The Rural Policy Research Institute presents the Next Generation Rural Creative Placemaking National Summit livestreaming on the global, commons-based and peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Thursday, October 13, and Friday, October 14, 2016. See the livestream schedule below. In Twitter, follow @HowlRoundTV and use #howlround.

The Summit is designed to enhance cross-sector collaboration, elevate intercultural perspectives within the field, and build policy presence for deeper consideration of rural creative placemaking.

The event will be held  October 12-14, 2016 at the University of Iowa. This gathering will share reflections from Regional Network members, connect lessons across geographies, and build deeper cross-sector collaborations. Together, we will present a sustained argument for the centrality of rural creative placemaking—as a field, and as a strategy for development and community sustainability.

Thursday, October 13th

6:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 8:30 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. EST (New York)

Welcome from the University of Iowa

Conference Overview: RUPRI President Chuck Fluharty

Art of the Rural: Executive Director Matthew Fluharty

7:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 9:00 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m. EST (New York)

Keynote Panel: Incorporating “Rural” and “Next Generation” into Creative Placemaking Design, Policy and Practice

Moderator:

Laura Zabel, Executive Director, Springboard for the Arts, St. Paul, MN

Panel Members:

Joe Berry, Vice President of Entrepreneurship, Greater Owensboro Economic Development Organization and Kentucky Innovation Network, Owensboro, KY

Camille Ferguson, Executive Director, American Indian Alaska Native Tourism Association, Albuquerque, NM

Zach Mannheimer, Vice President of Creative Placemaking, Iowa Business Growth, Des Moines, IA

Geoff Marietta, Founder, Mountain Tech Media/ Executive Director, Pine Mountain Settlement School, Big Laurel, KY

Nikiko Masumoto, Agrarian Artist and Farmer, Masumoto Family Farm, Fresno, CA

8:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10:15 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 11:15 a.m. EST (New York)

Rural Creative Placemaking Panel I: Cross-sectoral, Intercultural and Inclusive Community and Economic Development

Moderator:

Bob Reeder, Program Director, Rural LISC, Baltimore, MD

Panel Members:

Anna Claussen, Director of Rural Strategies, Institute for Trade and Agricultural Policy, Minneapolis, MN

Ted Jojola, Founder, Indigenous Design + Planning Institute and Distinguished Professor, and Regents' Professor, University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

Amrita Ramanan, Director of Literary Development and Dramaturgy, Oregon Shakespeare Company, Ashland, OR

Michaela Paulette Shirley, Professional Intern, Indigenous Design + Planning Institute/ University of New Mexico, Albuquerque, NM

9:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:00 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12:00 p.m. EST (New York)

Pecha Kucha: Next Generation Place-based Innovations: Rural Visions, Values, and Hope for the Future

Savannah Barrett, Director of Programs, Art of the Rural, Louisville, KY

Josh May, Communications Director, Appalshop, Whitesburg, KY

Sarah Calhoun, Red Ants Pants Founder and Owner, Red Ants Pants Corporation and Festival, White Sulphur Springs, MT

Cecily Engelhart, Director of Communications, Thunder Valley CDC, Porcupine, SD

Kaziah Haviland, Enterprise Rose Architectural Fellow, Thunder Valley CDC, Porcupine, SD

Chris Lezama, Principal of Economic & Community Development, Epicenter, Green River, UT

Maria Sykes, Principal of Arts and Culture, Epicenter, Green River, UT

David Jones, Pioneer Collective Co-Founder & Visual Storyteller, Pioneer Collective, New Orleans, LA

Monique Lopez, Nuestro Lugar Project & Productive Public Space Projects, Planning Coordinator, Kounkuey Design Initiative, Oasis, CA

Joseph Kunkel, Executive Director, Sustainable Native Communities Collaborative (SNCC), Santa Fe, NM

2:00 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 4:00 p.m. CST (Chicago) / 5:00 p.m. EST (New York)

Rural Creative Placemaking Panel II: Framing an Envisioned Future forRural Creative Placemaking – What Must We Co-create and Sustain?

Moderator:

Erik Takeshita, Community Creativity Portfolio Director, Bush Foundation, St. Paul, MN

Panel Members:

Cheryal Lee Hills, Executive Director, Region Five Development Corporation, Staples, MN

Michael Rohd, Founding Director, Center for Performance and Civic Practice, Phoenix, AZ

Ada Smith, Institutional Development Director, Appalshop, Whitesburg, KY

Jeremy Staab, Program Manager, First People's Fund and the Intercultural Leadership Institute, Sioux City, IA

Ryan Taylor, Cowboy Logic and USDA Rural Development Director North Dakota, Towner, ND

Friday, October 14

7:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 9:00 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 10:00 a.m. EST (New York

USDA Secretary Tom Vilsack video presentation 

7:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 9:30 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 10:30 a.m. EST (New York)

Rural Creative Placemaking Panel III:Assuring the Inclusion of Rural Arts and Culture in Public/Private/Philanthropic Placemaking Partnerships: Lessons Learned and Guideposts for the Future

Moderator:

Chuck Fluharty, President, Rural Policy Research Institute, Iowa City, IA

Panel Members:

Jamie Bennett, Executive Director, ArtPlace America, New York, NY

Earl Gohl, Federal Co-Chair, Appalachian Regional Commission, Washington, DC

Linda Langston, Director of Strategic Relations, National Association of Counties, Washington, DC

Chris Masingill, Federal Co-Chair, Delta Regional Authority, Little Rock, AR

Doug O’Brien, Senior Policy Advisor for Rural Affairs, White House Domestic Policy Council, Washington, DC

Jason Schupbach, Director of Design Programs, National Endowment for the Arts, Washington, DC

9:00 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 11:00 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 12:00 a.m. EST (New York

Plenary: Priority Setting Dialogue/Process: What Have We Heard and Learned? What Have We Received, and What Have We to Give? What Commitments Can We Offer, Moving Forward?

About Next Generation: Through the Rural Policy Research Institute, Art of the Rural and the program’s regional and national partners, Next Generation operates through three interlinked activities: Regional Networks that spark exchange, collaboration, and dissemination of best practices; a Digital Learning Commons that shares this knowledge and contributes further perspectives from across the rural arts and culture field; and Next Generation Conferences (October 12-14, 2016) that will merge the activities of the Networks and Commons and expand the rural placemaking network.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.