Event Has Passed

The Pan-African Creative Exchange (PACE) and the Vrystaat Arts Festival, Bloemfontein, South Africa—Saturday 7 July to Sunday 8 July 2018

Thumbnail

The Pan-African Creative Exchange (PACE) and the Vrystaat Arts Festival, Bloemfontein, South Africa presented conversations and performances livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 7 July to Sunday 8 July 2018.

Watch the livestream at howlround.tv, or on HowlRound Theatre Commons’ Facebook page.

The Vrystaat Arts Festival acknowledges and respects the Khoe-San of the Free State and the deep spiritual attachment to their ancestors and relationships they have to this country and its people.

Livestream Schedule:

Saturday 7 July 
First Nation Ceremony, Speeches, Keynote

12:00 UTC +2 (Bloemfontein, Amsterdam) / 11:00 UTC +1 (London) / 6 a.m. UTC -4 (New York)

With: 
Edward Charles Human, Khoe-San, First Nations Ambassador

Keynote:
Goretti Kyomuhendo, Director, African Writers Trust.

Topic:
The Mobility of the Arts in and from Africa.

 

Sunday 8 July 
Pitch Presentations

9:00 UTC +2 (Bloemfontein, Amsterdam) / 8:00 UTC +1 (London) / 3 a.m. UTC -4 (New York)

The Chibok Girls by Wole Oguntukon
Die Riel van Hip Hop by Shihaam Domingo
Dear Oliver Tambo by Sipho Mnyakeni
The Truth About The Truth by Sylvester Majela
Half Leeg by Tara Notcutt

 

Tuesday 10 July
Performance of Alpha, by Erwin Maas, Stef de Paepe​

19:30 UTC +2 (Bloemfontein, Amsterdam) / 18:30 UTC +1 (London) / 1:30 p.m. UTC -4 (New York). 

Most generational experts are still busy profiling Gen Z. However, the upcoming generation after them is truly the first millennial generation born into the 21st century. It is most likely that the new generation will be known as Alpha. How will the world remember them? With support from NATi, the Kingdom of the Netherlands and the Flemish Government (Belgium) a creative team of South African and international artists explore these questions with South African teens. What new inventions can we expect from them?


 
 
 
Thursday 12 July 
The Creative Case for Diversity: Innovation, Difference and the Arts
9:00 UTC +2 (Bloemfontein, Amsterdam) / 8:00 UTC +1 (London) / 3 a.m. UTC -4 (New York)
 
PIAD (Programme for Innovation in Artform Development) is proud to present Hassan Mahamdallie as the keynote speaker for 2018. His lecture, The Creative Case for Diversity: Innovation, Difference and the Arts will be followed by a panel discussion of national and international cultural thinkers. The Creative Case is based upon the simple observation that diversity, in the widest sense, is an integral part of the artistic process. It is an important element in the dynamic that drives art forward, that innovates it and brings it closer to a profound dialogue with contemporary society.... Our definition of diversity encompasses responding to issues around race, ethnicity, faith, disability, age, gender, sexuality, class and economic disadvantage and any social and institutional barriers that prevent people from participating in and enjoying the arts. We are turning our focus from remedying past imbalances towards celebrating diversity positively, with all the artistic and creative opportunities it offers.

 

About The Pan-African Creative Exchange (PACE):
PACE is a biannual arts market for African artists, developed for national and international presenters and producers, providing the highest quality inter-disciplinary arts (theatre, dance, music, craft, etc) from Africa, to buyers, artists and the general public.

The aim of PACE is to increase the global reach of Africa’s arts sector to the wider world  and to contribute to the African continent’s development of future work.

There are nine strands: presenting full shows for tour-ready work; showcasing excerpts of tour-ready work; showcasing excerpts of work in progress; pitching new work; a producer’s shadowing and exchange program; critical debate/roundtable sessions; networking programmes; market place and key PACE programming events.

PACE was born in Bloemfontein at a long table conversation between arts professionals from the African continent and international visitors, and is driven by a 'coalition of the willing' from the African continent as well as cultural professionals outside of Africa.

 

About The Vrystaat Arts Festival
The Vrystaat Arts Festival • Tsa-Botjhaba is an Afrikaans language festival that forges creative connections with English and Sotho cultures. We contribute to the exchange of ideas around arts, culture and society through connections with other national and international creative communities.

This year's festival takes place from 9 to 14 July 2018 at the Bloemfontein campus of the University of the Free State which is made available for the duration of the festival.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First