Livestreaming on this page on Tuesday 26 March 2019 at 6 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 a.m. EDT (Boston). 

Boston, Massachusetts
Tuesday 26 March 2019

Livestreaming Creativity Connects: MASSCreative Arts Advocacy Day

Hosted by ArtsEmerson in Boston

Produced With
Tuesday 26 March 2019

MASSCreative presents Creativity Connects: MASSCreative Arts Advocacy Day livestreaming on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Tuesday 26 March 2019 at 6 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 a.m. EDT (Boston).

On Tuesday 26 March 2019, the creative community will come together for Creativity Connects: MASSCreative Arts Advocacy Day to show our state political leaders that arts and creativity should be an expected, recognized, and valued part of everyday life.

We will be livestreaming from the Emerson Paramount Center in downtown Boston. After a morning of connecting with friends and colleagues, celebrating arts & culture, and sharpening our advocacy skills at the Paramount, we will march together to the State House. When we arrive, we will meet with our legislators about arts and cultural issues, including the state budget, arts education, and creative placemaking. 

Registration, breakfast, socializing at Emerson Paramount Center, Boston
6 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 8 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 9 a.m. EDT (Boston)

Program
7 a.m. PDT (San Francisco) / 9 a.m. CDT (Chicago) / 10 a.m. EDT (Boston)

Welcome:

  • David Howse, Executive Director, ArtsEmerson
  • Anita Walker, Executive Director, Mass Cultural Council

MASSCreative Policy Platform and Policy Briefings:

  • Access and participation to creativity for all
  • Strong and vibrant communities
  • Educated and well-rounded young people
  • Robust economy and supported creative workforce
  • Healthy and happy people
  • Strong and vibrant communities

Performances, including:

  • Youth musicians from Josiah Quincy Orchestra Program and Summer Street Brass Band

Sample legislative meeting role-play

  • Representative Mary Keefe (D-Worcester)
  • Erin Williams, Cultural Development Officer, City of Worcester

Huddle and plan for your legislative meetings with other arts advocates from your district

March from Emerson Paramount Center to the MA State House (with street bands!)

  • Boston Area Brigade of Activist Musicians (BABAM!)
  • Keytar Bear
  • Rara Bel Poze
  • Summer Street Brass Band 

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First