fireworks

SpiderWebShow presents foldA: festival of live digital Art at the Isabel Bader Centre for the Performing Arts, Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Wednesday 20 June 2018.

foldA is the only festival of its kind in Canada, exploring & presenting live performance integrated with digital technologies. Companies from across Canada will be commissioned to create programming that can be experienced by live audiences in Kingston and digitally by audiences across the country. 

The StartUp

The StartUp is an industry series at foldA (19-22 June) that introduces live performance professionals to what is happening and possible in the online age.

Through debates, discussions, workshops and keynotes with some of #cdncult’s most exciting creators, we’ll be wrestling with the question: What is live Canadian performance in the digital age?

stick figures in conference

 

Wednesday’s StartUp: Disrupting the Status Quo
6:30 a.m. - 7:30 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 8:30 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. EDT (Toronto)
Featuring: Andrew D’Cruz and Donna-Michelle St Bernard
How can new practises disrupt the ways we’ve always worked? Producer of CBC’s The Exhibitionists Andrew D’Cruz and Governor General award nominated agitator, Donna-Michelle St Bernard unpack disruption in art and life.

Conversation: Podcast People
7:30 a.m. - 9 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. EDT (Toronto)
FeaturingChris Tolley (PlayME), Leah Simone Bowen & Falen Johnson (The Secret Life of Canada), and Michael Kruse (Title Block)
Chris Tolley, Leah Simone Bowen, Falen Johnson, and Michael Kruse talk about challenges, opportunities, and innovations associated with translating theatre for an audio experience.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.