Event Has Passed

Livestreaming the Towards Arab Dramaturgies symposium at the Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City—Thursday 27 - Friday 28 September 2018

Thumbnail

 

The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presents the  Towards Arab Dramaturgies symposium livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 27 September and Friday 28 September. Follow @HowlRound on Twitter for updates, and use #howlround.

We would like to invite you to participate and attend the upcoming  Towards Arab Dramaturgies symposium in New York City at the Graduate Center, CUNY, New York.

The 2018 symposium Towards Arab Dramaturgies is part of the exchange partnership between the Martin E. Segal Theater Center, the Ph.D. Program in Theatre and Performance at The Graduate Center CUNY and the Theater Initiative at the American University of Beirut (AUB). The symposium is organized and curated by Marvin Carlson, Peter Eckersall, Frank Hentschker and Salma S. Zohdi, with additional support from Sahar Assaf and Robert Myers.

With a focus in this symposium on Arabic dramaturgies, we hope to begin to answer these questions. As a term that bridges the ideas and practice of contemporary performance, dramaturgy draws our attention to the process of artistic production. It explores the notion that process is performance and invites us to look at the question of how artists connect ideas and forms in their work.

This symposium will feature research papers, artist talks and roundtable events. The sessions and papers will be compiled in a publication/book that will be generated from the discussions at the convening. The event will be live streamed and will be archived at the Segal Center’s Youtube page.

Contemporary theatre and performance in the Arabic world is a diverse and contested set of practices that are unfolding in a fast-changing political and culturally complex region. In this situation, the performing arts are under pressure to independently produce new work, uphold traditions— and simultaneously to speak about contemporary lives, nationalism, class, race, religion, gender and new forms of theatre. In this symposium, we ask how theatre can continue to grow, develop artistically and continue to be a voice in the future of the Arabic world. How can the theatre in the region thrive?

Scheduled speakers and panelists include: Khalid Amine, Eman Antar, Sahar Assaf, Dalia Basiouny, Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi, Wafaa Bilal, Leila Buck, Marvin Carlson, Peter Eckersall, Yussef El Guindi,Rania Khalil, Amahl Khoury, Ashley Marinaccio, Robert Myers, Rashi Mishra, Rubén Polendo, Heather Raffo, Betty Shamieh, Dario Tomasello, and Sarah Youssef.

 

Day 1: Thursday 27 September

Paper Presentations / Q&A
11 a.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 1 p.m. - 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (New York)
  • Robert Myers (Using Theater History, Translation Studies and Performance Studies to Redefine Arab Dramaturgy)

  • Nedjma Hadj Benchelabi (Resistance Creative Languages)

  • Eman Antar (Dances of Resistance in the Middle East and North Africa)

  • Rashi Mishra (Traversing through the Siege: Role of movement and memory in performing cultural resistance)

  • Ashley Marinaccio (Youth Theatre in Palestine)

Welcome and Keynote 
3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 6 p.m. EDT (New York)

  • Welcome note by Chase Robinson, by Marvin Carlson, Peter Eckersall, Frank Hentschker, Sahar Assaf, and Robert Myers
  • Keynote by Wafaa Bilal / Q&A
  • A tribute to Hazem Azmi: (Moment of Silence, Excerpt readings)

 

Day 2: Friday 28 September 

Arab Stages Advisory Board Session
7 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT (New York)
Introduction by Betty Shamieh
Conversation with Marvin Carlson and others / Q&A

Theatre of the Real: Dramaturgy in the Arab Context
8:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. EDT (New York)
with Amahl Khouri, Theatre Mitu, Sahar Assaf, and Peter Eckersall / Q&A

Paper Presentations (15 minutes per paper, plus 5 minutes Q&A)
11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 1:30 p.m. - 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2:30 p.m. - 4 p.m. EDT (New York)

  • Dario Tomasello (The Synesthetic Théatron of Muslim Ritualization)

  • Khalid Amine (Alternative Arab Dramaturgies)

  • Sarah Youssef (TBC)

  • Dalia Basiouny (Dramaturgies and narratives of the Revolution)

Arab American and Arab Artists in conversation / Q&A
1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 3 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. EDT (New York)
Opening by Yussef El Guindi
Conversation with Sahar Assaf, Dalia Basiouny, Leila Buck, Rania Khalil, Amahl Khoury, Heather Raffo, and Betty Shamieh

Wrap up, Recap, and Conclusions
2:30 p.m. - 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 4:30 p.m. - 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5:30 p.m. - 6 p.m. EDT (New York)
Marvin Carlson, Peter Eckersall, Frank Hentschker, Sahar Assaf, and Robert Myers

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First