Livestreaming on this page from Tuesday 4 June to Saturday 8 June 2019.

Miami, Florida
Tuesday 4 June to Saturday 8 June 2019

Livestreaming the 2019 TCG National Conference

Miami, Florida

Tuesday 4 June to Saturday 8 June 2019

Theatre Communications Group presents their 2019 National Conference livestreaming from Miami, Florida on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Tuesday 4 June to Saturday 8 June 2019.

From 5-7 June 2019, TCG will convene nearly 1,000 theatre makers in Miami, each one looking to manage their relationship to ever-present change: in their art, their institutions, and their communities. What can our field, which has long prided itself on its adaptability, learn from a city like Miami, which reinvents itself with each passing decade, neighborhood, and hurricane season? At this year’s National Conference, against the backdrop of Miami’s plurality of global cultures and artistic disciplines, we will focus intently on three programmatic areas: Audience and Community Engagement as part of our continuing Audience (R)Evolution initiative; Well-being and Wellness; and Theatre Journalism. As part of and in parallel to these areas, we will also address our field’s most pressing issues, from the evolving landscape of fundraising, to organizational culture, to leadership development, all while nurturing our field’s growing commitment to equity, diversity, and inclusion. Our Conference community will engage with thought leaders from within and beyond the arts to grapple with our own true constant: the challenge of adapting and sustaining our organizations and our work in times of great change.

Livestream schedule subject to change.

Tuesday 4 June

Education Staff Pre-Conference
5 a.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 7 a.m. - 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (Miami) 

TCG invites you to join with education colleagues across the country to explore three major themes: 1) Youth Voice and Empowerment; 2) #MeToo and Education - How do we protect young people in our theatres?; and 3) Trauma-informed care.

Inclusion and Empowerment of Youth Voices

How do we incorporate young people in our planning and programs? Beyond teen councils, how are we making decisions with them and taking into account what they need? The world is rapidly changing and theatre education departments are on the front lines in developing and sustaining partnerships with community organizations and providing training for young people. To what extent are youth being given decision-making involvement? How are education departments being intentional about the inclusion of youth voices? 

Safety of Youth in our Theatres

How safe are young people in our theatres? At last year’s National Conference in St. Louis in TCG’s Town Hall on sexual misconduct in the field, several young adults shared their experiences with harassment in early experiences working at theatres. What policies do theatres have in place around anti-harassment? How do those policies specifically address working with students, and early career or young or vulnerable adults? Do these youth policies/procedures/trainings go beyond the education staff in our institutions? How is the entire theatre staff made aware of their responsibilities to young people? Are there emergency management plans in place? There are so many types of education programs that go beyond interactions with education staff such as job shadowing, internships, summer programs, watching rehearsals, special events, student matinees, classes, etc. How can we make sure that theatre’s culture, beyond the confines of individual education departments, doesn’t condone harassment and/or silence survivors, and facilitates a field-wide understanding of our responsibilities to each other, and to young and vulnerable adults and students.

Trauma-Informed Care

What is the role of theatre education departments in determining and harnessing the healing capabilities of the arts? How can theatres develop and utilize a Social Emotional Learning curriculum and trauma-informed pedagogy to better align with our values and better serve our communities? Various programs will be explored, including Cleveland Playhouse’s theatre education program, CARE, which draws on lessons from social emotional learning theories, trauma-informed care, and evidence-based literacy learning for grades K-8. CARE was also designed to improve school culture and safety, as well as the development of theatre skills.

Finally, in all of these areas, how do we centralize students’ voices, safety, and identify the tools we need to engage with the trauma that our students face in the world today, and prepare them for what they may face in the future? How do we talk about race, gender, sexual orientation, disability, and socio-economics in this work? What are the action steps for education programs that move us in that direction?

Wednesday 5 June

How We Show Up
9:30 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 11:30 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:30 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. EDT (Miami)

How We Show Up will lay the groundwork for the At the Intersections sessions, share best practices for all Conference attendees for making the most of our time together, and serve as an introduction to TCG’s ED&I Values. Strongly encouraged for first-time attendees. Feel free to bring your lunch! Please note that a version of this session will also occur at lunch time on Thursday.

Speakers
Hannah Fenlon, Associate Director of Conferences and Fieldwide Learning, Theatre Communications Group
Elena Chang, Director of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Initiatives, Theatre Communications Group
Amara Brady, Conference Associate, Theatre Communications Group
Corinna (Gus) Schulenburg, Director of Communications & Community Engagement, Theatre Communications Group
Devon Berkshire, Director of Conferences and Fieldwide Learning, Theatre Communications Group
Sarah Machiko Haber, Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Initiatives Associate, Theatre Communications Group

 

TBD: Open Space Session 
11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 1 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. EDT (Miami) 

Open Space sessions allow Conference attendees to propose topics/discussions that they do not see covered on the Conference agenda. Submissions will be accepted for Friday's Open Space sessions from May 1st - May 10th, and then voted on by Conference Attendees from May 13th - May 17th. Please check back during that time frame to submit your session proposal.

