Event Has Passed

Livestreaming on this page Friday 11 October 2019 and Sunday 13 October 2019.

Bucharest, Romania
Friday 11 October & Sunday 13 October 2019

Livestreaming Performances and Conversations from The Bucharest International Theater Platform #6: My Revolution

HUOOOOO!!! by Auăleu, An tan tina by Nicoleta Lefter, and a conversation with Gob Squad

Friday 11 October & Sunday 13 October 2019

The Bucharest International Theater Platform #6: My Revolution presents a performance of HUOOOOO!!! by Auăleu, a performance of An tan tina by Nicoleta Lefter, and a conversation with Gob Squad livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 11 October and Sunday 13 October 2019.

Livestream schedule

Friday 11 October 2019

 

HUOOOOO!!! by Auăleu livestreaming from unteatru.

Friday 11 October 2019 at 20:00 EEST (Bucharest, UTC +3) / 19:00 CEST (Budapest, UTC +2) / 6 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 17:00 UTC +0 / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 10 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7). Add to Google calendar

This is a production with no stage design, no costumes, no music, no stage smoke and no extras, but where the audience laughs a lot. A political, social and humanistic tragicomedy.

A riot policeman and a granny talk about the fears, the anxieties, the restlessness of the present, about your neighbors, about your grandfather’s pension and about your children’s future. They talk about freedom, art, love and poetry. They talk about poverty, power, politics and humiliation. They talk about the things for which we should all take to streets.

Auăleu: "An artist asked to praise his/her own work is like a mother saying her children are the most beautiful in the world. It would be laughable to sing praises for our own show. No, this is not the best production ever seen and this is how we know this not the worst either, which is even much more important.

Imagine a production with no beginning and no end, where one should not applaud, a show without a set duration—it can last half an hour, an hour and a half or even two. Sometimes, some people feel they are attacked by this show, which is really wonderful!"

A production of Auăleu theatre
Text by Ovidiu Mihăiță
Action by Ionuț Marian Pîrvulescu, Christine Cizmaș
Staging by Ovidiu Mihăiță. 

Sunday 13 October 2019

An tan tina poster.

 

An tan tina by Nicoleta Lefter livestreaming from Point

Sunday 13 October 2019 at 17:00 EEST (Bucharest, UTC +3) / 16:00 CEST (Budapest, UTC +2) / 3 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 14:00 UTC +0 / 10 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 7 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7). Add to Google calendar

Nicoleta Lefter: "Starting from Ana Blandiana`s book, Fake manipulation treaty, my performance is an attempt to find a position in the strange political climate we are living through in today's Romania.

I am scared of what censorship meant during communism. I am disgusted by flattery used as a means to personal ends.

I cannot understand the communist strategy of replacing human intelligence with hatred, foolishness and servitude. What happened in 1989 is for me an act of bravery and not a form of manipulating the youth. Similarly, every time I participated in a protest in the past two years, whenever I would come close to groups of people shouting "We won`t go away!", I had a feeling of belonging.

I don't want to grow old thinking "they stole some, but also gave some to the people". We as people are not cowardly, I won't take it! I don't want to imagine myself and my daughter in a couple of years, hiding to listen to Radio Free Europe trembling with fear. How much of what we live is the result of our will and how much of it is manipulation?"

The performance An tan tina is a parallel between the type of manipulation used by the communists and the one used today—fooling people with TV!"

Ana Blandiana: "Though I am aware that the year 1989 was programmed at an international scale, I will not stop calling what happened in December a "revolutiona", because even if it was all directed, the people in the streets were not aware of this and they died for real. It always fascinated me how politicians come out of the blue and disappear into the blue. It is as if the political stage as surrounded by a sea of darkness and grotesque creatures were fighting to get up there and stay for as long as possible, for they can only survive as long as the spotlight is on them. Insignificant people with no special abilities placed by force on the illuminated platform are emitting opinions on everything and millions of microphones are there to reproduce their words. We are a "stick-in-the-mud" people. Wars were fought on this territory, all migrant people passed through and we just allowed them to do it, without any resistance, because we were too skeptical to see any way out of it or too aware to give up hope. The solution was a sick in the mud, born out of powerlessness which generated more powerlessness. We are devoured by corruption which feeds on carelessness which is out of control. We are manipulated by the lies of a political class, humiliated by our ow coward nature, our own lack of reaction and our ever-guilty hope that things will fall into the right place."

Performance by and with Nicoleta Lefter
Ana Drăghici: visual artist 
Alexandros Raptis: sound design
Denisse Conn Tubacu: video 

 

A conversation with Gob Squad

Sunday 13 October 2019 at 20:00 EEST (Bucharest, UTC +3) / 19:00 CEST (Budapest, UTC +2) / 6 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 17:00 UTC +0 / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4) / 11 a.m. PDT (Vancouver, UTC -7). Add to Google calendar

A discussion with Simon Will and Sean Patten, who will talk about the work methods of Gob Squad collective. Gob Squad makes performances, videos, installations and happenings, mixing performance, theatre, film and real life. Founded in 1994, the company is based in Nottingham and Berlin. The talk will follow after the screening of a performance recording of Revolution now, one of the most successful production of the company: an example of civic awakening through performance.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First