Livestreaming on this page from Tuesday 10 December to Friday 13 December 2019.

New Orleans, Louisiana
Tuesday 10 December - Friday 13 December 2019

Livestreaming the National Performance Network Annual Conference 2019

from New Orleans, Louisiana

Tuesday 10 December - Friday 13 December 2019

The National Performance Network presents their 2019 Annual Conference livestreaming from New Orleans on the global, commons-based peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Tuesday 10 December to Friday 13 December 2019. Add to Google calendar

Every year, we bring together 350+ arts leaders from around the country for a creative exchange of ideas and experiences centered on advancing racial and cultural justice through the arts. 

This year is particularly exciting for us – our national office has been located in New Orleans for nearly two decades, and we’re thrilled to showcase our home community through plenaries, workshops, performances, tours and special events. Come ready to learn, connect and be inspired by our vibrant community.

Tuesday 10 December

Opening Reception
6 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 8 p.m. - 8:30 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 9 p.m. - 9:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

The National Performance Network is thrilled to welcome you to our Annual Conference in New Orleans! 

There will be a special excerpt performance from the NPN Creation Fund project, Taco Truck Theater / Teatro Sin Fronteras by José Torres-Tama & ArteFuturo Productions

Wednesday 11 December

Opening Session
7 a.m. - 9:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 9 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 10 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

We’ll kick things off with an Artburst performed by a local artist, followed by an engaging and informative panel discussion, "We Are Here: Indigenous Perspectives on Place", organized by artist Monique Verdin, and a Welcome from our President and Board Chair, Caitlin Strokosch.

Idea Forum
12 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 3 p.m. - 4:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

Engaging 90-minute sessions exploring challenges, trends and innovative ideas in the field.

Art Talks
1:45 p.m. - 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 3:45 p.m. - 5 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 4:45 p.m. - 6 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

We’ve asked artists to tell us about themselves, their art and how their work and lives intersect with activism—all in 10 minutes. This session will also include ArtBursts, excerpt performances by local and national artists.

Live & Onstage Performances
4 p.m. - 6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

Our signature production showcases performance excerpts from six local artists and companies, including NPN-supported projects.

Thursday 12 December

Morning Plenary: ArtBurst and In the Works
7 a.m. - 9 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 9 a.m. - 11 a.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 10 a.m. - 12 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

In the Works provides a lively forum for conference attendees to share brief, 60-second presentations describing new projects at any stage of development. This is an opportunity to discuss new commissions or creative works that are currently being worked on and in need of collaborators, producers and artistic guidance. All are welcome to participate!

Idea Forum
9:15 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 11:15 a.m. - 12:45 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 12:15 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

Engaging 90-minute sessions exploring challenges, trends and innovative ideas in the field.

Live & Onstage
4 p.m. - 6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 6 p.m. - 8 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 7 p.m. - 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

Our signature production showcases performance excerpts from six local artists and companies, including NPN-supported projects.

Friday 13 December

Morning Plenary: Closing Remarks, Art Talks, Art Slam
7 a.m. - 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. CDT (New Orleans, UTC-5) / 10 a.m. - 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) Add to Google calendar

We’ve asked artists to tell us about themselves, their art and how their work and lives intersect with activism—all in 10 minutes. They get the last word before we close things out.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events. 

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark