Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Friday 19 and Saturday 20 June 2020.

North America
Friday 19 - Saturday 20 June 2020

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas Conference 2020

Crossing Borders Pt. 3: On the (Digital) Threshold

Friday 19 - Saturday 20 June 2020

Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas presented Crossing Borders, Pt 3: On the (Digital) Threshold livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Friday 19 and Saturday 20 June 2020.

This project is supported in part by an award from
National Endowment for the Arts

To find out more about how National Endowment for the Arts grants impact individuals and communities,
visit www.arts.gov

SCHEDULE

Friday 19 June 2020
8 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 9 a.m. MDT (Denver, UTC-6) / 10 a.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 11 a.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4)

Dramaturging the Phoenix
Jess Applebaum, Ken Cerniglia, Heather Helinsky, Anne Morgan. In the wake of the global theatre shutdown brought about by COVID-19, LMDA challenged its members to imagine what might emerge from the ashes with an essay prompt titled Dramaturging the Phoenix. The call has elicited over 50 wonderfully diverse reflections on this unique time and its effect on and potential for our art. As the conversation continues to expand and deepen, we’ll be kicking off LMDA’s 35th annual (and first virtual) conference with a roundtable discussion of the dramaturgical phoenixes rising within and around us.

12:30 p.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 1:30 p.m. MDT (Denver, UTC-6) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 3:30 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4)

Playwrights Under the Radar
sponsored by Agency for the Performing Arts
Hosted by Bryan Moore

Speakers will spread the word about one of "their" playwrights -- maybe one they've worked with or want to work with, or maybe one whose plays they just love -- but who may not yet be on the national or international radar.
Using the popular Hot Topics format, each presenter will get five minutes to sing the praises of a playwright they believe deserves a spot in the big leagues. Come discover a new "favorite," and help spread the word.

Catherine Ballachey
President, LMDA Canada

Susanna Bezooyen
Brigham Young University

Art Borreca
Co-Head, Dramaturgy & Playwrights Workshop
The University of Iowa

Laura Butchy
Freelance Dramaturg and Professor

Ann-Marie Dittmann
Freelance Dramaturg

Jacqueline Goldfinger
Playwright and Freelance Dramaturg
Founder of Page by Page

Giulianna Marchese
Literary Manager, Red Theater
Freelance Dramaturg

Jen Plants
Faculty Associate, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Adin Walker
Freelance Director, Choreographer, & Dramaturg
PhD Candidate, Stanford University

Saturday 20 June 2020
9:10 a.m. PDT (Los Angeles, UTC-7) / 10:10 a.m. MDT (Denver, UTC-6) / 11:10 a.m. CDT (Mexico City, UTC-5) / 12:10 p.m. EDT (Toronto, UTC-4)

Hot Topics
sponsored by Nightswimming
Hosted by Michael Chemers

HOT TOPICS IS BACK AND HOTTER THAN EVER! Hot Presenters at the 2020 LMDA conference will talk about a provocative question, assertion, issue, or project with which they are currently (passionately) engaged to initiate conversations and collaborations, or to address pressing issues for dramaturgy. Speakers have just five minutes each to open a door onto their topic. The strict time limit allows for multiple presentations and follow-up conversations. It also requires careful preparation.

Judith Rudakoff
“Re-Envisioning The Ashley Plays in the time of COVID-19”

Amber Bradshaw
“New Play Dramaturgs as Radical Disrupters (in the time of COVID-19)”

Michael Evans
“Broadening the Field”

Sara Freeman
“Projects in Dramaturgy: A curricular structure for exploration and engagement”

Catherine Ballachey
"Proving Myself Wrong”

Kalen Stockton
“Dramaturgical Pedagogy: A Case Study”

Adrian Centeno
“The Dramaturgy of Grief”

Michael M. Chemers
“The Dramaturgy of Loss, and Recovery”

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

2
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First