red dramatists guild logoDramatists Guild of America presents the 2nd Annual National Conference in Chicago "Having Our Say: Our History, Our Future" livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday 22 August and Friday 23 August 2013. 
 
To participate in online conversation throughout the conference, use Twitter hashtag #sayDG and follow @dramatistsguild. Additionally, use Twitter hashtag #howlround for updates about livestreaming events and general theatre news.
 
Livestreaming Schedule (subject to change)
 
Thursday 22 August at 2 p.m.-3:45 p.m. PDT / 4 p.m.–5:45 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m.-6:45 p.m. EDT
  • New Media: Dramatists in the Age of Twitter, Facebook (Gwydion Suilebhan, Seth Cotterman)
Thanks to social media, the entire paradigm by which playwrights connect with other playwrights, with other theatre artists, and (most importantly) with theatres is undergoing a somewhat radical transformation. The possibilities offered by Twitter and Facebook alone are immense... but only if playwrights embrace and engage with them. This session will re-frame the potential of social media, inspire playwrights to participate in new ways, lay out some of the more radical possibilities, and issue a few dearly-bought warnings about potential pitfalls. Even if you consider yourself an avid user—and certainly if you happen to be a novice—this session is for you.

Friday 23 August at 9 a.m.-9:45 a.m. PDT / 11 a.m.–11:45 a.m. CDT / 12 p.m.-12:45 p.m. EDT
  • DG Controversies and their Resolutions (John Weidman, Stephen Schwartz, Ralph Sevush)
The Guild’s President, former President, and its Executive Director of Business Affairs discuss the critical issues and controversies that have been facing the Guild and its membership in recent years, including such topics as subsidiary rights, director’s copyright, censorship, dramaturgy, and contests & festivals. This panel will also explain the creation and purpose of the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund.

Friday 23 August at 12 p.m.-12:45 p.m. PDT / 2 p.m.–2:45 p.m. CDT / 3 p.m.-3:45 p.m. EDT
  • ​​Writing Wicked (Winnie Holzman, Stephen Schwartz, Hosted by Michael Kerker)
Librettist Winnie Holzman and composer/lyricist Stephen Schwartz discuss their collaborative journey down the yellow brick road: from stumbling upon Gregory Maguire’s imaginative novel, Wicked: the Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West to developing this incredibly complex story into a mega Broadway musical hit.

Friday 23 August at 1 p.m.-1:45 p.m. PDT / 3 p.m.–3:45 p.m. CDT / 4 p.m.-4:45 p.m. EDT​
  • A Conversation with Doug Wright (Hosted by Faye Sholiton)
Doug Wright has brought to life on stage (and screen) some of our most memorable characters: The Marquis de Sade (Quills); Charlotte von Mahlsdorf (I Am My Own Wife); Big and Little Edie Beale (Grey Gardens); Ariel (The Little Mermaid —“Mermaids have needs, too.”); and this past season on Broadway, ten East Texans in search of a free ride (Hands on a Hardbody). Turns out, he’s quite a character himself—and always a delightful interview. Join Faye Sholiton in “Meeting Mr. Wright”.

Friday 23 August at 2 p.m.-2:45 p.m. PDT / 4 p.m.–4:45 p.m. CDT / 5 p.m.-5:45 p.m. EDT
  • Adaptation / Translation (Doug Wright, Carol Hall, Winnie Holzman, David Ives, Hosted by John Dietrich)
Working with adaptations, translations or stories based on biographic histories has its own maze of dramaturgical problems to maneuver for any dramatist. Join Doug Wright (Grey Gardens), Carol Hall (A Christmas Memory), Winnie Holzman (Wicked), and David Ives (White Christmas), as they share their experiences with John Dietrich.

Friday 23 August at 3 p.m.-3:45 p.m. PDT / 5 p.m.–5:45 p.m. CDT / 6 p.m.-6:45 p.m. EDT
  • A Conversation With: Lin-Manuel Miranda (Hosted by Larry Dean Harris)
Freestyle is the word when this Tony-winning composer/lyricist talks about bringing his fresh brand of hip-hop, rap and salsa into the Broadway vernacular with the development of his monumental musical In the Heights and the high-flying Bring It On. Find out how he works, how he collaborates, and what he’s cooking up next.

 
About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.