The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center presented the Prelude 2017 festival livestreaming on the global, commons-based and peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday, October 4th through Friday, October 6th, 2017. See the livestream schedule below. Share your thoughts on Twitter and Instagram with #howlround@PRELUDENYC, and #PRELUDE17.

 

WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 4

TV1: Heisenberg by Janani Balasubramanian
7 p.m. EDT (New York) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Heisenberg is an audio augmented reality (AR) game about uncertainty, precision, and chaos. Players start at the beginning of time and movTV1: e through a series of matter/energy transformations, each emphasizing the limits of personal understanding—a cue from the piece’s namesake, the Heisenberg uncertainty principle—to learn a deep, fantastic secret. that’s been hiding brilliantly in plain sight.

 

THURSDAY, OCTOBER 5

TV1: Works-in-Progress
2 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Riot Antigone by Seonjae Kim: Punk energy courses through the veins of this Riot Grrrl-inspired take on Sophocles’ tragedy. In an explosive concert, a Chorus Leader and her all-grrrl band expose the power of an individual who dares to carry on a revolution on her own.

The Barbarians by Jerry Lieblich and Paul Lazar: A verbally rambunctious logorrheic encyclopedic gollywompus of a play concerning speech acts, political power, fractal geometry, eusociality, theater, and some other stuff too.

Some Kind Of Comedy with Lorelei Ramirez by Lorelei Ramirez: Lorelei Ramirez presents some kind of comedy. It’s performance, it’s comedy, it’s something. You should see it.

 

TV2: How Did You Make That? with Ariana Smart Truman, Tommy Kriegsmann
2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

A moderated discussion between prominent makers in our field. Audience members are encouraged to come with questions! How did you make that show, that venue, that movement? The more practical the question, the better. Moderated by Ryan J. Haddad.

 

TV2: New Dramaturgies with Peter Eckersall
3:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

The Graduate Center Professor of Theatre and Dramaturg Peter Eckersall will discuss artistic processes and the dramaturgy of contemporary performance making. Peter will speak about new media dramaturgy and the dramaturgical process of working with the artist Alexis Destoop on his installation/film work Phantom Sun (2017).

 

TV1: How Did You Make That? with Jaclyn Backhaus, Jennifer Kidwell, and Scott Sheppard
4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

A moderated discussion between prominent makers in our field. Audience members are encouraged to come with questions! How did you make that show, that venue, that movement? The more practical the question, the better. Moderated by Ryan J. Haddad.


 

 

TV2: Works-in-Progress
4:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

The Brobot Johnson Experience by Darian Dauchan: One hundred years from now a race of Hip Hop androids known as Brobots, from the planet Nubian, will travel through the universe to tell the origins story of the first of their kind, called The Brobot Johnson Experience, a genre bending, immersive, Sci-Fi Hip Hop solo concert that defies both space…and time.

Faces of Downtown Scene by Maria Baranova is an ongoing project that unveils makers of experimental performing arts of New York City. With a unique access to the experimental performance community, Maria Baranova expands her photographic work to portraits. Using medium format film camera, she reveals makers of Performance Art of New York.

Cabin by Sean Donovan is the newest work by dance and theater artist Sean Donovan. Through storytelling, distinct characterization, original songs, dance and video, Cabin explores the story of three queer men in a poly-amorous relationship who move from Brooklyn to a cabin in a hostile community in upstate New York. Part biography, part fiction, Cabin explores the complexity of intimacy, and the magnitude of loss.

 

TV1: New Dramaturgies with Julia Jarcho
5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Jarcho will read from her new critical book about theater and negativity, Writing and the Modern Stage: Theater Beyond Drama (Cambridge University Press, 2017). Then she will read from her current play-in-progress, Pathetic, a free adaptation of Racine’s Phèdre.

 

TV1: That Went Like This and This Went Like That with Daniel Alexander Jones
6 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Daniel Alexander Jones convenes an intergenerational conversation among several members of one extended-family-constellation of artists of color in avant-garde performance and experimental theatre. A conjuring. An invitation to communion. A dance among alternate histories, rumors, and surprising connections. A little bit of fussing. A chance to ask Robbie’s question, “who are your people?” and to wonder, together, “why does it matter?”

 

TV2: AYN RAND: Trauma Response by The Builders Association
6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

AYN RAND: Trauma Response looks at the life of the controversial writer Ayn Rand and examines how an immigrant striver became one of America’s most influential thinkers. Rand’s philosophy of selfishness and her ideas about free-market capitalism shaped US and world economic policy, helping usher in the age of Trump and Brexit.

