The Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP) presents the 2016 APAP|NYC Conference livestreaming from New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday, January 15 to Tuesday, January 19. 

In Twitter, join the conversation with #APAPNYC, #howlround, and follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

The 2016 APAP|NYC Conference welcomes performing arts professionals and enthusiasts around the world to join us remotely for select plenary events featuring luminaries from the industry and for professional development sessions sharing best practices from the field.

Livestream Schedule:

Opening Plenary: “Making the Arts Matter” 
Friday, January 15 at 5pm EST-6:30pm EST (New York) / 4pm CST-5:30pm CST (Chicago) / 2pm PST-3:30pm PST (Los Angeles) / 22:00 GMT-23:30 GMT (London)

Artists and their work pla​y a major role in shaping people’s understanding and response to the society in which they live. We open the conference by tapping into the collective experience and perspective of highly respected “makers” whose work helps others navigate the complexity of today’s​ world.

Opening remarks by: Paula Kerger, president and CEO, PBS

Speakers:
Carla Dirlikov, mezzo-soproano and founder, El Camino Project
Bill T. Jones, dancer, choreographer, and executive artistic director of New York Live Arts
Paula Kerger

Moderated by: Anna Deavere Smith, actor, playwright, and professor

Saturday Plenary: “Making Art and the Evolutionary Process”
Saturday, January 16 at 12pm EST-1:30pm EST (New York) / 11am CST-12:30pm CST (Chicago) / 9am PST-10:30am PST (Los Angeles) / 17:00 GMT-18:30 GMT (London)

This popular plenary event celebrates the extraordinary work of five talented individuals who exemplify three of the key strands of the conference theme—Making Art, Making Decisions, and Making a Difference in communities around the world. Speakers will share insights, advice, and stories of success in a rapid-fire, pecha kucha-style presentation interwoven with audience participation in the critical response process created by MacArthur “genius” grantee, Liz Lerman.

Speakers:
Michelle Ellsworth, choreographer and multi-media performance artist
Robert Farid Karimi, experience designer, public engagement specialist, interdisciplinary playwright/poet, founder of ThePeoplesCook project
jessica CARE moore, CEO of Moore Black Press, executive producer of Black Women Rock, founder Jess CARE Moore Foundation
John Michael Schert, visiting artist and social entrepreneur, University of Chicago Booth School of Business and UChicago Arts
Somi, African jazz vocalist and songwriter, OKeh Records/Sony Music recording artists and founder of New Africa Live and MAMAfest

Moderated by: Liz Lerman, choregrapher, writer, educator

More than Transactional: Engaging Diverse Communities
Saturday, January 16 at 2:30pm EST-3:30pm EST (New York) / 1:30pm CST-2:30pm CST (Chicago) / 11:30am PST-12:30pm PST (Los Angeles) / 19:30 GMT-20:30 GMT (London)

Emerging Markets: Deepening the Connection with your Community
Saturday, January 16 at 3:40pm EST-5pm EST (New York) / 2:40pm CST-4pm CST (Chicago) / 12:40pm PST-2pm PST (Los Angeles) / 20:40-22:00 GMT (London)

Sunday Plenary: "Making Big Ideas Come to Life"
Sunday, January 17 at 11am EST-12:30pm EST (New York) / 10am CST-11:30pm CST (Chicago) / 8am PST-9:30am PST (Los Angeles) / 16:00 GMT-17:30 GMT (London)

Three well-respected artists from the theatre world discuss their collective experience and perspective around the Making process—what inspires their work and especially cross-disciplinary collaborations, how they bridge creative expression with audience engagement, and how artists and their collaborators help to bridg​e knowledge and understanding of the tough issues in contemporary society.

Speakers:
John Collins, founder and artistic director, Elevator Repair Service
Lisa Kron, Tony Award-winning actor and playwright
Bartlett Sher, Tony Award winner and resident director, Lincoln Center Theater

Moderator: Colleen Jennings-Roggensack, executive director for ASU Gammage and associate vice president cultural affairs for ASU

Relevancy + Advocacy + Audience Building = $
Monday, January 18 at 9:30am EST-10:50am EST (New York) / 8:30am CST-9:50am CST (Chicago) / 6:30am PST-7:50am PST (Los Angeles) / 14:30 GMT-15:50 GMT (London)

Let's Talk about Context, Baby
Monday, January 18 at 2pm EST-3:30pm EST (New York) / 1pm CST-2:30pm CST (Chicago) / 11am PST-12:30pm PST (Los Angeles) / 19:00 GMT-20:30 GMT (London)

Closing Plenary
Tuesday, January 19 at 10am EST-11am EST (New York) / 9am CST-10am CST (Chicago) / 7am PST-8am PST (Los Angeles) 

We close APAP|NYC 2016 with the much-celebrated Rita Moreno, one of the very few artists to earn all four of the most prestigious awards in entertainment—the Oscar, the Tony, two Emmys, and a Grammy. With countless credits spanning over six decades, Ms. Moreno will share her perspective on making a career that has been groundbreaking and indeed legendary!

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by contacting @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, emailing tv@howlround.com, or by calling Vijay Mathew at +(1) 917.686.3185. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming