The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presented 2017 Gilder/Coigney International Theatre Award: Adelheid Roosen, co-presented with the League of Professional Theatre Women, livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Monday, October 23 at 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles).

“Only a few times in a generation does a completely original theatrical voice burst onto the scene and revolutionize the form and structure of theatre-making worldwide; Roosen is such an iconoclast,” – Melody Brooks, League of Professional Theatre Women

Adelheid Roosen’s work is best described as multidimensional social sculpture. Utilizing primarily theatrical methods, she creates performances and installations in places of great social vulnerability. Roosen’s work combines theatrical practice with a deep connection to community. Her ‘adoption technique’, in which players and writers are ‘adopted’ by members of refugee and immigrant communities for a two-week period, enable in-depth communication, and an intimate connection to collective life stories. Roosen prioritizes discovering and identifying ‘the other’ at all levels—culturally, geographically, socially, intellectually. She then uses this technique to develop theatrical performance pieces that promote empathy and understanding. Roosen’s play, The Veiled Monologues (2001), which investigated the daily life of Islamic women living in the Netherlands, has been staged internationally, and was performed before the Dutch parliament, in a nationally televised event, during the height of one of the debates on constitutional rights regarding religious minorities in the Netherlands. Her work was described as “a magnificent demonstration of the power of theater to change the terms of public debate” by Thomas Sellar, editor of Theater Magazine (Yale). In 2016, Roosen was asked to join the prestigious Academy for the Arts/The Netherlands. For the past 30 years, Roosen has taught at the Amsterdam School for Drama & Contemporary Music Theatre.

 

Previous Award Recipients:
Odile Gakire Katese (Rwanda, 2011)
Patricia Ariza (Colombia, 2014)

 

Events Schedule

Interview with Adlheid Roosen
10:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 9:30 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 7:30 a.m. - 9:00 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Curated Forum on Roosen's Work
1:00 p.m. - 2:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Conversation and Video Clips
3:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2:00 p.m. - 3:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:00 p.m. - 1:00 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Award Presentation
7:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6:00 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:00 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

 

The League of Profession Theatre Women’s Gilder/Coigney International Theatre Award was established in 2011 in honor of Rosamond Gilder and Martha Coigney, two legendary theatre women whose work on the international stage proved that theatre knows no boundaries. Presented every three years, this award acknowledges the exceptional work of women in theatre.

The 2017 League of Professional Theatre Women’s Gilder/Goigney International Theatre Awardee Adelheid Roosen was chosen from a group of six finalists: Lina Attel (Jordan), Jalila Baccar (Tunisia), Mihaela Drăgan (Romania), Natalia Kaliada (Belarus), and Jesusa Rodriguez (Mexico). The other 14 nominees are: Abir Aly (Egypt), Sarah Berger (England), Patricia Benecke (Germany), Sabina Berman (Mexico), Kate Cherry (Australia), Drenia Frederick (St. Lucia), Elena Gremina (Russia), Brigitte Helbling (Switzerland), Carmina Narro (Mexico), Julia Pascal (England), 
Marwa Radwan Mohamed (Egypt), Nan Van Houte (The Netherlands), Ilire Vinca (Kosovo), and Linda Wise (France).

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.