Theatre Communications Group and the Laboratory for Global Performance and Politics (the Lab) present a Global Pre-Conference livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV at howlround.tv on Wednesday, June 22, 2016 from Georgetown University in Washington, DC. Share your thoughts and media with #tcg16 and #howlround, and follow @TCG and @HowlRoundTV in Twitter for updates. 

As an introduction to Theatre Nation, the Global Pre-Conference embodies our collective pursuit of a highly participatory, inclusive nation without borders that includes and celebrates all theatre citizens. The theme for the Pre-Conference is Finding Home: Migration, Exile, and Belonging.

Curated by the Global Theater Initiative (GTI), a newly-formed partnership between TCG and the Lab, the Global Pre-Conference will include a range of international guests from around the world, in dialogue with artists and leaders from across the country.

Through a dynamic and innovative range of performances, workshops, and discussions, we will explore together the value of meaningful cultural exchange in the context of an increasingly polarized world, beset by so many forms of conflict and crisis (geopolitical, humanitarian, environmental, etc.). Our hope is that the alliances we make across these borders will help strengthen and inspire us to together identify and face the most pressing issues in our field and in our world.

Official welcome
9:45 a.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 6:45 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 13:45 GMT / 2:45 p.m. BST (London) / 15:45 CEST (Berlin) / 16:45 EEST (Beirut)

Shelter
Conceived and written by Marissa Chibas, directed by Martín Acosta

10:15 a.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 7:15 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 14:15 GMT / 3:15 p.m. BST (London) / 16:15 CEST (Berlin) / 17:15 EEST (Beirut)

A movement-based theatrical performance that shares stories of the massive human crisis of unaccompanied minors crossing the US border and passing through the US deportation shelter system, unraveling the painful truths of immigration.

A project of CalArts Center for New Performance/Duende CalArts, Shelter "goes after the heart of displacement by delving into the human crisis of immigration," said American Theatre magazine. 

Humanizing Exile: A Creative Response, moderated by Nadia Oweidat, New American (USA/Jordan)
11:30 a.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 8:30 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 15:30 GMT / 4:30 p.m. BST (London) / 17:30 CEST (Berlin) / 18:30 EEST (Beirut)

We, as a global theatre community, are reaching a critical mass of exiled artists. Our day will kick off with a forum that weaves a range of theatrical excerpts with discussion about theatre that documents exile and migration. What are the conditions and parameters about which exiled artists can and can’t discuss? How have these artists navigated those challenges? How has their worked changed? How do non-exiled artists document individuals who have migrated or been exiled?

Participants include:
Martín Acosta, Director (Mexico)
Marissa Chibas, Playwright and Head of Duende CalArts (USA)
Natalia Koliada, Founding Co-Artistic Director, Belarus Free Theatre (Belarus)
Torange Yeghiazarian, Founding Artistic Director, Golden Thread Productions (USA)
Wendy Young, President, Kids in Need of Defense (USA)

Race, Colonization & Art: An Afro-Global Perspective, moderated by Sonja Parks, Actor, Activist, Educator, and TCG Fox Actor Fellow (USA)
1:45 p.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 10:45 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 17:45 GMT / 6:45 p.m. BST (London) / 19:45 CEST (Berlin) / 20:45 EEST (Beirut)

Countries across the globe acknowledge and celebrate their artists and artistic achievements with national festivals, correctly highlighting the invaluable contribution of the arts to (a) society's development; but if entire groups of people aren't represented, what is being said about the value of that group’s contribution? Colonization has made racism a global entity and it is no less present in the arts. This panel will be an intergenerational, multi-disciplinary, international discussion with practitioners from the US and abroad exploring the question of racism in the arts from an Afro-Global perspective.

Participants include:
Josette Bushell-Mingo, OBE, Actress and Director of African descent (UK/Sweden) 
Nike Jonah, Producer and International Thought Leader on Diversity and Creative Industries (UK) 
Lloyd Nyikadzino, Actor, Director, and Coordinator of the Zimbabwe Center of ITI (Zimbabwe) 
Julius Tennon, Actor and Producer (USA) 
Manuel Viveros, Director and Professor of Theatre, Universidad del Vall (Colombia)

History and Home, moderated by Catherine Coray, Director Middle East-US Playwright Exchange, The Lark (USA)
3:15 p.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 12:15 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 19:15 GMT / 8:15 p.m. BST (London) / 21:15 CEST (Berlin) / 22:15 EEST (Beirut)

As we, as a global nation, face crises related to issues of race, poverty, and oppression of various kinds (economic, cultural, etc.), many playwrights are turning to history as a way to engage with the present tense. Join this extraordinary panel as we explore how cultural, national, and personal histories are used as a basis for understanding our present home.

Participants include:
Kyoung Park , Artistic Director, Kyoung's Pacific Beat (USA/Chile) 
Heather Raffo, Iraqi American playwright and actor, 9 Parts of Desire (USA) 
Fabio Rubiano, Dramaturgo y director, Teatro Petra (Colombia)

Prevented Performances, moderated by Diane Rodriguez, Associate Artistic Director, Center Theatre Group (USA)
7:30 p.m. EDT (Washington, DC) / 4:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 23:30 GMT / 00:30 BST (London) / 01:30 CEST (Berlin) / 02:30 EEST (Beirut)
This TED talk-inspired forum will focus on a range of performances in different contexts that due to political circumstances have not been able to be presented, and will showcase the works themselves that have been prevented as well as the complex reasons behind those decisions. The event will include curated discussions, performances, and dynamic speakers woven together in which a wide range of participants will share their work, their process, the challenges they have faced, and potential solutions.

Participants include:
Nabil al-Raee, Artistic Director, Freedom Theatre, Jenin Refugee Camp (Palestine)
Reem Alsayyah, Actress (Syria)
Mohamed Aly Ansar, Executive Director, Festival in the Desert (Mali)
Cristina Bejan, Artistic Director, Bucharest Inside the Beltway (USA)
Robert Duffley, Publications & Artistic Programs Associate, American Repertory Theater (USA)
Derek Goldman, Co-Founding Director, The Lab (USA)
Motti Lerner, Playwright (Israel)
Peter Marks, Lead Critic, The Washington Post (USA) 
Dijana Milošević, Director, DAH Teatar (Serbia)
Ivana Milenovic Popovic, Actress, DAH Teatar (Serbia)
Lloyd Nyikadzino, International Theater Institute (Zimbabwe) 
Ari Roth, Artistic Director, Mosaic Theater Company (USA)
Cynthia P. Schneider, Co-Founding Director, The Lab (USA)
Howard Shalwitz, Artistic Director, Wooly Mammoth Theatre Company (USA)
Yury Urnov, Director (Russia) 
Gideon Wabvuta, Actor (Zimbabwe)

 

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by HowlRound, a knowledge commons by and for the theatre, arts, and cultural community. The channel is at howlround.tv and is a free and shared resource for live events and performances relevant to the world's live arts fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Follow and use hashtag #howlround in Twitter to participate in a community of peers revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field. Our community uses the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0). Become a producer and co-produce with us by going to our participate page. For any other queries, contact @HowlRoundTV on Twitter, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 9176863185 Signal/WhatsApp. Host a watch party and let us know about it. Click here to see past programming.