Event Has Passed

A Conversation about Smart Phones and Theatre at Playwrights Theatre Centre in Vancouver—Monday 21 September 2015

Thumbnail

Playwrights Theatre Centre in Vancouver presented A Conversation about Smart Phones and Theatrelivestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 21 September at 7 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 8 p.m. MDT (Calgary) / 9 p.m. CDT (Austin) / 10 p.m. EDT (Montreal).

Landline and DareU: Adrienne Wong calls them "text-based locative works." Whatever they're called, they have something in common: they use devices like smart phones to put people in places where they can experience certain stories.

Adrienne Wong—Artistic Associate & Head Researcher of SpiderWebShow—co-conceived Landline and co-wrote the words that take one participant in each of two cities on a simultaneous linked adventure. Jesse Scott developed a custom augmented reality app for DareU (conceived and produced by The Only Animal) so writer/filmmakers could create an immersive site-based experience for audiences at the Vancouver Fringe Festival.

Adrienne will read from Landline, then Adrienne and Jesse will interview each other about where the ideas come from and how they stretch the concepts of audience, theatre, participation and communication.

Presented in conjunction with SpiderWebShow with the assistance of the Playwrights Guild of Canada and the Canada Council for the Arts.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First