Livestreaming on this page from Friday 18 September to Sunday 4 October 2020.

United States
Friday 18 September to Sunday 4 October 2020

Livestreaming: ROOTS Week 2020: The Fierce Urgency of Now

Annual meeting of Alternate ROOTS: a coalition committed to building a just world through arts, community, and activism

Produced With
Friday 18 September to Sunday 4 October 2020

Alternate ROOTS presents ROOTS Week Annual Meeting & Artists’ Retreat livestreaming on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 18 September to Sunday 4 October 2020.

ROOTS Week Annual Meeting & Artists' Retreat is a one-of-a-kind gathering: several days of performances, art and organizing workshops, UpROOTing Oppressions sessions, visual art exhibitions, our famous Late Night cabarets, and voting in new members. Due to the pandemic the gathering will take place online and is free to all!

Register on Eventbrite here today!

ROOTS is an ever-growing, ever-evolving coalition of people committed to building a just world through arts, community, and activism. Our 2020 focus will be our theme The Fierce Urgency of Now. We hope you'll join us on this journey of collective, community learning in preparation for collective, community change.

Artists, cultural organizers, and their families will come from across the South (and beyond!), joining an ever-growing, ever-evolving coalition of people committed to building a just world through arts, community, and activism.

As we've reimagined what virtual ROOTS Week can be, we've allowed more time and spaciousness for us to gather together. This multi-week event of programming will include:

Pod-organized UpROOTing space, Porch Sittin', art creation, and self-organized gathering space in the two “sandwich” weeks in addition to 3 programmed events during both “sandwich” weeks curated by ROOTS Week Staff.

Voting in of new voting members will take place on the last weekend of ROOTS Week on October 4th.

It is the mission of Alternate ROOTS to strive to be allies in the elimination of all forms of oppression, and we cultivate an intentionally diverse and inclusive community. We embrace all people—across race, gender, sexuality, religion, immigration status, ability, or any other marginalized identity. We actively resist racism, sexism, ableism, homophobia, transphobia, Islamophobia, and all other forms of oppression.

For updates and information, please visit our website!

Friday 18 September

Opening Ceremony: Welcoming Address with Michelle
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Late Night: Gender Equity
6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Saturday 19 September

Roots 101 and Keynote
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Panel: Accessibility Conversation with Samuel Valdez & National Disability Theatre (NDT) Founders
12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

CONVERSATION: Freedom Maps Report Back with Cherry and Ron Ragin
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Sunday 20 September

Tap Pilam (People of the Earth): Reclaiming & Preserving Our Sacred Legado
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

With Screening Indigenous people in San Antonio (Centering wellness and healing) Carla Aguillar (dance and healing justice) (American Indians of Texas)

Gallery Walk + Performance: Edyka Chilomé and Ceiba Ili
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Tuesday 22 September

Abolition Requires Transformation (Panel) with Kaiden
12 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Thursday 24 September

Partners for Change Panel with Clarissa
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Friday 25 September

The Fierce Urgency of Now: A reflection conversation led by Nathalie Nia Faulk, Harold Steward, and Sage Crump
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)


 

Saturday 26 September

Keynote
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Panel Conversation with Jose Torres Tamas
12 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Late Night: Omari: Le Cafe Nouveau Danger
6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Sunday 27 September

Multi Media Visual Art Making to Quiet the Mind with Taria Person
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

MCCP (Carlton Turner) / Pangea World Theater Performance
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Monday 28 September

Gallery Walk / The Graduates directed by Kathy Randels in Conversation with The Re-Entry Project directed by Wendy Belew + Critical Response
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Friday 2 October

Visual Arts Panel with Ambrose Murray
12 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Pop Up Cinema
6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Saturday 3 October

Keynote with Tufara
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

The Extraordinary Elders with Busi-Peters
12 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Late Night: YOOTS
6 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 8 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 9 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

 

Sunday 4 October

Meditative Space/ Healing Centered Workshop with Spirit House
7:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 9:30 a.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 10:30 a.m. EDT (New York, UTC -4)

Closing Ceremony + YOOTS Performance (LOUD Queer Youth Theater)
4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC -7) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC -5) / 7 p.m. EDT (UTC -4)

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark