Event Has Passed

Theatre in the Age of Climate Change Convening at Emerson College in Boston, MA—Friday 8 June to Sunday 10 June 2018

HowlRound, in partnership with Chantal Bilodeau (The Arctic Cycle), Elizabeth Doud (Climakaze Miami/Fundarte), and Roberta Levitow (Theater Without Borders) presented the Theatre in the Age of Climate Change Convening livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 8 June to Sunday 10 June 2018. The Theatre in the Age of Climate Change convening was one of four convenings selected as part of the HowlRound Challenge to advance the role of the arts as a catalyst for social change.

 

Thumbnail

This convening brought together thirty leading thinkers, presenters, and practitioners (see attendee list and biographies here) who are working at the intersection of performing arts and climate change for a three-day caucus to engage in a dynamic conversation around our common challenges, opportunities, and future strategies.

Follow @howlround in Twitter, and use hashtag #theatreandclimatechange.

 

Thumbnail

LIVESTREAM SCHEDULE:

FRIDAY 8 JUNE 2018
Welcome and Orientation: The Landscape and Our Meeting

1:00-1:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 10:00-10:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 6:00-6:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 8:00-8:45 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 2:00pm-2:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 10:30-11:15 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Who Are We In the Landscape?
1:45-2:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 10:45-11:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 6:45-7:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 8:45-9:45 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/2:45-3:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 11:15 pm-12:15 am GMT+5:30 (Banglore)

 

 

Group Discussion: What’s the Reality? What’s Working?
2:55-4:15 pm EDT (Boston)/11:55-1:15 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 7:55-9:15 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 9:55-11:15 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa) / 3:55-5:15 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 12:25-1:45 am GMT-5:30 (Bangalore)

 

 

Group Discussion: How Do We Double Our Impact?
4:25-5:45 pm EDT (Boston)/ 1:25-2:45 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 9:25-10:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 11:25 pm-12:45 am GDT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 5:25-6:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 1:55-3:15 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 

 

SATURDAY 9 JUNE 2018
Group Discussion: Are We Thinking Radically Enough?

9:45-11:00 am EDT (Boston)/ 6:45-8:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 2:45-4:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 4:45-6:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 10:45 am-12:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 7:15-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 

 

Create Working Groups: Making the Theoretical Practical
11:10 am-12:00 pm EDT (Boston)/ 8:10-9:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 4:10-5:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 6:10-7:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 12:10-1:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 8:40-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 

 

Working Group Quick Report Backs
2:15-3:00 pm EDT (Boston)/ 11:15 am-12:00 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 7:15-8:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 9:15-10:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 3:15-4:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 11:45 pm-12:30 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 

 

Working Group Deep Report Backs
4:20-5:20 pm EDT (Boston)/ 1:20-2:20 pm PDT (San Francisco)/ 9:20-10:20 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 11:20 pm-12:20 am GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 5:20-6:20 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 1:50-2:50 am GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 



SUNDAY 10 JUNE 2018
Working Group Report Backs
10:30-11:15 am EDT (Boston)/ 7:30-8:15 am PDT (San Francisco)/ 3:30-4:15 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 5:30-6:15 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 11:30 am-12:15 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 8:00-8:45 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Intentions and Accountability
11:15-11:45 am EDT (Boston)/ 8:15-8:45 am PDT (San Francisco)/4:15-4:45 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 6:15-6:45 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 12:15-12:45 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 8:45-9:15 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

Closing
11:45 am-12:00 pm EDT (Boston)/ 8:45-9:00 am PDT (San Francisco)/4:45-5:00 pm GMT+1 (London)/ 6:45-7:00 pm GMT+3 (Addis Ababa)/ 12:45-1:00 pm GMT-3 (Belo Horizonte)/ 9:15-9:30 pm GMT+5:30 (Bangalore)

 


ABOUT THE ORGANIZERS

Chantal Bilodeau is a playwright whose work focuses on the intersection of science, policy, art, and climate change. She is the Artistic Director of The Arctic Cycle—an organization created to support the writing, development and production of eight plays that look at the social and environmental changes taking place in the eight Arctic states—and the founder of the blog Artists & Climate Change. She co-organizes Climate Change Theatre Action, a worldwide series of readings and performances of climate change plays presented to coincide with the United Nations COP meetings. She curates the HowlRound series Theatre in the Age of Climate Change.

Elizabeth Doud is a theatre artist with a background in creative writing and performance, and twenty years of experience as an arts organizer and educator. Straddling the fields of international cultural exchange and climate arts, she has worked extensively in Latin America and the Caribbean, and co-created Climakaze Miami with FUNDarte in 2015, an annual climate performance and dialogue platform. She currently leads the Performing Americas Program of the National Performance Network, while pursuing a Phd. at the Federal University of Bahia, Brazil. She is a member of the Climate Lens cohort and spends her time between South Florida and Bahia, Brazil.

Theatre director, dramaturg, producer and teacher Roberta Levitow is a co-founder and director of Theatre Without Borders, a grass-roots all-volunteer network of theatre artists around the world. Theatre Without Borders (TWB) was a co-instigator of Climate Lens and the Climate Change Theatre Action 2015 in collaboration with NoPassport and The Arctic Cycle. Roberta is the Senior Program Associate/International with the Sundance Institute Theatre Program, now focused on exposure and exchange between the Middle East, North Africa, East Africa and the US. She is a Fulbright Ambassador Emerita with Fulbright grants in Hong Kong, Romania, and Uganda.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First