festival audience sitting outside under a tent

The Malta Festival Poznań, Poland presents three conversations livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 22 June - Sunday 24 June 2018.

This year, Malta Festival Poznań is determined by the dynamics of a leap. With the theme of this edition, the Leap of Faith Idiom, we are considering possible variations on the approaches to faith: a risky leap into admiration and beauty, but also into fanaticism. We ask how different beliefs and axiologies can come together in a discussion. Where do dividing lines run, as well as those of understanding?

The festival will begin with a collective cleansing action: the construction then destruction of a cardboard assembly resembling the newly built keep added rather controversially to the historic structure of Poznań's Royal Castle. This innocent albeit subversive gesture by Oliver Grossetête and numerous volunteers will herald various festival projects showing that art has the power to unmask the madness of the world around us, and to protest that madness both as individuals and as citizens.

 

Livestream Schedule:

Friday 22 June:
To Say It Loudly: A Meeting With Stefan Hertmans
8:30 a.m. UTC -7 (San Francisco) / 10:30 a.m. UTC -5 (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. UTC -4 (New York) / 15:30 UTC / 4:30 p.m. UTC +1 (London) / 17:30 UTC +2 (Poznań)

Stefan Hertmans is one of the most esteemed authors writing in Dutch. His most famous novel, War and Turpentine (2013), has been published in 16 countries and has had 20 reprints in the Netherlands. It won the Flemish Culture Prize for Literature (2014) and was nominated for the Man Booker International Prize. The meeting is accompanied by a stage reading of Stefan Hertman’s Antigone in Molenbeek directed by Anna Smolar. This is the first showing of the drama in Poland. It stars Małgorzata Gorol.

 

Saturday 23 June
What does art have to do with faith? Meeting with the 2018 Curators: Grace Ellen Barkey, Jan Lauwers, Maarten Seghers. 
6 a.m. UTC -7 (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. UTC -5 (Chicago) /  9 a.m. UTC -4 (New York) / 13:00 UTC / 14:00 UTC +1 (London) / 15:00 UTC +2 (Poznań)

What does art have to do with faith? The meeting with the curators of the Leap of Faith Idiom is an opportunity to ask them about their programme concept and the projects they have chosen, as well as their ‘functioning in art’. What does a leap of faith mean to them in practice? How does it affect the work of Needcompany? What does it stand for in an artistic, social and political sense? 

 

Sunday 24 June
Creativity Talks: What Kind Of Festivals Do We Need In These Turbulent Times?
7 a.m. UTC -7 (San Francisco) / 9 a.m. UTC -5 (Chicago) / 10 a.m. UTC -4 (New York) /14:00 UTC / 15:00 UTC +1 (London) / 16:00 UTC +2 (Poznań)

With Rose Fenton, Hugo De Greef, Nele Hertling, Marta Keil, Grzegorz Reske, Michał Merczyński. In the history of post-war Europe, theatre festivals have played an important social role. Renowned cultural events like the Avignon and Edinburgh Festivals or the LIFT in London have integrated people and opened them to the world through art. What role should festivals play today, in times of doubt in the existence of community and the marginalisation of art by politicians? How can a festival respond to the needs of local communities whilst maintaining a relation to the socio-political situation in the world? Meeting will be moderated by Simon Gammell (director British Council Polska)

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.