Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas presented their 2018 Conference Crossing Borders livestreamed from Toronto, Canada on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Thursday 21 June to Saturday 23 June 2018.

On Twitter, follow @LMDAmericas and @HowlRound for updates. Watch the livestream at howlround.tv and on the LMDA Facebook Page.

Livestream Schedule:

Thursday 21 June

The Secret Life of Canada - Canada’s Hottest Podcasters on History and Dramaturgy 
7:10 a.m. - 8:20 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 8:10 a.m. - 9:20 a.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 9:10 a.m. - 10:20 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10:10 a.m. - 11:20 a.m. EDT (Toronto)

Speakers: Leah Simone Bowen, Falen Johnson, Erin Brandenberg (@secretlifeofCAD)

"Brilliantly conceived and executed, the series tells Canada's forgotten stories. It's funny and informative, weird and insightful — the perfect ingredients for a great podcast." - CBC Arts

“The Secret Life of Canada” is a history podcast that aims to explore all the people, places, and stories that rarely, if ever, get discussed when we talk about Canada. It was created out of co-hosts Leah Simone Bowen and Falen Johnson's love of history. Both playwrights spent time researching various stories about the people and places that make up Canada. During Canada 150 celebrations, they agreed that it was time to let Canadians know what they felt were the untold and undertold histories of Canada in an entertaining, subversive and concise way. The first episode was released in Sep 2017 and it quickly rose to the top of the Canadian iTunes charts and the rest, as they say, is herstory. Named the Best Podcast of 2017 by CBC Arts and The Globe and Mail.

 

 

Playwrights Under The Radar
10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 11 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 12 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator: Michael Evans

Panelists: Julia Bumke (Opera/Theater/Musical Dramaturg, Resident Dramaturg of Music-Theatre Group, Philadelphia); Adrian Centeno, (Literary Manager at Playwrights’ Arena); Amanda Dawson; Jacqueline Goldfinger, (Lecturer at University of Pennsylvania); Morgan Grambo, (Freelance Dramaturg & Literary Manager at Athena Project); Claire C.K. Hadley, (Freelance Dramaturge, Director, and Producer- MidWest region) Christine Quintana, (Artistic Producer of Delinquent Theatre, Vancouver); Jean Bruce Scott, (Producing Executive Director of Native Voices at the Autry, Los Angeles); Molly Marinik, (Freelance dramaturg and co-founder of Beehive Dramaturgy Studio); Yvette Nolan, (director, writer, actor based in Saskatchewan); Geoff Proehl, (Theatre Arts, University of Puget Sound); Jeremy Stoller (Director of New Work of Keen Company and Co-founder of Beehive Dramaturgy Studio, New York); Gavin Witt, (Director of Dramaturgy & Associate Director of Baltimore CenterStage; Ilana Brownstein.

You know there are a lot of really good playwrights under your radar. This session aims to change this. A passel of dramaturgs and literary managers will each get five minutes –stopwatched – to tell you why their as-yet-undiscovered playwright should be played at your theatre or read in your class. These playwrights are regionally well-known. Now they’re ready for (inter)national recognition.

 

Exploring the 2018 Bly Grant Projects
1:30 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 2:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 3:30 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4:30 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator: Brian Quirt, @NightswimmingTh (Artistic Director, Nightswimming; LMDA Board Chair; Director, Banff Centre Playwrights Lab)

Panelists: Mia Amir, (Educator, cultural organizer, writer, Independent director, dramaturg and theatre artist; Creative Director of The Story We Be; Dramaturgy Research Associate with Playwrights Theatre Centre; & Dramaturg with the Virago Play Series); Amy Brooks, @bourbonswan @RoadsideTheater @RuralArtsWeekly (Program Director & Dramaturg with Roadside Theater/Appalshop, Inc.; LMDA Regional VP, Central Appalachia; and Executive VP for Conferences); Haley Nelson, (Lobby Display Dramaturg & New Works Festival Co-Coordinator with Kitchen Dog Theater; & Freelance Dramaturg with Dallas Theater Center and Artstillery); Rose Oser, @zspace_theatre (Literary Manager at Z Space in San Francisco, & Co-Artistic Director at FaultLine Theater); Mark Bly (Teaching Artist-Dramaturg at The Acting Co. & Professor of Playwriting at Fordham/Primary Stages) and Hannah Hessel Ratner, @hanvnah (Audience Enrichment Manager with The Shakespeare Theatre Company; Producing Playwright at The Welders; & Freelance Dramaturg).

In the fourth year of LMDA's Bly Creative Capacity Grants program, 5 projects received funding. This session is devoted to introducing the 5 grant recipients and their remarkable dramaturgical projects to the membership. Each recipient will provide an overview of their project and discuss the process to be enacted during the coming year. Mark Bly, the program's patron and founder, will speak to the program as a whole and its impact over the four years of funding.

 

Friday 22 June:

 

Hot Topics
7 a.m. - 8:30 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 8 a.m. - 9:30 a.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderators: Diane Brewer, (University of Evansville) & Bryan Moore, (Concordia University)

Panelists: Deniz Basar, (University of Toronto); lo bil, (York University); Tom Bryant, (Crafton Hills College); Michael Chemers, (University of California Santa Cruz); Desiree Fernandez, (San Diego State University); Sara Freeman, (University of Puget Sound); Morgan Grambo, (University of Iowa); Mark Lord, (Bryn Mawr College and Headlong Performance Institute; Shelley Orr, (San Diego State University); Geoffrey Proehl, (University of Puget Sound); Judith Rudakoff, (York University); Shawn Sprankle, (SUNY Fredonia); & Luke Daniel White, (University of Iowa), Lauren Sullivan.

