Theatre for Young Audiences

Curious about work by or for young people? Content here is all about TYA: writing from practitioners, video of performances, and more.

The Latest

Terror, Strength, Pain, Brilliance, and Children in Four Little Girls
Essay

Terror, Strength, Pain, Brilliance, and Children in Four Little Girls

by Alex Ates
21 February 2019
Learning from and Listening to Latinx Youth at the 2019 LTC TYA Sin Fronteras Festival and Convening
Essay

Learning from and Listening to Latinx Youth at the 2019 LTC TYA Sin Fronteras Festival and Convening

by Marci R. McMahon
19 February 2019
The Necessity of Including Youth in the Development of Theatre for Young Audiences
Essay

The Necessity of Including Youth in the Development of Theatre for Young Audiences

by Jennifer Kokai
5 February 2019
Howlround Theatre Commons
From the World Theatre Map
Original Plays Created by 100+ Young Artists at the Voices of Now Festival in Washington, DC—Friday 16 May & Saturday 17 May 2014
Video

Original Plays Created by 100+ Young Artists at the Voices of Now Festival in Washington, DC—Friday 16 May & Saturday 17 May 2014

Arena Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater presented the Voices of Now Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 16 May and on Saturday 17 May at 4:30 p.m. PDT / 6:30 p.m. CDT / 7:30 p.m. EDT on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv. Use Twitter hashtag #howlround to comment and share.

Voices of Now Youth Ensemble Performances at Arena Stage in Washington, DC—Friday 17 May to Sunday 19 May 2013
Video

Voices of Now Youth Ensemble Performances at Arena Stage in Washington, DC—Friday 17 May to Sunday 19 May 2013

Arena Stage at the Mead Center for American Theater presented the third annual Voices of Now Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 17 May 2013 at 4:30 p.m. PDT / 6:30 p.m. CDT / 7:30 p.m. EDT / 23:30 GMT. View the conversion into your local time.

The Annual Young Playwrights Festival at Florida Studio Theatre in Sarasota—Saturday 11 May 2013
Video

The Annual Young Playwrights Festival at Florida Studio Theatre in Sarasota—Saturday 11 May 2013

Florida Studio Theatre in Sarasota presented the annual Young Playwrights Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 11 May beginning at 7 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 9 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. EDT (New York) / 14:00 GMT / 3 p.m. BST (London). ​

Performances of Ten-Minute Plays from @ArenaStage Student Playwrights at Arena Stage in Washington, DC—Monday 12 March 2012
Video

Performances of Ten-Minute Plays from @ArenaStage Student Playwrights at Arena Stage in Washington, DC—Monday 12 March 2012

Arena Stage's Student Playwrights Project presented performances of the eight winning plays livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv  on Monday 12 March 2012 at 12 p.m. EST/ 11 a.m. CST/ 9 a.m. PST.