 

TV1: Fire on the Mountain by Renegade Performance Group/André M. Zachery
8 p.m. EDT (New York) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Fire on the Mountain is a reintroduction of James Baldwin’s texts through a reclamation of punk as an innovative art form of Black culture. The work removes nothing – but adds everything.

 

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 6

 

TV2: Works-in-Progress
2 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Three Rooms by Sister Sylvester/Kathryn Hamilton, Amal Omran, and Hatem Hadawe is a live skype-film that takes place simultaneously in Istanbul, New York and Paris, with one performer in each location.

You’re Going to Hell if You Laugh by Jessy Yates and Holly Kristina Goldstein: A amputee bear, a vegetable, and Cerebral Pussy flail into a tea party…

Cute Activist by Milo Cramer with new Saloon: In a spoOoOoky town in mythical Connecticut, a shadow-y underground ring of activists do battle with a baroque local Landlorde. Only True Love’s Kiss can save the town economy. A pastel fable about apathy.

 

TV1: Making Space: A Survey of the Places Where Work is Made with Danielle King, Lower Manhattan Cultural Council
2:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco)

The Lower Manhattan Cultural Council partners with PRELUDE on a data experiment. We will survey PRELUDE artists, past and present, to come to a better understanding of where work is made. During this session, we will review the findings together and discuss what creative spaces are—or were—critical to this field.

 

TV1: New Dramaturgies with Jill Stevenson
3:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Jill will discuss how her research into religious performance has entailed using her own body as a platform for dramaturgical analysis. Physical encounters with a performance generate strong sensations that constitute evidence of how that event makes religious meaning. Attending to how those sensations impact her body physically and then critically interrogating them has therefore been fundamental to Jill’s work. She will discuss how she has done this to illuminate sacred performances from the present and the historical past.

 

TV2: How Did You Make That? with Jacob Padrón and Melanie Joseph
4 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

A moderated discussion between prominent makers in our field. Audience members are encouraged to come with questions! How did you make that show, that venue, that movement? The more practical the question, the better. Moderated by Ryan J. Haddad.

 

TV1: Works-in-Progress
4:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

The Illusion & The Aftermath by Temporary Distortion: A six-hour contemplative performance of live music for a meditating audience. Meditation cushions and headphones with volume control are provided for the audience to come and go as they wish, staying for only as long as they would like. For someone in the room without headphones, the performance is virtually silent.

The Illusion & The Aftermath will be performed continuously, for six hours, in the Elebash Lobby from 2:00PM to 8:00PM on Friday, October 6th. Temporary Distortion will talk about the piece at 4:30PM in the Elebash Recital Hall.

Unexploded Ordnances (UXO) by Split Britches (Peggy Shaw, Lois Weaver): Combining a Dr Strangelove-inspired performance with a daring forum for public conversation, Unexploded Ordnances (UXO) explores ageing, anxiety, hidden desires and how to look forward when the future is uncertain.

A Period of Animate Existence by Pig Iron Theatre Co: Children, elders, and machines contemplate the future in a time of dire predictions and rapid technological change in this work of symphonic theater conceived by composer/filmmaker Troy Herion, scenic designer Mimi Lien, and director Dan Rothenberg.

 

TV2: New Dramaturgies with Patricia Ybarra
5 p.m. EDT (New York) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

This presentation will examine how Young Jean Lee’s Straight White Men explores changes in labor and attendant conceptions of white grievance and selfhood in the 21st century. The crucial nature of this play in our contemporary moment will explored in relation to current events.

 

TV2: How Did You Make That? with Noel Allain and Moisés Kaufman
6 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

A moderated discussion between prominent makers in our field. Audience members are encouraged to come with questions! How did you make that show, that venue, that movement? The more practical the question, the better. Moderated by Ryan J. Haddad.

 

TV1: Electric Lucifer by Jim Findlay
6:30 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Electric Lucifer is an electronic rock opera about suffering and redemption. Or something like that.

 

TV2: The Bumps by Rachel Kauder Nalebuff
8 p.m. EDT (New York) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

The Bumps

 is a play about grappling with the unknown, made for a cast of pregnant performers. Actors begin by playing three women in a waiting room in the 80’s and then, a generation later, their grown-up daughters in an underwater aerobics class today. Interwoven throughout in atmospheric interludes, performers reflect on their present experiences.