Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Thursday 23 July to Saturday 25 July 2015 Thursday 23 July at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4 p.m. BST (London).

Chicago, IL, United States
Thursday 23 July to Saturday 25 July 2015

The Latina/o Theatre Commons’ 2015 Carnaval of New Latina/o Work

Produced With
Thursday 23 July to Saturday 25 July 2015

 

Thumbnail

 

The Latina/o Theatre Commons presented the 2015 Carnaval of New Latina/o Work—a showcase of new work by Latina/o playwrights and theatremakers in the United States—livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 23 July to Saturday 25 July. Download the full Carnaval program here

In Twitter, use #LTCCarnaval to join the conversation and follow @CafeOnda and @HowlRoundTV

Livestream Schedule

Carnaval Opening Ceremonies
Thursday 23 July at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4 p.m. BST (London)
Start your Carnaval journey off on the right foot with our opening ceremonies! You'll hear about the origins of the Carnaval, and how the trajectory of the LTC has led us to this point. We will be ending the ceremony with an environmentally friendly balloon release that symbolizes the collective efforts we can all make to further this cause.

 

 

Grab a Seat: Fueling Momentum Towards the New American Theatre
Friday 24 July at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4 p.m. BST (London)
What are you doing to promote Latina/o theatre in the US? Hear from some leading theatremakers, including Roche Schulfer of the Goodman Theatre and P. Carl of HowlRound and ArtsEmerson, on innovative producing strategies, opportunities, and challenges. Then, turn to your neighbor and continue the conversation at home with some help from our moderator, TCG Board President Diane Rodriguez and our DJ, Hi-ARTS' Tiffany Vega!

 

 

Las Cuatro: Exploring the Work of Cruz, Garcia-Crow, Grise, and Rodriguez
Saturday 25 July at 10 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. EDT (New York) / 8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:00 GMT / 4 p.m. BST (London)
Join us to hear short excerpts from Satryicoño by Migdalia Cruz, Appeal: The New American Musical of Mexican Descent by Amparo Garcia-Crow, Siempre Norteada: Always Lost, Always Late by Vicki Grise, and The Sweetheart Deal by Diane Rodriguez, followed by a dialogue with the playwrights.

 

 

Carnaval Closing Ceremonies
Saturday 25 July at 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 01:00 GMT (Sunday, July 26)
Complete your Carnaval journey with our special closing ceremonies. We will hear from LTC co-founder Karen Zacarías, as well as the 2015 LTC Carnaval Award for Outstanding Advocacy for Latina/o Voices in the New American Theatre winners Christopher Acebo, Luis Alfaro, Juliette Carrillo, Henry Godinez, and Diane Rodriguez. 

 

 

About the LTC Carnaval
The LTC was born in 2012 as a self-organized collective that chose to adopt a commons based approach to advocate for Latina/o theatre as a vital, significant presence in the not-for-profit theatre sector. The LTC steering committee is composed of artists, activists, administrators, and scholars dedicated to updating the narrative of the American Theatre to reflect the poly cultural world in which we live.

Produced in association with Teatro Vista and the Chicago Alliance of Latino Theatre Artists (ALTA) and hosted by The Theatre School at DePaul University, the Carnaval will feature twelve new works by the nation’s top Latina/o talent. These new works by Latina/o playwrights were selected from nearly 100 submissions for their excellence, thematic diversity, and craft. The Carnaval will also introduce a national audience to Chicago’s vibrant Latina/o theatre community by curating nights of Chicago Latina/o theatre and featuring Chicago Latina/o actors, directors, and theatre leaders in every aspect of the festival. The LTC will make visible the wealth of talent within the Latina/o community and seek to ensure its future visibility on the local, regional, and national levels.

As an artist led event produced independently of any established institution, the Carnaval is uniquely positioned to showcase Latina/o theatre in all its aesthetic and cultural diversity and to propel that work onto stages nationwide. The success of the LTC over the past two years has proven that radical positive, widespread change can manifest and activate when we create space for new ideas to be exchanged within a framework that embraces the broadest forms of inclusivity. By inviting diverse voices to the table, the LTC hopes to cultivate a dynamic, productive dialogue that continues far beyond the Carnaval!

About the Latino/a Theatre Commons (LTC)
The Latino/a Theatre Commons operates as a collaborative initiative with HowlRound, a commons by and for people who make performance, housed at Emerson College. HowlRound, through Emerson College, acts as fiscal sponsor for the LTC, and provides infrastructure and mentorship to support our growth. In our actions, the LTC espouses the philosophical methods of HowlRound, and works to promote a commons-based approach to update the narrative of the American Theatre through advocacy, artmaking, convening, and scholarship.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First