Event Has Passed

The Art of Justice: Articulating an Ethos and Aesthetic of the Movement in New York—Saturday 7 November 2015

Thumbnail

The Art of Justice: Articulating an Ethos and Aesthetic of the Movement presented its first convening in a three-part series of artist roundtables, livestreamed on the global, commons based peer-produced HowlRoundTV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 7 November. 

To join the conversation via Twitter use hashtag #TheArtofJustice and follow @cccadi and @nyuartspolitics.

The Art of Justice Conference: With a particular focus on the Black and Nuyorican Arts Movements, The Art of Justice: Articulating an Ethos and Aesthetic of the Movement conference will present the ideas and aesthetics of those earlier movements honoring and guided by the first hand voices documenting their actual experiences. There will be an emphasis on group discussion and audience participation.

The essential themes to be discussed are: the universality of the struggle for justice and the art that served it; the continuity of the struggle with others like the Negritude Movement, the Harlem Renaissance, Marcus Garvey’s and the UNIA, and the Hon. Elijah Muhammad and the Nation of Islam; the celebration of historic activist, including Marcus Garvey, Carlos Cooks, Elombe Brath, Amiri Baraka, Mario Bauzá, Frank ‘Machito’ Grillo, Tito Puente, Asadata Dafora, Pearl Primus, Katherine Dunham, Diego Rivera, Baba Osergiman, Nana Yao Opare Dinizulu, Babatunje Olatunji, Syvilla Fort, Max Roach, Abbey Lincoln, Sun Ra, Nina Simone, Fred Ho, Pete Seeger, and others; the reassessment of current movements such as Nuyorican Poets Cafe, La Raza, American Indian Movement, the Asian Arts Movement, and the Guerrilla Girls.

The conference is being produced by the Caribbean Cultural Center-African Diaspora Institute, the Institute of African American Affairs and the Department of Art and Public Policy, both of New York University; and the Institute for Research in African American Studies of Columbia University. The conference will consist of a series of a total of three gatherings. The first will take place at NYU on Saturday, November 7, 2015. It will be composed of a full day gathering with  a keynote address followed by three roundtable panels. There will be a focus on the art created by artists actively involved the in the movements. The panels are constructed to encourage open discussions as opposed to a lecture format, and to present a selection of the visual arts produced by the participants. Those who were personally active in the political arts movements will facilitate the discussions. The events of the day will conclude with an evening solo piano concert by Randy Weston.

Livestream Schedule

Saturday 7 November 2015

Program Subject to Change Without Notice

9:15 a.m. EST / 6:15 a.m. PST
Homage: Amiri Baraka

9:30 a.m. EST / 6:30 a.m. PST
Welcome: Kathy Engel, Chairperson, Department of Arts and Public Policy, New York University; Jaïra Placide, Associate Director Institute of African American Affairs New York University; Robert O’Meally, Professor Zora Neale Hurston Professor of English and Comparative Literature.

9:40 a.m. EST / 6:40 a.m. PST
Slide Show: Kwame Braithwaite, Patrice Lumumba Coalition, African Jazz Art Society & Studios-AJASS.

9:55 a.m. EST / 6:55 a.m. PST
Introduction/Context: Felipe Luciano, Poet, Chairperson Young Lords Party

10:15 a.m. EST / 7:15 a.m. PST
Performance by Antonio David Lyons

10:25 a.m. EST / 7:25 a.m. PST
Roundtable 1: Unifying Visions of Justice
Ademola Olugebefola, Visual Artist, cofounder WEUSI Artists Gallery and Academy, Dwyer Cultural Center & NYNCA; Jack Tchen, Basement Workshop, Co-Founder Museum of Chinese in America, Associate Professor NYU; Valerie Maynard, Artist Activist; Diane Fraher, Founder and Director of Amerinda; Elizabeth Yeampierre, Executive Director of UPROSE. 

Moderator: C. Daniel Dawson—Visual Artist, Curator, and Arts Administrator; IRAAS, Columbia University and Gallatin School, NYU

11:30 a.m. EST / 8:30 a.m. PST
Q & A

12 p.m. EST / 9 a.m. PST
Lunch

1:35 p.m. EST / 10:35 a.m. PST
Slide Show: Hiram Maristany, photographer, Young Lords Party

1:45 p.m. EST / 11:45 a.m. PST 
Roundtable 2: The Need for Institutions in Our Image
Woody King Jr., Founder, New Federal Theatre/National Black Touring Circuit; Ed Spriggs, Former Director of Studio Museum, Founder Hammonds House Museum; Caron Atlas, NOCD for Appalshop; Dindga McCannon, Where We at Black Women, Artist, Activist; Nester Otero, Artist; Monica Montgomery, Founder of Museum of Impact.

Moderator: Amun Ankhra- Photographer, and Artists Black Arts Movement

2:45 p.m. EST / 11:45 a.m. PST
Q & A

3:20 p.m. EST / 12:20 p.m. PST
Art and Public Policy Student Presentation

3:25 p.m. EST / 12:25 p.m. PST
Roundtable 3: “Stancing” for Justice: The Right To Our Humanity!
Monifa Bandele, Founding Member Malcom X Grassroots Movement; Robert Stam, Professor Cinema Studies, NYU; Shola Lynch, Filmmaker and Curator, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture; Charles Rice Gonzales, Executive Director BAAD; Taiyo Na, Poet.

Moderator: Lumumba Bandele, NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund

4:30 p.m. EST / 1:30 p.m. PST
Q & A

5 p.m. EST / 2 p.m. PST
Presentation by Taiyo Na

5:10 p.m. EST / 2:10 p.m. PST
Summary: Robert O’Meally, Professor Zora Neale Hurston Professor of English and Comparative Literature

6 p.m. EST / 3 p.m. PST
Performance by Randy Weston at Black Box Theater, Gallatin Theater

7 p.m. EST / 4 p.m. PST
Closing Reception at Black Box Theater, Gallatin Theater

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First