ASHTAR festival poster

ASHTAR Theatre in Ramallah, Palestine presented six performances from the ASHTAR Theatre International Youth Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Saturday 21 July to Sunday 29 July 2018. 

Watch the livestreams at howlround.tv, on HowlRound’s Facebook page, or on ASHTAR Theatre’s Facebook page

 

Livestream schedule:

Peer Gynt
Performed by the ASHTAR Theatre at the Municipality Theatre of Ramallah

Saturday 21 July at 19:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 18:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 5 p.m. (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

Peer Gynt, Henrik Ibsen's 19th century coming-of-age fairy tale poetically echoes the inner turmoil and questionings of young Palestinian people living in a country under occupation which is fighting, by definition, to keep its own identity alive and well. The ASHTAR Theatre company have most certainly made it their own, in a very stylised, physical style combined with an imaginative set design from Russia's Masha Kapustina and eerie lighting design by Norway’s Eivind Myren.

 

A Groom In A Suitcase
Performed by the YES Theatre at ASHTAR Theatre in Ramallah 

Monday 23 July at 19:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 18:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 5 p.m. (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

A Right Move
Performed by the ASHTAR Theatre at Dar Alnadwa in Bethlehem 

Tuesday 24 July at 19:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 18:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 5 p.m. (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

The Waiting Room
Performed by Co-Op Theatre East at Birzeit University  

Wednesday 25 July at 13:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 12:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 11 a.m. (London, UTC +1) / 10:00 UTC / 6 a.m. (New York, UTC -4)

 

The Immigrants
Performed by the Popular Theatre at the Youth Centre at Al Am'ari Camp

Saturday 28 July at 19:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 18:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 5 p.m. (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

Ascension
The final joint performance with youth from around the world at the Municipality Theatre in Ramallah 

Sunday 29 July 29th at 19:00 (Palestine, UTC+3) / 18:00 (Paris, UTC +2) / 5 p.m. (London, UTC +1) / 16:00 UTC / 12 p.m. (New York, UTC -4) / 9 a.m. (Los Angeles, UTC -7)

 

 

About ASHTAR Theatre
ASHTAR is a dynamic local Palestinian Theatre with a truly progressive global perspective. We aim to promote creativity and commitment for change through a novel combination of specific training and acting programs and services and professional theatre performances. If marginalized audience is unable to come to our main location in Ramallah, we move our stage to these often remote areas to include everyone.

ASHTAR Theatre is a non-profit organization that was established in 1991 in Jerusalem as the first theatre training organization for youth in Palestine, by two Palestinian prominent actors; Edward Muallem and Iman Aoun, who worked in theatre since 1977.

At ASHTAR we offer intensive theatre training programs for local students throughout the year, often resulting in performances on stage, but also equipping young Palestinians with essential skills that go beyond acting.  Apart from an increased level of self-awareness and confidence, additional qualifications resulting from our training methodology are leadership, communication, and team work skills.

Our Master Classes attract theatre professionals and students from any continent, transforming Ashtar in a truly global space over the summer months every year. During this period international and local students work directly with theatre professionals and have the opportunity to engage in intensive training and cultural exchange, while learning about Palestine at the same time.

One of ASHTAR’s pioneering specialties is a highly successful genre known as Forum Theatre. The purpose of Forum Theatre is to promote a more active dialogue and commitment for change within the society. This theatre form engages the audience to interact on stage with essential social and political issues, transforming a commonly passive audience into pro-active and involved participants. In essence, Forum Theatre is a vital and engaging democracy-building tool. Through the use of the integrated methods of Forum Theatre, ASHTAR stands as an agent of change in Palestine.

Our core troupe of professional actors performs several high-quality plays during the year introducing new theatre forms in Palestine. Increased cooperation with internationally known actors and directors ensure continuous professional development of our team and the wider theatre community as well as an improved entertainment culture in Palestine. Our sense for continuous renewal and growth is motivated and stimulated by several international awards and increasing requests to perform abroad.

ASHTAR Theatre also functions as an address for local and international filmmakers managing the casting process mobilizing our wide pool of young students and professional actors. 

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.