Event Has Passed

The Sixth Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony, hosted by Tony Award Nominee Lisa Kron in New York—Monday 1 June 2015—#lillyawards

Thumbnail

The Lilly Awards Foundation presented the Sixth Annual Lilly Awards Ceremony hosted by Tony Award nominee Lisa Kron livestreamed on the global commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 1 June at 2 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 21:00 GMT / 10 p.m. BST (London).

In Twitter, use #lillyawards, #howlround, and follow @thelillyawards and @HowlRoundTV.

The Lilly Awards will honor two-time Tony Award-winner Chita Rivera (Chicago; Kiss of the Spider Woman; Bye, Bye, Birdie; West Side Story), currently starring on Broadway in the new Tony nominated musical, The Visit, for which she received a 2015 Tony Award nomination, with the first-ever Legendary Lilly Award presented by four-time Tony Award-winner Terrence McNally (The Visit; Master Class; Ragtime; Love! Valor! Compassion!), and veteran Broadway producer Daryl Roth (Clybourne Park; August: Osage County; Kinky Boots) who will receive the Lilly Lifetime Achievement Award.  

2015 Lilly Award winners include choreographer and director Graciela Daniele, playwright Lisa D’Amour (2015 Tony nominee, Airline Highway; Detroit), beloved actor Deirdre O’Connell, founding artistic director of the Musical Theatre Factory Shakina Nayfack, Boo Killebrew, Quincy Tyler Bernstine, and three surprise winners to be announced during the ceremony.   

Guest presenters include Lynn Ahrens, Lynne Meadow, Rebecca Naomi Jones, Jordan Roth, Cusi Cram, Zoe Sarnak, Heidi Schreck, Julia Jordan, and more.

The ceremony will include performances by Five Play, the sister group of the world-renowned all-female jazz ensemble Diva, and a special announcement by the Ziegfeld Club. The winners of the Stacey Mindich $25,000 Go-Write-a-Play Prize and the Leah Ryan Prize will also be announced along with the presentation of the annual Miss Lilly Award, given to the man who has done the most in any given year to make the theatre a better place for women.

The Lilly Awards are made possible by generous grants from The Dramatists Guild and The New York Women’s Foundation, and sustaining assistance from the Lilly Awards Leadership Circle. 

The Lilly Awards were founded in the spring of 2010, by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck to honor the work of women in the American Theatre. The awards are named for Lillian Hellman, who famously said to be a female playwright, “You need to write like the devil and act like one too when necessary.”

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First