La MaMa in New York City presents Belarus Free Theatre's performance of Burning Doors livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Sunday, October 22 at 4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 20:00 UTC / 9 p.m. BST (London, UTC +1) / 22:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC +2) / 23:00 MSK/EEST (Minsk, Moscow, Beirut, UTC +3).

On Twitter, follow @HowlRound, @BFreeTheatre, and use #BurningDoors to share your thoughts.

Watch the livestream here on HowlRound.TV. Livestream production by CultureHub

What happens when you are declared an enemy of the state simply for making art? Where do you belong when your government suppresses your basic right to expression? And how do you survive in one of the most brutal prison systems in the world?


This production blends sensuous theatricality and vigorous physicality to shine a light on total suppression of artistic freedoms, drawn from the real-life stories of iconoclastic Russian performance artist Petr Pavlensky, incarcerated Ukrainian filmmaker Oleg Sentsov, and Pussy Riot's Maria Alyokhina.

Belarus Free Theatre is one of the leading refugee-led theatre company in the UK and the only theatre in Europe banned by its government on political grounds. Burning Doors draws on the company’s own experience of political oppression and continues their campaign to stand up for artistic freedom and human rights across the globe.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.