The Martin E. Segal Theatre Center in New York City presents World Voices: International Play Festival 2017 livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv  Monday, May 1 - Sunday, May 7.

As part of the 2017 PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature, The Segal Center will showcase play readings by nine of the world’s most respected dramatists. With the writers hailing from five different continents, the International Play Festival generates a conversation on art, politics, dreams, war, and philosophy, meant to give American audiences a rich awareness of the greater global dialogue. All readings will be followed by discussion with the playwright.

Shit
4:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Patricia Cornelius (Australia)
Directed by Katie Pearl

Take out the Rubbish, Sasha
6:00 p.m. 
EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Natal’ya Vorozhbit (Ukraine) & translated by Sasha Dugdale
Directed by Sarah Hughes

Hungry Dogs
8:00 p.m
EDT (New York) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Written by Mîrza Metîn (Turkey) & translated by Lucy Wood
Directed by Dan Safer


Tuesday, May 2 | Segal Theatre

TranScenes: Four Short Plays from Brazil
4:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Curated by Marcia Zanelatto (Brazil) & translated by Emily Walsh
Directed by Katherine Brook
Works by Marcia Zanelatto (Curator), Jô Bilac, Daniela Pereira de Carvalho, and Joaquim Vicente.

Ticha-Ticha
6:00 p.m. 
EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Hakim Bah (Guinea) & translated by Heather Denyer
Directed by Ethan McSweeney

Meteorites 
8:00 p.mEDT (New York) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Sasha Marianna Salzmann (Germany) & translated by Jenny Piening
Directed by Mallory Catlett

Sunday, May 7 | Nuyorican Poets Cafe (236 E 3rd Street, Second Avenue/F Train)

Desert of Light
4:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 3 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 1 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Rama Haydar (Syria)
Translated by Rama Haydar & Rebekah Maggor
Directed by Rebekah Maggor

Parallel Time
6:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)
Written by Bashar Murkus (Palestine) & translated by Rebekah Maggor
Directed by Rebekah Maggor

Sister Mok-Rahn
8:00 p.mEDT (New York) / 7 p.m. CDT (Chicago) / 5 p.m. PDT (San Francisco)

Written by Eunsung Kim (South Korea) & translated by Dayoung Jeong
Directed by Seonjae Kim 

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival 2017 has been made possible by the support of Susan and Jack Rudin(†) and Marvin Carlson, Sidney E. Cohn Chair, The Graduate Center CUNY.

The PEN World Voices: International Play Festival was conceived, created, and curated by Frank Hentschker since 2007 in collaboration with PEN World Voices Festival. The 2017 Festival produced by Brooke Christensen (New York) in collaboration with Frank Hentschker and Antje Oegel. Co-curated by Antje Oegel. Assistant Curator: Soriya K. Chum.

The 2017 PEN World Voices Festival of International Literature: Gender and Power takes place from May 1 through May 7, 2017. This year’s festival gathers more than 100 writers and artists brought in from all over the world together with the United States’ leading literary and cultural luminaries to address the most pressing issues of the day—freedom of expression, international conflict, immigration and displacement, genocide, mass incarceration, race, policing, and women’s quality.

Founded by Michael Roberts, Esther Allen, and Salman Rushdie in the aftermath of September 11, 2001, PEN World Voices is the only international literary festival in the world with a human rights focus. It attracts the world’s best-known writers and has garnered broad global acclaim as one of the world’s premier literary events. Since its founding 12 years ago, PEN World Voices has presented more than 1,500 writers and artists from 110 countries, speaking 56 languages. www.penworldvoices.org

For the first time this year, the 2017 PEN World Voices Festival’s programming will reflect the vision of a diverse team of curators to explore the breadth of gender and power in all its dimensions. Chaired by Rob Spillman, founding editor of Tin House, the curatorial team includes Susan Bernofsky, Jennifer Finney Boylan, Kim Chan, Ram Devineni, Mona Eltahawy, Marlon James, Saeed Jones, Meg Lemke, Valeria Luiselli, Paul Morris, Chinelo Okparanta, Steph Opitz, Clarisse Rosaz Shariyf, and Andy Tepper.
Suzanne Nossel, Executive Director of PEN America.

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.