Event Has Passed

Panels on Gender & Race in the New Play Sector at XX PlayLab Festival in Boston—Saturday 23 March - Sunday 24 March 2013

Thumbnail

Company One and the BCA presented panels on gender and race in the new play sector livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 23 March and Sunday 24 March 2013.

Join Company One, the Boston Center for the Arts, and some of the smartest artists around talking about gender and race in the new play sector. The XX PlayLab Festival features public readings of new plays by Kirsten Greenidge, Natalia Naman, and Lydia R. Diamond, as well as two roundtable conversations with industry leaders.

Join the conversation online using the hashtags #howlround and #xxc1. 

Details about the livestreamed events are below:

Saturday 23 March 7 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 9 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. EDT (Boston)
THE XX PLAYWRIGHT IN BOSTON
Featuring:
• Lydia R. Diamond, playwright
• Kirsten Greenidge, playwright
• Natalia Naman, playwright
• Shawn LaCount, director
• Megan Sandberg-Zakian, director
• Charles Haugland, dramaturg
• Moderated by dramaturgs Ilana M. Brownstein & Tyler Monroe
 
Sunday 24 March 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12 p.m. EDT (Boston)
WHERE WE STAND: RACE & GENDER IN THE NEW PLAY SECTOR
Featuring:
• Jacqueline Lawton, playwright
Hana Sharif, playwright/producer
Lenelle Moïse, playwright/performer
• Anne García-Romero, playwright
• Moderated by dramaturg Ilana M. Brownstein
 
XX PlayLab, a program jointly presented by the BCA and Company One, a BCA Resident Theatre Company, supports, develops and propels the work of female playwrights. This season, the BCA and Company One invited three dynamic women at various stages of their careers for a year-long program composed of in-house and public readings, dramaturgical support and artist mentorship, culminating in a weekend long festival in March.
 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First