Event Has Passed

Cherchez La Femme: the musical at La MaMa in New York City—Sunday 12 June 2016

Thumbnail

La MaMa in New York City presented Cherchez La Femme: the musical—livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday 12 June at 9 p.m. BST (London) / 20:00 GMT / 4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles). 

Share your thoughts on Twitter @LaMaMaETC, @HowlRoundTV, and use hashtag #howlround.

"performed with infectious gusto"
The New York Times

A madcap adventure featuring the music of August Darnell (AKA Kid Creole and the Coconuts) and Dr. Buzzard's Original Savannah Band!

Set in New York City and the Caribbean in the 1980s, Cherchez La Femme is a  musical extravaganza that tells the story of one man's loss and another man's gain and the powerful women who make it all possible. The show explores dark themes (abandonment, sibling rivalry, unrequited love) and light themes (sexual healing, the pursuit of happiness, the smell of success), but never without inviting you to shake your head and tap your toes to infectious neo-urban-jungle grooves. 

Get more info about the show here.
Consider donating to the IndieGoGo Campaign.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

1
Add Comment
Newest First

I saw this FABULOUS play 3 times and it just got better and better each time I saw it. The character Stingy was my fav fussin', cussin' and GROOVING the entire time. Had me LOL! Everybody was GREAT! Sooo much talent, energy and FUN!!!!