You’re invited to join Equity in Theatre from The Theatre Centre in Toronto, Canada for Equity in Theatre’s Symposium, a full-day event tackling underrepresentation and gender inequities in the theatre industry. EIT is livestreaming the opening and closing panels on the state of equity in Canada theatre and the brainstorming of new solutions for the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv. The Symposium is Monday, April 27, with two panels:

Welcome and Summary of Research findings, with Opening Panel Remarks on the Current State of Equity Issues and Initiatives in Canadian Theatre
7 a.m.-8:15 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 9 a.m.-10:15 a.m. CDT (Austin) / 10 a.m.–11:15 a.m. EDT (Toronto) / 15:00-16:15 BST (London).

Closing Panelist and Participant Reflections, Final Words, and Next Steps on Strategies for Moving Forward
1:30 p.m.-2:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 3:30 p.m.-4:30 p.m. CDT (Austin) / 4:30 p.m.–5:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto) / 21:30-22:30 BST (London).

To participate on Twitter, use hashtag #howlround and #EIT and direct your questions to @equityintheatre. Additionally, follow @HowlRoundTV for updates.

Equity in Theatre was borne of necessity. Recent surveys by Playwrights Guild of Canada (PGC) reveal that women do not constitute even one quarter of the playwrights produced in Canada (and the numbers for women of colour are much lower!), even though they make up half of PGC’s membership. Worse yet, over the last few years, figures demonstrate regression in rates of representation for women playwrights rather than improvement.

The purpose of the EIT initiative is to help redress and remedy existent gender inequities in the theatre industry. This is done via a multi-pronged and inclusive response that involves the community as a whole: artists, administrators, stakeholders, and audiences.

The goal of this Symposium is to collectively create an action plan for our industry to be more equitable moving forward. 

Our Panelists are:
Michele Decottignies, a multiple award-winning presenter, producer, director, designer, playwright, filmmaker, founder of Stage Left Productions, and a disability arts advocate.

Keira Loughran, an actor, director, dramaturg, award-winning playwright, and producer. Loughran was the past Artistic Producer of SummerWorks Theatre Festival, and is now in her fifth season as an associate director, dramaturg, and choreographer at Stratford Theatre Festival.

Marilo Nunez, a director, playwright, and producer, as well as the founder and Artistic Director of Almeada Theatre, a professional Latin Canadian theatre company.

Djanet Sears, an award-winning playwright, actor, director, producer, and co-founder of Obsidian Theatre, dedicated to presenting African and Caribbean Canadian theatre.

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.