fbpx Negotiating Quotidian: Performing the Everyday | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page on Wednesday 28 April and Thursday 29 April 2021.

United States
Wednesday 28 April and Thursday 29 April 2021

Negotiating Quotidian: Performing the Everyday

Investigating how performing the everyday has recently changed our perception of and experience in theatre and performance

Wednesday 28 April and Thursday 29 April 2021

The Ph.D. Program in Theatre and Performance, The Graduate Center, City University of New York presented Negotiating Quotidian: Performing the Everyday livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 28 April and Thursday 29 April 2021.

This conference aims to investigate how performing the everyday has recently changed our perception of and experience in theatre and performance, especially when the everyday is intertwined with technology and mediated experience. Moreover, it confronts the complexity of defining a (universal/generic) concept of the everyday, given that there are cultural, class, and racial differences between individuals, whose everyday do we mean when we use the term?

What role do experts of the everyday play in performing the everyday? What are the ethics that intertwine with the aesthetic of this kind of performance? How have those differences shaped our understanding of both local and global phenomena?

Watch on this page, or register to join the Zoom at the following links:

To register for days 1 & 2, click here.
To register for day 1 only, click here.
To register for day 2, click here.

 

Wednesday 28 April

 

Welcoming Remarks and Keynote Speech
7 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Welcome by Prof. Peter Eckersall, The Graduate Center, CUNY
Keynote:“Threshold Realities: Renegotiating the (Extra)Ordinary”: Stefan Kaegi (Rimini Protokoll) and Prof. Katia Arfara (New York University, Abu Dhabi)

Session One: Theatricality and Performativity of the Everyday
9 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Moderator: Philip Wiles

“Comedy’s Failures”
Joseph Richards (The University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill)

“Worldly Practices: The Limits of the Extra-Daily”
Seth Powers (The Graduate Center, CUNY)

“Embodied Reading between Eschatological and Scatological: Masculinity and Queerness in Alperen Kartal’s Experimental Novels”
Deniz Başar (Concordia University)

Session Four: The Movements of the Everyday
1:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 3:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 4:30 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

“Boiling Tempers: Weighted Time and Counter-Choreographies”
Sonya Merutka (New York University)

“House of Repetitions: Disability Aesthetics and Care Choreographies in a Stay-at-Home Era” (Performance)
Kiera Bono (The Graduate Center, CUNY)

“6FT: NO DIVING” (Performance)
Katherine A. Mackey (SUNY Buffalo)

Moderator: Dahye Lee

Thursday 29 April

 

Session Five: Climate, Ecology, and the Everyday
10:30 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

“If Global Warming Was a Thing of the Past: Sun & Sea (Marina)’s Humorous Reminder of Ecological Catastrophe in the Everyday”
Bridget Fleming (The University of Rochester)

“Breathing Bricks: Nut Brother’s Dust Project and the Politics of Particulate Matter”
Alex Knapp (Northwestern University)

“Revealing the Ineffable Behaviors of the Salawu Craftspeople during the Harvesting Period”
Amira Rahardiani (Kanazawa University)

Moderator: Ash Marinaccio

Session Six: Gender and the Everyday
9 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 12:00 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

“‘InstaMums’: Performing Motherhood in the Theatre of Social Media”
Claudia Kinahan (Northwestern University)

“Listening-with: feminine relationalities as a response to violence”
Sarah Ashford Hart (The University of California, Davis)

“Reclaiming the Everyday: The feminine aesthetic of women directors exposing the silenced everyday of living and surviving in theatrical productions of Samuel Beckett”
Jessica Perich Carleton (The Université de Lille)

Moderator: Eylül Fidan Akinci

Session Eight: Personal Practice of the Quotidian
12 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3:00 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

“‘Documenting the Quotidian: Photography Praxis in a Pandemic”
Ash Marinaccio (The Graduate Center, CUNY)

“Performing Chinese in the Segregated South through Documentary” (Performance)
Crystal Kwok (The University of Hawai’i)

“Salad Stories” (Performance)
Alli St. John (Arizona State University)

Moderator: Jess Applebaum

Session Nine: Media and the Everyday
1:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 3:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 4:30 p.m. - 5:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

“‘Erupting Presence into Absence: Possibility, Potentiality, and Performance in New Orleans’ 2019 Boycott Bowl”
Michael Lawrence Franz (Florida State University)

“Building An Engaging Zoom World: Lessons From Dramaturging A Digital Love’s Labour’s Lost”
Mike Poblete (The University of Hawai’i)

“Is It ‘Standard’? Reconciling to the Everyday Digital in Theatre”
Abbie Victoria Trott (The University of Melbourne)

“The Performance of Superstardom: Constructing Identity through NBA Player Representations of Selfhood”
Jonathan M. Rizzardi (The University of Washington)

Moderator: Hui Peng

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.