda Casillas


12:30 p.m. EDT / 9:30 a.m. PDT:
At the Intersections: Disability (Captioned)
Beth Prevor, Kate Langsdorf, Claudia Alick, and Christine Bruno

3:45 p.m. EDT / 12:45 p.m. PDT: (ASL Interpreted and Captioned)
Dave Isay on The History of StoryCorps and The Power of Storytelling

Saturday 20 June, 2015

10:30 a.m. EDT / 7:30 a.m. PDT:
From Aesthetics To Action: Green Theatre Now

George Bartenieff, Karen Malpede, MFA, and Alison Carey

10:30 a.m. EDT / 7:30 a.m. PDT:
The Means of Production: The Growing Movement of Playwright Collectives
Gwydion Suilebhan, Jojo Ruf, Jeremy Cohen, Emily Acker, Maura Krause, and Trista Baldwin

12:15 p.m. EDT / 9:15 a.m. PDT:
Blue Star Theatres – Theatre Techniques for Veterans

Paula Vogel, Alex Mallory, Stephan Wolfert, everett cox, and KJ Sanchez

12:15 p.m. EDT / 9:15 a.m. PDT:
Changing the Landscape of Theatre Audiences, Artists & Beyond: The Youth Voice

Hallie Gordon

3 p.m. EDT / 12 p.m. PDT: (ASL Interpreted and Captioned)
Artistic Leadership: How We Change the Game
Mina Morita, Gregory Boyd, Michael Kahn, Laura Kepley, Niegel Smith, and Jim O'Quinn

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First