Event Has Passed

Contracts 101: Fair Use & the Dramatist at Dramatists Guild of America in New York—Tuesday 5 May 2015

Thumbnail

Dramatists Guild of America presented Contracts 101: Fair Use & the Dramatist livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 5 May at 2:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 3:30 p.m. MDT (Albuquerque) / 4:30 p.m. CDT (Austin) / 5:30 p.m. EDT (New York). 

To participate on Twitter, use hashtag #howlround and direct your questions to @DramatistsGuild. Additionally, follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

 

Moderated by Ralph Sevush, the Guild’s Executive Director of Business Affairs, this panel will discuss the recent decision in Adjmi v. Three’s Company, the Jersey Boys conundrum, and what happens when your work is parodied or otherwise transformed by another artist. Hear from author and litigation victor David Adjmi, copyright attorney Hillel Parness, Esq., and theatrical agent Scott Chaloff of WME about the various perspectives and complexities at play with this affirmative defense called “Fair Use.”

David Adjmi is the Playwright-in-Residence at SoHo Rep through the National Playwright Residency Program, funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation. Find out more about his residency experience here and learn about the impact of the program at large here

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First