Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page Friday 24 March at 3:00 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 6:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 22:00 GMT-UTC (London) / 23:00 CET (Berlin). 

Boston, MA, United States
Friday 24 March 2017

Add to Calendar

Conversation Claudia Rankine: On Whiteness

Produced With
Friday 24 March 2017

 

Thumbnail

 

ArtsEmerson in Boston presented the conversation Claudia Rankine: On Whiteness livestreamed on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv Friday 24 March at 3:00 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles) / 6:00 p.m. EDT (New York) / 22:00 GMT-UTC (London) / 23:00 CET (Berlin). 

On Twitter, follow @ArtsEmerson and #howlround

 

Read the live transcript here

MacArthur Foundation Fellow and acclaimed author Claudia Rankine will present an investigation of the historically unquestioned role whiteness plays in race relations and will be followed by a Q&A with Rankine and ArtsEmerson Co-Artistic Director, P. Carl.

"Given that the concept of racial hierarchy is a strategy employed to support white dominance, whiteness is an important aspect of any conversation about race. This talk will make visible that which has been intentionally presented as inevitable so that we can move forward into more revelatory conversations about race.”—Claudia Rankine

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark