Conversations between art and heritage in Berlin

Innovate Heritage: Conversations between Arts and Heritage is an international and inter/transdisciplinary conference with an artistic program that creates a platform uniting artists, scholars, and heritage and arts professionals in exploring relationships, promoting creative approaches to theoretical and practical issues, and enhancing collaboration between the arts and heritage.
 
The conference will livestream on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday, June 6 to Sunday, June 8 from Berlin, Germany. 
 
Participate in conversation by watching the livestreaming events from Innovate Heritage's Facebook Page and by using the Twitter hashtag #InnovHeritage. Follow @InnovHeritage for commentary about the events and @HowlRoundTV for updates about the livestreaming.
 
Livestreaming Schedule (use this tool to convert to your local timezone.)
 
Friday, June 6
  
Welcome by Innovate Heritage and Partners:
14:00–15:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 1 p.m. BST (London)/ 12:00 GMT/ 8 a.m. EDT (New York)
 
German Commission for UNESCO – Prof. Dr. Christoph Wulf, Vice-President
World Heritage Studies BTU Cottbus-Senftenberg – Simona Cadar, Program Coordinator
British Council, Germany – Matthew Beavers, Art Project Coordinator
Oriental Heritage Without Borders – Dr Soraya Adambakan, President

Britta Rudolff (Germany/Bahrain) – “Heritage as Poetry”
15:00–16:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 2 p.m. BST (London)/ 13:00 GMT/ 9 a.m. EDT (New York)
 
All art as well as all heritage is essentially poetry, the product of poiesis, of creative thinking and action brought into being. In the arts, often a single act of poiesis creates the artwork while heritage is nurtured in existence by constant re-creation—by continuous processes of poiesis. 

Shaheen Merali (UK) – “The Spectre (of Knowledge): Reconsidering the archive”
16:00–17:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 3 p.m. BST (London)/ 14:00 GMT/ 10 a.m. EDT (New York)
 
When I started to apply the notion of the spectre to a potential subject to be considered by this conference, the archive, it suggested two simultaneous readings: the first was of a roaming spirit—of a visible but disembodied entity (which is the state of the archive’s discourse)—a motif that would provide a final resting place for research, which is the sum of many parts.

 

Nick Wilson (UK) – “Re-enchanting Arts & Heritage through Social Creativity”
17:00–18:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 4 p.m. BST (London)/ 15:00 GMT/ 11 a.m. EDT (New York)

On the one hand, we are living at a time of extraordinary and constant market-driven change, where "old" rules simply cannot be relied upon any more. On the other hand, we are increasingly drawn to finding meaning and value in the revival of "lost" traditions, and the legacy of our shared heritage.

Welcome by Organisers and Introduction of Artists
18:30–19:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 5:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 16:30 GMT/ 12:30 p.m. EDT (New York)

Rosanna Raymond (New Zealand/Samoa/UK) – “Soli i Tai – Soli i Uta (walk on the sea, walk on the land)”
Denise Ferris (Australia) – “Absent Spaces: Invisible Lives”
OHWB (Iran/Lebanon/Egypt/Germany) – “Urban Collective Memories”
Sophie Iremonger (UK/Ireland/Germany) – “Neonderthal”
Mudi Yahaya (Nigeria) – “For Crown + Country” | “Conrads Circus”
Yegane Azadova (Azerbaijan) – “Mythological Images”
Miodarg Kuc (Serbia/Germany) – “K67-Urban Router”
Refunc (Netherlands/Germany) – “Silo-City”
List of presenting artists from Visual Art Exhibition able to present in person (see website and vernissage video for full list of artists)

Vernissage: Visual Art Exhibition, Dinner + Film Program “Food Diaspora”
17:00-23:00 CEST (Berlin)

 
Saturday, June 7

“Syrian Arts & Heritage in Danger” Panel Discussion, curated by Oriental Heritage Without Borders 
11:00–12:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 10 a.m. BST (London)/ 09:00 GMT     

Mahmoud Ramadan (Syria/Belgium) 
Charlotte Bank (Germany/Switzerland) 
Khaled Mzher (Syria/Germany)
Moderated by Sepideh Zarrin Ghalam (Iran/Germany)

There is no doubt about the urgency of the humanitarian activities to fulfill the basic physical needs, yet the question could be asked whether artistic and cultural activities could assist in feeding the soul of people, an undertaking which its necessity, feasibility, and outcomes might be underestimated in times of conflict.

Conversations between Arts & Heritage (Seminar Session I)
13:00–15:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 12 p.m. BST (London)/ 11:00 GMT

Constructs: 
Lidia Rossner (US/Germany) – "Biennales as Constructs of Heritage"
In Conversation with
Mudi Yahaya (Nigeria) - “The Curatorial Colour Curtain – Who Curates Post-Colonial Contemporary African Art?”

