Event Has Passed

Professional Symposium at The Radar L.A. Festival in Los Angeles—Thursday 26 September & Friday 27 September 2013

Thumbnail
The Radar L.A. Festival presented a Professional Symposium convening livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 26 September and Friday 27 September 2013.

Contemporary Theatre: An Interdisciplinary Art Form
Join influential artists, producers, presenters, scholars, cultural organizers, and funders for an inspiring exploration of the future of contemporary theatre and the performing arts in a Professional Symposium convening Thursday, September 26 and Friday, September 27 in conjunction with Radar L.A., an international festival of contemporary theater. The festival and symposium focus on contemporary performing arts with special attention to interdisciplinary approaches. Some of the world’s most influential artists and ensembles will gather for the event, which features new premieres and commissions by artists from Los Angeles, as well as Latin America and the Pacific Rim. Celebrate the changing landscape of the contemporary performing arts field as colleagues predict and provoke the future of the form(s). 

To participate in conversation online, use Twitter hashtags #RadarLA and #howlround in your tweets and follow @HowlRoundTV for updates about the livestreaming conversations.

SYMPOSIUM SCHEDULE 
Thursday 26 September:

  • Welcome at 9:30 a.m. PDT / 12:30 p.m. EDT / 16:30 GMT
  • Artist Manifestos and Predictions at 10:00 a.m. PDT / 1:00 p.m. EDT / 17:00 GMT
    Moderated by Diane Rodriguez (Associate Producer/Director of New Play Production, CTG)
    Featuring: Claudio Valdés Kuri (Teatro de Ciertos Habitantes' El Gallo), Alice Tuan (playwright), Wunderbaum (Hospital), Mariano Pensotti (Sometimes I Think, I Can See You), and other artists.

  • Conversation about Interdisciplinary Approaches at 11:30 a.m. PDT-12:30 p.m. PDT / 2:30 p.m. EDT-3:30 p.m. EDT / 18:30 GMT-19:30 GMT
    Moderated by Mark Murphy (Executive Director, REDCAT)
    Featuring: David Roussève (Stardust), Claudio Valdés Kuri (Teatro de Ciertos Habitantes' El Gallo), and Angela Mattox (Artistic Director, Portland Institute for Contemporary Art).

Friday 27 September:

  • Artist Talk: Lemi Ponifasio (MAU) at 10 a.m. PDT / 1 p.m. EDT / 17:00 GMT
  • Topic-specific conversations explore the blurring of boundaries at 11:15 a.m. PDT / 2:15 p.m. EDT / 18:15 GMT

Dramaturgy Across Artistic Disciplines and the Unique Role of Dramaturgy in Dance, Theatre, Opera and new forms
Moderated by Pier Carlo Talenti (Resident Dramaturg / Literary Manager, CTG)
Featuring: Tobias Kokkelmans (Dramaturg, Wunderbaum), Tina Kronis (Artistic Director, Theatre Movement Bazaar), Jose Luis Valenzuela (Artistic Director, Latino Theatre Company) and more.

  • Symposium Closing Session: Next Steps at 1 p.m. PDT-1:30 p.m. PDT / 4:00 p.m. EDT-4:30 p.m. EDT / 20:00 GMT-20:30 GMT

 
About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First