• Will Power
    Dallas Theater Center, Dallas, TX
  • Robert O'Hara
    Woolly Mammoth Theatre Company, Washington, DC
  • Peter Sinn Nachtrieb
    Z Space, San Francisco, CA
  • Pearl Cleage
    Alliance Theatre, Atlanta, GA
  • Nathan Louis Jackson
    The Kansas City Repertory Theatre, Kansas City, MO
  • Melinda Lopez
    Huntington Theatre Company, Boston, MA
  • Marcus Gardley
    Victory Gardens Theater, Chicago, IL
  • Luis Alfaro
    Oregon Shakespeare Festival, Ashland, OR
  • Kira Obolensky
    Ten Thousand Things Theater Company, Minneapolis, MN
  • Julie Marie Myatt
    South Coast Repertory, Costa Mesa, CA
  • David Adjmi
    Soho Rep, New York, NY
  • Dan LeFranc
    Playwrights Horizons, New York, NY
  • Andrew Saito
    The Cutting Ball Theater, San Francisco, CA
  • Aditi Brennan Kapil
    Mixed Blood Theatre, Minneapolis, MN


Residency Goals

Funded and administered by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, the playwright residencies have four main goals:

  1. To advance the state of playwrights in the American theatre by providing them with space, time, and resources.
  2. To influence the working environment of theatres by embedding playwrights in them.
  3. To help the field (including other funders) understand the value of embedding playwrights in theatres.
  4. To work toward an ideal of having writers become salaried employees of all theatres.

Program Description
Nineteen playwrights are salaried staff members in residence for three years at eighteen theatres in thirteen cities. The Residency cohorts are as follows:

Cohort 2: 2016-2019

Cohort 1: 2013-2016