Event Has Passed

MicroFest USA: New Orleans at the Network of Ensemble Theaters—Friday 18 January to Sunday 20 January 2013

 

Thumbnail

Network of Ensemble Theaters' MicroFest USA: New Orleans was livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 18 January to Sunday 20 January 2013.

Since Katrina, much has happened in New Orleans in terms of redevelopment, city hall, the education system—and the arts. As a community member put it, “pay attention to the art that comes out of here, because it doesn’t happen without everybody kicking in.”

FRIDAY 18 JANUARY 
Community Break Out Track: Art & Legislation at 9:30 a.m.-1 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 10:30 a.m.-2 p.m. EST (New York) / 15:30-19:00 GMT (London) / 16:30-20:00 CET (Berlin).
Location: Old U.S. Mint Louisiana State Museum
Trupania Bonner from Moving Forward Gulf Coast shared art-based strategies and tools for legislative actions focused on Census and Redistricting campaigns. Michael Rohd shared tactics and experiences from several Sojourn Theatre and Center for Performance and Civic Practice projects including partnerships with Catholic Charities USA and Planning Commissions around the nation.

 

Plenary: How does local government work with and support artists? at 2 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 5 p.m. EST (New York) / 22:00 GMT (London) / 23:00 (Berlin).
Location: Golden Feather Mardi Gras Indian Restaurant Gallery
This community conversation discussed how local government understands, supports, and involves art and artists in community development.

Speakers: Roberto Bedoya, Tucson Pima Arts Council;Deborah “Big Red” Cotton, Advisory Member for theMusic and Culture Coalition of New Orleans; Olga Garay-English, Executive Director of the City of Los Angeles Department of Cultural Affairs, Kathie de Nobriga, Mayor Pine Lake, GA; Asante Salaam, Mayor’s Office of Cultural Economy, City of New Orleans.

New Orleans Performs at 8:00 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 9:00 p.m. EST (New York).
Location: Café Istanbul MC’s: Sherri Marina and Kali Quinn

Featuring: Chuck Perkins, A Scribe Called QuessGoat in the Road Productions, Cripple Creek Theatre Company, and Michaela Harrison.

SATURDAY 19 JANUARY
Community Tour Track: Art & the Justice System
at 9:00 a.m.-11:30 a.m. CST (New Orleans) / 10:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 15:00-17:30 GMT (London) / 16:00-18:30 CET (Berlin). Location: The RAE House
Parnell Hebert presented an excerpt from Angola 3, a stage rendition of the ongoing true story of three men incarcerated in Louisiana State Penitentiary, framed, tried, convicted and isolated for a murder they did not commit. ArtSpot Productions presented a work-in-process performance by The Graduates based on writings by graduates of the  Louisiana Correctional Facility for Women's Drama Club. A discussion with community partners looked at the ways the act of performance impacts personal healing and community organizing efforts.

 

MicroFest USA Journey at 12:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 2:30 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 3:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 20:30 GMT (London) / 21:30 CET (Berlin). Led by the eight MicroFest USA Fellows, this session brought forward observations, questions, and reflections on the event cycle to date. * Please note this event is subject to internet connectivity on site.

 

Introduction to Carnival and Mardi Gras History at 2 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 5 p.m. EST (New York) / 22:00 GMT (London) / 23:00 CET (Berlin). Cherice Harrison-Nelson from the Guardians of the Flame and Charles Chamberlain presented a lecture demonstration about the history of Carnival in New Orleans.* Please note this event is subject to internet connectivity on site.

 

SUNDAY 20 JANUARY

Town Hall: How do you know the work is having an impact? at 8 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 10 a.m. CST (New Orleans) / 11 a.m. EST (New York) / 16:00 GMT (London) / 17:00 CET (Berlin).
Facilitator: Alison De La Cruz
Participatory discussion focused on reflections of impact and articulating the various elements of community cultural development.

Closing at 10 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 12 p.m. CST (New Orleans) / 1 p.m. EST (New York) / 18:00 GMT (London) / 19:00 CET (Berlin).
Closing thoughts from the weekend and a preview of the MicroFest Summit in Honolulu, Hawaii.

 

 About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First