Social Justice & Political Theatre

Content here focuses on theatremakers, companies, and projects with a political or social justice mission.

The Latest

Creating a Feminist Punch and Judy Show
Essay

Creating a Feminist Punch and Judy Show

by Roxanna Myhrum
16 June 2019
Narrative Sharing and Narrative Shifting with Digital Technology
Essay

Narrative Sharing and Narrative Shifting with Digital Technology

by Complex Movements
10 June 2019
The Search for Truth in Putin’s Russia
Essay

The Search for Truth in Putin’s Russia

How Teatr.doc’s “Civil Theatre” Is Exposing Injustice

by verity healey
4 June 2019
Howlround Theatre Commons
From the World Theatre Map
35 and Counting, a Symposium on Theatre & Social Justice at Theatre of Yugen in San Francisco—Thursday 14 November 2013
Video

35 and Counting, a Symposium on Theatre & Social Justice at Theatre of Yugen in San Francisco—Thursday 14 November 2013

Theatre of Yugen in San Francisco presented 35 and Counting, a Symposium on Theatre & Social Justice livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 14 November at 6 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 8 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 9 p.m. EST (New York).

Panel Discussion: The Illusion of Power and the Power of Illusion: Viewing Media Through an Artistic Lens by British Council USA Arts in New York
Video

Panel Discussion: The Illusion of Power and the Power of Illusion: Viewing Media Through an Artistic Lens by British Council USA Arts in New York

Thursday 3 October 2013
New York City

British Council USA Arts presented The Illusion of Power and the Power of Illusion: Viewing Media Through an Artistic Lens, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 3 October 2013 at 3 p.m. PDT / 5 p.m. CDT / 6 p.m. EDT / 22:00 GMT / 11 p.m. BST.

The Violence Divide: Race and Class Disparities in the Media’s Response to Gun Violence conversation at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Thursday 19 September 2013
Video

The Violence Divide: Race and Class Disparities in the Media’s Response to Gun Violence conversation at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Thursday 19 September 2013

The Elma Lewis Center for Civic Engagement, Learning, and Research and ArtsEmerson:The World On Stage present a panel discussion on the presence of race and class disparities in media responses to urban and suburban acts of violence, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 19 September 2013 at 4 p.m. (PDT) / 6 p.m. (CDT) / 7 p.m. (EDT). 

Columbine High School Shooting: The Impact of the Media on Survivors of Trauma conversation at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Wednesday 18 September 2013
Video

Columbine High School Shooting: The Impact of the Media on Survivors of Trauma conversation at ArtsEmerson in Boston—Wednesday 18 September 2013

ArtsEmerson: The World On Stage, Boston presents The Impact of the Media on Survivors of Trauma conversation livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 18 September 2013 at 1:30 p.m.-2:45 p.m. (PDT) / 3:30 p.m.-4:45 p.m. (CDT) / 4:30 p.m.-5:45 p.m. (EDT) / 20:30 GMT - 21:45 GMT. 

Mayoral Candidate Forum on Arts, Culture, and Creativity in Boston—Monday 9 September 2013
Video

Mayoral Candidate Forum on Arts, Culture, and Creativity in Boston—Monday 9 September 2013

Create the Vote coalition presented the Boston Mayoral Candidate Forum on Arts, Culture, and Creativity livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 9 September at 6 p.m.-7:30 p.m. EDT (Boston) / 5 p.m.-6:30 p.m. CDT (Austin) / 3 p.m.-4:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco).

Political Ideology and Art
Series

Political Ideology and Art

A series in which each writer was invited to respond based upon the intersection of political ideology and art in their work.

Gun Control Theatre Action
Series

Gun Control Theatre Action

This series focuses on personal perspectives from a select group of practitioners on theatre and social change, the nature of artistic efficacy, and on past and ongoing gun control theatre actions. We welcome readers to reflect with us.

Donnie Welch's Leaving Dynamite Workshop Performance in New Orleans—Saturday 10 Aug 2013
Video

Donnie Welch's Leaving Dynamite Workshop Performance in New Orleans—Saturday 10 Aug 2013

Slam poet Donnie Welch presented a workshop performance of Leaving Dynamite livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 10 August 2013 at 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 7 p.m. CDT (New Orleans) / 8 p.m. EDT (New York). Expected run time: 45 minutes. 

Making Theatre In A Messed Up World conversation at the Bay Area Playwrights Festival Symposium in San Francisco—Friday 28 July 2013
Video

Making Theatre In A Messed Up World conversation at the Bay Area Playwrights Festival Symposium in San Francisco—Friday 28 July 2013

This symposium, produced by the Playwrights Foundation, San Francisco, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 26 July 2013 at 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 4 p.m. CDT (Austin) / 5 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 21:00 GMT.

MicroFest USA: New Orleans at the Network of Ensemble Theaters—Friday 18 January to Sunday 20 January 2013
Video

MicroFest USA: New Orleans at the Network of Ensemble Theaters—Friday 18 January to Sunday 20 January 2013

Network of Ensemble Theaters' MicroFest USA: New Orleans was livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 18 January to Sunday 20 January 2013.

Under the Radar Festival 2013 (#UTR13) & Culturebot at The Public in New York—Thursday 10 January - Sunday 13 January 2013
Video

Under the Radar Festival 2013 (#UTR13) & Culturebot at The Public in New York—Thursday 10 January - Sunday 13 January 2013

The Public Theater presented panels on the arts during economic crisis and the work of socially conscious performance at the Under the Radar Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Thursday 10 January to Sunday 13 January 2013.

ReOrient 2012 Theatre Festival and Forum at Golden Thread in San Francisco—Saturday 17 November & Sunday 18 November 2012
Video

ReOrient 2012 Theatre Festival and Forum at Golden Thread in San Francisco—Saturday 17 November & Sunday 18 November 2012

Golden Thread presented the Reorient 2012 Theatre Festival and Forum livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 17 November and Sunday 18 November 2012.

New England Foundation for the Arts National Touring Theatre Project
Series

New England Foundation for the Arts National Touring Theatre Project

This series traces the progress of the New England Foundation For the Arts's touring initiative.

Mugwumpin & Cultural Critic Greil Marcus at Z Space in San Francisco—Monday 23 July 2012
Video

Mugwumpin & Cultural Critic Greil Marcus at Z Space in San Francisco—Monday 23 July 2012

Mugwumpin presented a conversation with cultural critic Greil Marcus at Z Space, exploring the topic of their next show, American prophecy, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday 23 July 2012 from 1 p.m. PDT – 3 p.m. PDT / 4 p.m. EDT – 6 p.m. EDT.

A New Iraqi Arabic adaptation of 9 Parts of Desire by Heather Raffo at Georgetown University in Washington, DC—Thursday 14 June 2012
Video

A New Iraqi Arabic adaptation of 9 Parts of Desire by Heather Raffo at Georgetown University in Washington, DC—Thursday 14 June 2012

A new Iraqi Arabic adaptation of 9 Parts of Desire by Heather Raffo, and a post show discussion.

This Is How We Do It Festival at The Foundry Theatre in New York, NY—Saturday 20 April and Sunday 22 April 2012
Video

This Is How We Do It Festival at The Foundry Theatre in New York, NY—Saturday 20 April and Sunday 22 April 2012

The Foundry Theatre presents talks at the This Is How We Do It Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 20 April and Sunday 22 April 2012.