artplace america logo

ArtPlace America hosted the 2014 Creative Placemaking Grantee Summit in Los Angeles livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at from Monday 3 March to Wednesday 5 March. Watch the livestream and participate via Twitter hashtag #ArtPlace

Are you passionate about the intersection of arts and place?
Do you want to learn more about the evolving creative placemaking movement?

Join us Monday 3 March to Wednesday 5 March 2014 via HowlRound.TV and via Twitter hashtag #ArtPlace.

The ArtPlace Grantee Summit provides a platform to engage in conversations about the “who” and “why,” and the “how” and “what for” of creative placemaking. During the Grantee Summit, attendees shared their knowledge and best ideas for putting the arts at the center of a set of strategies to transform the character of communities.

Attending the Summit via webcast offers an unprecedented opportunity to understand the range of work happening around creative placemaking across the country. By learning and sharing collective victories, challenges, and issues with a group of like-minded colleagues and peers, we grow knowledge and understanding of the field.

How to Watch
Tune in online in real-time:

Join the Conversation
Follow us on Twitter @ArtPlaceAmerica and use hashtag #ArtPlace. Additionally, follow @HowlRound and @HowlRoundTV for updates.

Comment and respond on ArtPlace America's Facebook page.

View the complete #ArtPlace Twitter Archive for the Summit here in Storify—

Consider Hosting a Watch Party
Project the livestream or play it on a TV monitor. Invite your friends and colleagues to watch, discuss, and participate in-person as the conference livestreams Monday through Wednesday. Participate in online discussion via the Twitter hashtag #ArtPlace. Let us know you are gathered, tweet a picture!

Check out the most up to date version of the schedule here: 2014 ArtPlace America Grantee Summit – Livestream Schedule as well as posted here below:

Welcome to Los Angeles & Introduction of ArtPlace’s Strategic Vision
Monday 3 March at 2 p.m.-3:30 p.m. PST / 4 p.m.-5:30 p.m. CST / 5 p.m.-6:30 p.m. EST

Doane Liu, Deputy Mayor, City of Los Angeles, CA
Josephine Ramirez, Program Director/Arts, Irvine Foundation
Rip Rapson, President, Kresge Foundation & Chair, ArtPlace America
Jamie Bennett, Executive Director, ArtPlace America

Deputy Mayor Doane Liu and Josephine Ramirez of California’s Irvine Foundation will welcome participants to Los Angeles. Rip Rapson, Chair of ArtPlace America, will introduce new Executive Director, Jamie Bennett, who will provide his vision for the coming years.

A Creative Placemaking Commons
Monday 3 March at 3:45 p.m.-5:45 p.m. PST / 5:45 p.m.-7:45 p.m. CST / 6:45 p.m.-8:45 p.m. EST

P. Carl, Director & Editor, HowlRound: A Center for the Theater Commons
David Dower, Director of Artistic Programs, ArtsEmerson

Since its beginning three years ago, HowlRound has explored the idea of creating a ‘theater commons’ through online communication platforms and in-person gatherings. Using the commons frame of accessibility, inclusivity, and positive inquiry, the HowlRound co-founders will share the tools of the commons as they relate to the work of building a knowledge commons for creative placemaking. Using the simple idea of matching needs to resources participants will have the opportunity to work together to create a commons in action—sharing insights and learning in real time.


Opening Plenary & Strong Field Conversation
Tuesday 4 March at 8:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. PST / 10:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. CST / 11:30 a.m.-1:30 p.m. EST

Moderator: Don Howard, Interim CEO, Irvine Foundation
Chris Beck, Senior Project Advisor, Rural Development, U.S. Department of Agriculture
Tracy Taft, Executive Director, International Sonoran Desert Alliance
Dixon Slingerland, Executive Director, Youth Policy Institute
Additional TBA

Government and project representatives will be present to explore the recently announced Promise Zone in Los Angeles and the work of the International Sonoran Desert Alliance in Ajo, AZ in the context of how creative placemaking projects can align with and navigate the priorities of federal programs.

Following this panel, Don Howard will moderate an interactive discussion on field building in the creative placemaking movement.


Breakout Session: Performance, Temporary, and the Art of the Ephemeral
Tuesday 4 March at 11 a.m.-12 p.m. PST / 1 p.m.-2 p.m. CST / 2 p.m.-3 p.m. EST

Leslie Koch, President, The Trust for Governors Island
Jim Lasko, Executive Artistic Director, Redmoon Theater

This session will explore the connection between short-term interventions and long-term impact. From the single event to the ritual activity to the temporary enterprise, what are the challenges and opportunities in temporary or periodic programming for placemaking?


