Event Has Passed

365 Women a Year Project for World Theatre Day 2015 with NITE Corp—Friday 27 March 2015

Thumbnail

The New International Theatre Experience (NITE) presents a program of talks, readings, and presentations to celebrate World Theatre Day 2015 livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 27 March.

The program includes presentations of plays from the 365 Women a Year project which is an international playwriting group that empowers female playwrights to tell the stories of historical women who have been hiding in the shadows of history for too long. The project’s goal is to write women of the past back into the social consciousness, as well as empower and promote female playwrights around the world.

FULL SCHEDULE:

Izar Productions, La Nacional, New York.
10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York) / 17:00 GMT (London) / 18:00 CET (Madrid)
Izar Productions in New York will have a workshop reading performance of the following play: A Lucid Dream by Begonya Plaza, about Evita Perón and Dolores Ibarruri.

Evita Perón, Argentina's leading political figure of the late 1940's, and Dolores Ibarruri, known as La Pasionaria, a Spanish Republican, communist leader of the Spanish Civil War, meet in that kind of river Styx, the boundary between earth and the underworld. These historical heroines are confronted to ponder the mystery of their existence under the prism of immortality and for the sake of eternal wakeful peace. 

This is a work in progress at its earliest stage of development with, Carmen Cabrera as Evita Perón and Begonya Plaza as Dolores Ibarruri, directed by Ignacio Garcia-Bustelo. Camera technician: Joe Bressler.
 
 

Kubik Theatre, Madrid, Spain.
1:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 3:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 20:30 GMT (London) / 21:30 CET (Madrid)

The 365 Women group formed in Spain will present their project. Starting in the venue at 21:30 CET Madrid time, the streaming will go live at 22:00 CET Madrid time. Talks with the playwrights, projections, and readings of two of the plays (italized) written within this group that comprises the following works:

1. Un mar de papel by Inmaculada Alvear about Carlota O'Neill
2. The Horizon of the Sun by Beatriz Cabur about Nefertiti
3. Safo de Lesbos by Diana Cristóbal Herrero about Safo
4. Ternura Negra by Denise Despeyroux about María Estuardo
5. El abrazo de Amma by Yolanda Dorado about Amma
6. La Petite Blanchard by Inge Martin about María Blanchard
7. Cuerpo Marcado by Margarita Reiz about Jineth Bedoya
8. El retrato de la Sibila by Vanesa Sotelo about Maruja Mallo

Bennington College Student Center, Vermont.

Thumbnail

5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 p.m. EDT (New York) / 00:00 GMT Sat, March 28 (London) / 01:00 CET Sat, March 28 (Madrid). 

The group in Vermont will present their work with readings of the following plays:
1. Feelin' Lonely by Catherine Weingarten, about Elizabeth Bishop
2. En El Medio by Maia Villa, about Gloria Anzaldua
3. After the Thin Man by Shellen Lubin, about Stella Adler and Sylvia Gassel
4. Making Frankenstein by Natalie Osborne, about Mary Shelley
5. White Cotton by Shellen Lubin, about Frannie Lou Hammer

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

2
Add Comment
Newest First