Opening Plenary Session 
3 p.m. PDT - 4:30 p.m. (San Francisco) / 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6 p.m. - 7:30 p.m. EDT (Miami)

Introduction: Teresa Eyring, Executive Director and CEO, Theatre Communications Group
Keynote Speaker: Edwidge Danticat, Author

Thursday 6 June

Morning Plenary
6 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. EDT (Miami)

These are all-attendee sessions featuring exciting artists and speakers from a variety of professional backgrounds, as well as award presentations and other programming.

Introduction: Adrian Budhu, Deputy Director and COO, Theatre Communications Group
Keynote Speaker: Wesley Morris, Critic-At-Large, The New York Times
In conversation with Todd London, Executive Director, University of Washington School of Drama

Breakout Session: Cultural Exchange and International Producing: Ethics and Problem Solving
8 a.m. - 9:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 10 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. EDT (Miami)

This session will be an action-oriented conversation around issues facing US producers of international work including the travel ban, visa issues, funding concerns, and how best to network across the nation. We will also talk about the ethics of cultural exchange from the perspective of the US artist abroad. How can we be thoughtful citizens when we travel and learn from artists outside of the US regarding issues of pay, reciprocity, and teaching of artists skills learned from other cultures? This session is open to those currently engaging in cultural exchange and/or producing international work, as well as anyone interested in either in the future - no experience necessary.

Breakout Session: The Medium is the Message: New Platforms for Arts Journalism
10:45 a.m. PDT - 12 p.m. (San Francisco) / 12:45 p.m.  - 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:45 p.m. - 3 p.m. EDT (Miami)

As large publishing institutions continue to cut back on theatre coverage, critics and the theatres they write about are finding new ways to break free from traditional formats. From empowering audiences as journalists, to developing collectives that increase coverage and amplify underrepresented voices, to providing crowd- and community-sourced platforms to ensure robust conversation, this breakout will focus on new platforms and approaches for writing -- and sharing writing -- about the theatre. Do these innovative modes of connectivity, which provide more ways for audiences and artists to access writing about the work while broadening the number of voices that are invited to comment on it, herald a new era in the ecosystem of theatre journalism?

Afternoon Plenary Session
12:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 2:30 p.m. - 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (Miami)

These are all-attendee sessions featuring exciting artists and speakers from a variety of professional backgrounds, as well as award presentations and other programming.
Speaker: Devon Berkshire, Director of Conferences and Fieldwide Learning, Theatre Communications Group

Friday 7 June

Breakout Sessions: The SPARK Leaders: The Last 5 Years
8:15 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 10:15 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:15 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. EDT (Miami)

Join the inaugural cohort of the SPARK Leadership program launched by TCG in 2014 as they look back on the groundwork laid by their professional development experience, their career trajectories, and what it’s like to navigate predominantly white spaces as executive leaders and artists of color. The cohort will engage with moderator and program leader Emilya Cachapero, on sustaining your support network, confronting bias/unconscious bias in the workplace, representation, and mentoring future generations of leaders. The SPARK leaders will share case studies of what has worked in their professional careers and how the SPARK experience is what is needed to foster a national movement to preserve and invest in the development of aspiring executive leaders of color. The session will include time for small break out discussions and time for attendees to ask questions of the cohort.

TBD: Open Space Session
10:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 12:30 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. EDT (Miami)

Open Space sessions allow Conference attendees to propose topics/discussions that they do not see covered on the Conference agenda. Submissions will be accepted for Friday's Open Space sessions from May 1st - May 10th, and then voted on by Conference Attendees from May 13th - May 17th. Please check back during that time frame to submit your session proposal.

How We Move Forward
12 p.m. - 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 2 p.m. - 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. - 4 p.m. EDT (Miami)

At the Intersections will culminate with a town hall, How We Move Forward, on Friday that empowers all of us to share what we’ve experienced across these interwoven areas of identity.

Saturday 8 June

Theater for Young Audience Post-Conference
5 a.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 7 a.m. - 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (Miami)

This one-day Post-Conference Convening will bring together TYA leaders, funders, arts journalists, and the wider theatre community to discuss the impact and importance of the Theatre for Young Audiences (TYA) sector in the United States. Join us for a series of discussions, presentations, and sharing of research as we bring attention to TYA as an industry, making the case to funders, media, and mainstream theater leaders that live performance for young people is a vital and important part of the theater ecology and the sector’s long-term sustainability. As a post-conference convening as part of the TCG conference, this event will provide an opportunity for learning and exchange between leadership of TYA companies and mainstream theatres, who may not typically interact. 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First