Urbanization:
Peter Sachsenmeier (Germany/Switzerland) – “Heritage and Identity as Important Factors in a Rapidly Urbanizing World”
In Conversation with
KUNSTrePUBLIK (Germany)  “Where, if not now”

Music:
Deborah Withers (UK) – “Contemporary Intangible Heritage and Archiving Memory: Music making in the UK Women’s Liberation Movement”
In Conversation with
Hyelim Kim (South Korea/UK) – “Korean Contemporary Interpretations of Traditional Music/Performance”

Denise Ferris (Australia) - “Being There: imaging narratives of absence”
15:30–16:30 CEST (Berlin)/ 2:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 13:30 GMT/ 9:30 a.m. EDT (New York)

Stone races, dams, and waterways endure as monuments to Chinese mining practices 150 years ago In the Australian Snowy Mountains. Photographs accurately describe this heritage but such realism falls short of "being there" or understanding the lives of the miners. However photography can expand imaginative possibilities in a project of retrieval, disclosing presence where only absence is now felt.

Rosanna Raymond (New Zealand/Samoa/UK) - “Ko Au Te Wharetaonga – I am the Museum”
16:30–17:30 CEST (Berlin)/ 3:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 14:30 GMT/ 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York)

The Artist inside the Museum—The Museum inside the Artist. As an artist, the museum has become a space for my art practice and cultural heritage to come together, the museum a place confluence, the past and the present, the voices of the community, the artist, the intellect, finding space to create, speculate, articulate, mediate, explore, and learn.

Performance Program:
 
Klaus Zehbe (Germany) – “Unter den Linden”
19:30–19:45 CEST (Berlin)/ 6:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 17:30 GMT/ 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York)

Kim Hyelim (South Korea/UK) – “Beyond Taegúm: Sounds of the Korean Flute”
19:50–20:30 CEST (Berlin)/ 6:50 p.m. BST (London)/ 17:50 GMT/ 1:50 p.m. EDT (New York)

Allison Warden (US/Alaska) – “Calling All Polar Bears”
20:45–21:45 CEST (Berlin)/ 7:45 p.m. BST (London)/ 18:45 GMT/ 2:45 p.m. EDT (New York)

 

 
 
Sunday, June 8
 
Jacqueline Heerema (Netherlands) - “Innovate Heritage or Innovatory Heritage?”
10:00–11:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 9 a.m. BST (London)/ 08:00 GMT

Understanding the dynamics of "innovatory heritage" is basically understanding your own values, as a person, as a member of a family, a community and society and as an expert. I like to state that arts, culture, and heritage belong to everybody. Not to a selections of experts. Not within walls.

Michele Trimarchi (Italy) – “From Ivory Towers to the Urban Texture: A map of the future culture”
11:00–12:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 10 a.m. BST (London)/ 09:00 GMT

The lecture focuses upon the radical changes occurring in the cultural system, caught in a passage between the manufacturing paradigm and the sharing economy, dominated by values such as experience, proximity, and relationship.

Conversations between Arts & Heritage (Seminar Session II)
13:00–15:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 12 p.m. BST (London)/ 11:00 GMT      

Sub-Heritage:
Pablo Arboleda and Emil Bakev (Spain/Macedonia/Germany)  “Sub-Heritage”

Storytelling:
Anne O’Dowd (US) – “Folk Arts Festivals and Cultural Presentation”
In Conversation with
Jazmyne Koch (US/Hawaii/Germany) – “Contemporary Realities of Hawaiian Performing Arts and the Role of Cultural Identity”

Redesign:
Manuel Sanches (Brazil) – “Artistic Action in Preserved Space: Cultural Identity or Touristic Trivialization?”
In Conversation with
Refunc (Netherlands/Germany) – “The World without a Manual”

Daisy Sutcliffe (UK) - “Creative Coast 2012: Natural World Heritage, international sporting events, arts programming and engaging communities”
15:15–16:15 CEST (Berlin)/ 2:15 p.m. BST (London)/ 13:15 GMT/ 9:15 a.m. EDT (New York)

In 2001 the length of the British coastline from Exmouth to Studland was designated by UNESCO as England’s first natural World Heritage Site. The designation led to an explosion of activity along the coast as local, regional, and national organisations got to grips with how this could impact positively on their work

Klaus Zehbe (Germany) - “The Futurity of Heritage”
16:15–17:15 CEST (Berlin)/ 3:15 p.m. BST (London)/ 14:15 GMT/ 10:15 a.m. EDT (New York)

The presentation builds on Rorty’s philosophy of language (1989) to establish a theoretical framework of how artistic interventions in the field of heritage may contribute to social change by "redescribing" (Rorty 1989) heritage.

Musical Performance by Abr Ensemble (Iran/Taiwan/Germany) and Closing Ceremony
17:30–18:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 4:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 15:30 GMT/ 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York)

Musical Performance by Nagiyev Shahveled (Azerbaijan)
18:30–19:00 CEST (Berlin)/ 5:30 p.m. BST (London)/ 16:30 GMT/ 2:30 p.m. (New York)

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.