In rapid-fire format, panelists introduce diverse and exciting ideas. Sponsored by the UCaucus, this session is a long-standing tradition that aims to stimulate conversation and inspire all conference participants to engage with the hottest of topics.

 

Performing Fictional Identity: Theatre and the Politics of Sex and Gender
8:45 a.m. - 10 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 9:45 a.m. - 11 a.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 10:45 a.m. - 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:45 a.m. - 1 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator : Sky Gilbert (Poet, novelist, actor, playwright, filmmaker, theatre director, and drag queen extraordinaire, co-founder and founding artistic director of Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, & Professor of creative writing, sexuality, and Shakespeare at the School of English and Theatre Studies in Guelph)

Panelists: Mel Hague (Dramaturg at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre), Nick Green, (Dora and Sterling Award winning Playwright), Gein Wong, @geinwong (Artistic Director of Eventual Ashes, 2018 Dora Award Review Working Group, & Board of Directors for the Toronto Arts Council)

This panel will focus on issues of sexual and gender identity in theatre. Are our identities in real life, real, or imagined? In theatre, who has the right to tell what stories, and who has the right to play whom? What role can performance play in helping us examine our daily sexual and gender identities? Is there such a thing as non-binary (i.e. gender neutral) casting? Should there be? If sexual identity and gender identity are different, should they — or can they — ever be connected? As devised plays increasingly feature actors playing ‘themselves,’ are their onstage identities real? And what role does race play in all this? And privilege?

 

Crossing Borders: From the Academy into the Profession
11 a.m. - 12:15 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 12 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 1 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator: Judith Rudakoff (Dramaturg and Professor of Playwriting and Dramaturgy at York University)

Panelists: Collette Radau (Toronto-Based Emerging Dramaturg focused on new play development and devised work, editor of the PLEDGE Project database at Playwrights Guild of Canada), Aaron Jan (Dramaturgy Intern at Cahoots Theatre and was an inaugural member of Factory Theatre’s Foremen Directing Unit), Adam Corrigan Holowitz (Founding Artistic Director of AlvegoRoot Theatre Company and associate artist of Troubadour Theatre Collective and co-dramaturg for the Troubadour Playwrights Unit), Elise A. LaCroix (Masters Student at the University of Alberta, Dramaturgy Intern with the Workshop West Playwrights’ Theatre, and editorial assistant on the collection Performing Exile: Foreign Bodies), and Sabah Haque (সাবা হক, حق صباح) (Fundraising Assistant at Buddies in Bad Times Theatre, a participant in Generator’s Artist Producer Training Program, and the Creative Intern at Pandemic Theatre).

This panel will introduce five emerging dramaturgs within five years of completing their university training. Participants will share highlights of work they are currently engaged in, as well as offer practical examples of strategies and tactics for moving out of the academy and into the profession.

 

There Are No Words: Dramaturgy in Non-Text Based Projects
12:30 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 1:30 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 2:30 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator: Christophe Dupuis, @chrisdupuis (freelance curator and dramaturg)

Panelists: Amelia Ehrhardt, @dancemakersTO (choreographer, curator Dancemakers Centre for Creation), Brian Solomon, (Dancer/Choreographer) Soraya Peerbaye, (Writer/Dance dramaturg) & Evan Webber, (Performance Maker, Public Recordings)

The dramaturg is often considered “the guardian of the text”. But how does the process function with non-text based projects? What does it mean to guide the development of a work that exists in the bodies of its creators? Are there any techniques from this field that might be applied to the development of text-based works? "There Are No Words" will bring together a diverse group of thinkers from this field to discuss the function of the dramaturg in movement-based projects and different dramaturgical approaches to non-text based works.

 

Saturday 23 June:
 

Dramaturgy, Directing and Leadership - A Conversation with Anne Cattaneo and Sarah Garton Stanley
7 a.m. - 8:15 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 8 a.m. - 9:15 a.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 9 a.m. - 10:15 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. - 11:15 a.m. EDT (Toronto)

A cross-border conversation with two leading forces in theatre. Anne Cattaneo is the dramaturg of Lincoln Center Theater, the creator and head of the Lincoln Center Theater Directors Lab and a Faculty Member at Julliard. Sarah Garton Stanley is the Associate Artistic Director of English Theatre and Interim Facilitator for Indigenous Theatre at the National Arts Centre, as well as Curator for The Collaborations and leader for The Cycle(s); a creative catalyst for SpiderWebShow and a former Artistic Director of Buddies in Bad Times Theatre.

 

Director-Dramaturgs
8:30 a.m. - 10 a.m. PDT (Vancouver) / 9:30 a.m. - 11 a.m. MDT (Edmonton) / 10:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. EDT (Toronto)

Moderator : Laurel Green, Freelance Dramaturg, Director & President of LMDA Canada

Panelists: Sarah Garton Stanley (Artistic Associate, National Arts Centre), Stephen Colella (Associate Artistic Director and Dramaturg, Young People's Theatre), Jenna Rodgers (Artistic Director, Chromatic Theatre), Emma Tibaldo (Artistic and Executive Director, Playwrights Workshop Montreal), other guests TBA.

An active conversation with dramaturgs who also work as directors. Where do the borders lie between these two practices? When do we cross them? What can a dramaturgical approach offer a directing process at every stage of the production? How do our skill sets complement and complicate, inform and infuriate each other? We will explore the opportunities for this dual role, swapping stories and strategies from the intersection.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.