The Association of Performing Arts Presenters (APAP) presents the 2017 APAP|NYC Conference livestreaming from New York City on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday, January 6 to Tuesday, January 10. 

In Twitter, join the conversation with #APAPNYC#howlround, and follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

In 2017, APAP|NYC welcomes performing arts professionals and enthusiasts around the world to join us remotely for our four plenary events. A highlight of the APAP|NYC conference, the keynote and plenary sessions bring together all attendees to hear from some of the most inspiring creative thinkers, thought leaders, and artists from around the world who have influence on our field and our future.

2017 OPENING PLENARY - “MC (Makers of Culture) = FLOW: What is our role in affecting social change and resilience?”
Friday, January 65-6:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 2-3:30 p.m. PST (San Francisco) / 10-11:30 p.m. GMT (London)

In these challenging times, artists, in collaboration with agent/managers, presenters, and other co-producers have the potential to serve as catalysts for positive community engagement that leads to social change and social justice. How can we cultivate, support, and promote the value of this work in communities that are struggling against with issues and conditions that undermine safety and well-being?

Session includes a creative moment by Marc Bamuthi Joseph and Daniel Bernard Roumain.

Opening remarks: Ayad Akhtar, Pakistani-American playwright, novelist, actor

Bree Newsome, filmmaker and singer/songwriter

Ibtihaj Muhammad, Team USA Olympic Medalist

Martha Gonzalez, Chicana artivista, singer/percussionist with Quetzal

Moderator: Robyn Archer, Australian singer, writer, artistic director, and advocate

 

SATURDAY PLENARY SESSION - "The Creative Mind: Finding the Flow"
Saturday, January 7, 12-1:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 9-10:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 5-6:30 p.m. GMT (London)

 

What is it that nurtures creativity and innovation? How do creators find and maintain focus on their work? How do they define success and what are the contributing factors to arriving at that point? What is of greatest importance to them in today’s society? This popular plenary event celebrates the extraordinary work of five talented individuals who exemplify the key strands of the conference theme. Speakers will share insights, advice, and stories of success in a rapid-fire, pecha kucha-style presentation interwoven with audience participation in the critical response process created by MacArthur “genius” grantee, Liz Lerman.

What is pecha kucha? Pecha kucha presentations (Japanese for "chit-chat") are designed to re-ignite the stage and spark conversation. In rapid-fire succession, each participant shares 20 slides in just five minutes for presentations that are a work of performance art in their own right. 

Session includes a creative moment, "On Display," by Heidi Latsky Dance

Camille Brown, choreographer, dancer, dance educator

Gregg Mozgala, actor, writer and founding artistic director of the Apothetae theater company

Maysoon Zayid, Palestinian-American comedian, actor, writer

Paola Presetini, composer, creative and executive director of National Sawdust, co-founder of VisionIntoArt

Rulan Tangen, dancer, founding artistic director and choreographer of Dancing Earth

Moderator: Liz Lerman, MacArthur "genius" grantee

 

SUNDAY PLENARY SESSION - “The Creative Team: Finding the Flow Together"
Sunday, January 8, 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. EST (New York) / 8-9:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 4-5:30 p.m. GMT (London)

The development, production, presentation, and promotion of work is a collaborative effort—more so now than ever—in the presenting field today. What are key factors that are shifting the making, producing, and presenting of work to more effectively connect with contemporary audiences while meeting the financial and other objectives of all who have invested in the process?

Jonah Bokaer, choreographer and media artist

Eddie Cota, founder, Champion City

Hadi Eldebek, Lebanese-born musician, composer, cultural entrepreneur

Allison Orr, artistic director, Forklift Danceworks

Jawole Willa Jo Zollar, founder, Urban Bush Women dance company

Moderator: Will Power, playwright and performer

 

CLOSING PLENARY SESSION
Tuesday, January 1010-11 a.m. EST (New York) / 7-8 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 3-4 p.m. GMT (London)

Closing APAP|NYC 2017 is the incomparable playwright, actor, singer-songwriter, and performance artist Taylor Mac. Mac’s most recent work, “A 24-Decade History of Popular Music,” is a transcendent 24-hour-long marathon of American song, which the New York Times observes is “about becoming who we Americans want to be, by recognizing who we have been.”

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.