In(tention)s + Out(come)s of Placemaking
Tuesday 4 March at 1:15 p.m.-2:15 p.m. PST / 3:15 p.m.-4:15 p.m. CST / 4:15 p.m.-5:15 p.m. EST

Moderator: Lyz Crane, Deputy Director, ArtPlace America
Kimberly Driggins, Associate Director, Citywide Planning, DC Office of Planning
Brian Friedman, Executive Director, Northeast Shores Development Corporation
Prema Katari Gupta, Director of Planning & Economic Development, University City District
Jordan Poole, Executive Director, Paradise Garden Foundation
Laura Zabel, Executive Director, Springboard for the Arts

This session will reframe the conversation about impact and evaluation in creative placemaking around two basic questions: what is it you are trying to change, and how will you know if you have changed it? Five grantees will share their stories about how they have used data and storytelling to track their own changes around topics such as community narrative, revitalization, planning, and the use of public space.


Breakout Session: In(tention)s + Out(come)s of Placemaking
Tuesday 4 March at 2:15 p.m.-3:15 p.m. PST / 4:15 p.m.-5:15 p.m. CST / 5:15 p.m.-6:15 p.m. EST

Laura Zabel, Executive Director, Springboard for the Arts


People and Place, People in Place
Tuesday 4 March at 3:45 p.m.-5:45 p.m. PST / 5:45 p.m.-7:45 p.m. CST / 6:45 p.m.-8:45 p.m. EST

Moderator: Jamie Bennett, Executive Director, ArtPlace America
Thom Mayne, Principal, Morphosis; Studio Thom Mayne / The Now Institute
Manuel Pastor, Professor of Sociology and American Studies & Ethnicity, University of Southern California

Places are made of people, and creative placemaking by definition works across multiple layers in place. Mayne will discuss The Now Institute’s SUPRASTUDIO, which considers the social, cultural, historical, economic, and political layers in generating relevant place-based design. Pastor will then provide additional thoughts on the ways that people influence place, place influences people, and the non-static nature of people and places.

Following these presentations, participants will be invited to engage in discussion on the intersection of people and creative placemaking.


Creative Placemaking Town Hall
Wednesday 5 March at 9 a.m.-10:30 a.m. PST / 11 a.m.-12:30 p.m. CST / 12 p.m.-1:30 p.m. EST

Jamie Bennett, Executive Director, ArtPlace America
Maria Rosario Jackson, Senior Advisor, The Kresge Foundation

Jamie Bennett and Maria Rosario Jackson will lead all participants in open dialogue about ideas and opportunities for the future of a Creative Placemaking Commons.


About ArtPlace America
ArtPlace America is a collaboration of 13 leading national and regional foundations and six of the nation’s largest banks. ArtPlace America also seeks advice and counsel from close working relationships with various federal agencies, including the National Endowment for the Arts, the departments of Housing and Urban Development, Health and Human Services, Agriculture, Education, and Transportation, along with leadership from the White House Office of Management and Budget and the Domestic Policy Council.

ArtPlace America is investing in art and culture at the heart of a portfolio of integrated strategies that can drive vibrancy and diversity so powerful that it transforms communities. To date, ArtPlace America has awarded 134 grants to 124 organizations in more than 79 communities across the U.S. for a total of $42.1 million.

Participating foundations include Bloomberg Philanthropies, The Ford Foundation, The James Irvine Foundation, The John S. and James L. Knight Foundation, The Kresge Foundation, The McKnight Foundation, The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, The William Penn Foundation, The Rockefeller Foundation, Rasmuson Foundation, The Surdna Foundation and two anonymous donors.

ArtPlace America funds in all 50 states and U.S. territories. Certain ArtPlace America funders have a deep commitment to their local communities and have provided funding for specific states or communities.  Currently, these include: Akron, Charlotte, Detroit, Macon, Miami, New York City, Philadelphia, San Jose, and St. Paul, as well as communities in Alaska, Arizona, California, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington and Wisconsin. Therefore, we particularly invite projects in these areas, although applications are welcome and grants are awarded to projects from all across the US. We continue to expand our funding with the goal of supporting the broadest possible geographic array of communities.

Funds committed to ArtPlace America are overseen by the Nonprofit Finance Fund, a nonprofit lender and financial consulting organization that serves as investment and grant manager for the collaboration.

ArtPlace America is also supported by a $12 million loan fund capitalized by six major financial institutions and managed by the Nonprofit Finance Fund. Participating institutions are Bank of America, Citi, Deutsche Bank, Chase, MetLife and Morgan Stanley.

ArtPlace America works to accelerate creative placemaking by making grants and loans; by striking important partnerships with those who share our passion; with solid but imaginative research; and with communication and advocacy that we hope will influence others to engage in this work.


About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). You can become a producer and co-produce with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRound on Twitter, email, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.