Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Saturday 25 January at 6:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 8:30 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m. EST (New York).

Saturday 25 January 2014

Boston Arts & Culture Public Hearing at the Boston Public Library

Saturday 25 January 2014

Join us for an Arts and Culture Public Hearing livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Saturday 25 January at 6:30 a.m.-8:30 a.m. PST (San Francisco) / 8:30 a.m.-10:30 a.m. CST (Chicago) / 9:30 a.m.-11:30 a.m. EST (New York).

 

 

See Storify archive of all #bosarts tweets during the public hearing—

The Arts and Culture Public Hearing on HowlRound TV livestreamed from the Boston Public Library's Central Library's Rabb Lecture Hall. Boston residents shared their ideas with the Art and Culture working group about how they would improve the City of Boston. These ideas were collected and integrated into a final presentation that the working group would share with newly elected Mayor Martin J. Walsh at the end of January. Use the hashtag #bosarts to add your voice to the conversation!

 

Thumbnail

The Arts and Culture working group includes:

Team Leaders

  • Gary Dunning, Executive Director, Celebrity Series of Boston
  • Cuong Hoang, Director of Programs, Mott Philanthropic

Members

  • Marie-Hélène Bernard, Executive Director/CEO, Handel and Haydn Society
  • Kathy Bitetti, Artist, Curator, Co-Founder of MA Artists Leadership Coalition
  • Eoin F. Cannon, Lecturer in History and Literature, Harvard University
  • Carole Charnow, President and CEO, Boston Children’s Museum
  • Bob Couture, Vice President/Chief Negotiator, Boston Musicians' Association
  • Amit Dixit, Executive Director, South Asian Arts Council
  • David Dower, Director of Artistic Programs, ArtsEmerson
  • Rosanne Foley, Communications and Social Media Manager, Upham’s Corner ArtPlace
  • Ifé Franklin, Arts Educator
  • Edmund Barry Gaither, ED and Museum Director, National Center of Afro-American Artists
  • Melissa J. Graham, Managing Director, Boston City Singers
  • Lucas H. Guerra, Principal/Creative Director, ARGUS
  • Tito Jackson, Boston City Councilor
  • Hubie Jones, Dean, Boston University School of Social Work, Boston Children’s Chorus, Social Entrepreneur in Residence
  • Joyce Linehan, Director, Ashmont Media
  • Derek Lumpkins, Executive Director, Discover Roxbury
  • Christine McMahon, Executive Director, Claddagh Fund (Dropkick Murphys)
  • Kim Noltemy, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer, Boston Symphony Orchestra
  • Gladys Oliveras, Founder, Casa de la Culture
  • Destiny Palmer, Adjunct Teacher, Boston Arts Academy
  • Catherine Peterson, Executive Director, ArtsBoston
  • Deborah Porter, Founder/Executive Director, Boston Book Festival
  • Bruce Rossley, Former Commissioner, Mayor’s Office of Arts and Humanities
  • Gabrielle Schaffner, Executive Director, Fort Point Arts Community
  • San San Wong, Senior Program Officer, Barr Foundation

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First