The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presents Approaching Dance: Transdisciplinary Methodologies and Modalities of the Moving Body in Performance at The Doctoral Students Association 2017 Conference livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday, May 11 at 4:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles).

Join us for an interdisciplinary conference organized by the Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association (DTSA) interrogating dance scholarship and methodologies. This day-long conference aims to discuss and exchange methodological approaches to dance and to build a network for emerging scholars inside and outside of dance studies. The day will culminate in a public round table discussion with Thomas DeFrantz (Duke), Nadine George-Graves (UCSD), VK Preston (Toronto), Katherine Profeta (Queens College, CUNY), and Paul Scolieri (Barnard), moderated by Erika T. Lin (The Graduate Center, CUNY).

Followed by a performance intervention by The Bureau for the Future of Choreography.

Approaching Dance Conference Roundtable
4:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles)

Dance Performance 
6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. (San Francisco)

For more information, schedule, and RSVP form for roundtable and performance,
please visit: http://approachingdance.com

This conference is presented by the Doctoral Theatre Students’ Association (DTSA, GC CUNY), The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center, and The PhD Program in Theatre. With additional support from Marvin Carlson, Sidney E. Cohn Chair in Theatre Studies; David Savran, Vera Mowry Roberts Chair in American Theatre; and the Doctoral Students’ Council.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.