Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Sunday 1 December 2019.

Knoxville, Tennessee
Sunday 1 December 2019

The National Theater Project (NTP) Appalachia Regional Convening

presented by New England Foundation for the Arts (NEFA) and Carpetbag Theatre

Sunday 1 December 2019

New England Foundation for the Arts (NEFA) and Carpetbag Theatre partnered to bring you the National Theater Project (NTP) Appalachia Regional Convening on December 1, 2019. We invite you to join us in an important exploration of the performing arts landscape in the Appalachian region. As part of NEFA’s effort towards understanding the theater-making ecology across the nation and making more equitable grant awards, they are hosting a day of information gathering and discussion to build connections and share stories and analyses of the regional performing arts infrastructure, triumphs, and challenges.

The day will be composed of panel discussions featuring artists, presenters, producers, service organizations, and philanthropists from the region, as well as performances by Kat and Karron Littleturtle, Cattywampus Puppet Council and Good Guy Collective, The Nouveau Sud Project, and One World Circus.

Panel Discussions and Performances

Performance #1: Traditions of our Southeastern Native Culture by Kaya Littleturtle, Kat Littleturtle, and Nakaya Leviner

9 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 12 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 17:00 GMT (UTC +0)

 

Panel #1: Learnings from The Carpetbag Theatre and Appalshop’s Long Legacies

10 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 1 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 18:00 GMT (UTC +0)

Interviewer: Jonathan Clark, Managing Director, The Carpetbag Theatre
Interviewees:
     Linda Parris-Bailey, Executive/Artistic Director, The Carpetbag Theatre
     Dudley Cocke, Artistic Director 1976-2018, Roadside Theater (Appalshop)

 

Performance #2: Revól by Nouveau Sud Project

11:15 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 2:15 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 19:15 GMT (UTC +0)

 

Panel #2: Different Types of Collaboration Happening in the Region

11:45 a.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 2:45 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 19:45 GMT (UTC +0)

Moderator: Joe Tolbert, The Carpetbag Theatre
Panelists:
     Jarius Bush, Artistic Director, Good Guy Collective
     David Ferris, Education Team Co-coordinator, Highlander Research & Education Center
     Bob Martin, Partner, Clear Creek Creative
     Rachel Milford, Artist & Cultural Organizer, Executive & Artistic Director of Cattywampus Puppet Council and Good Guy Collective
     Kiran Singh Sirah, President, International Storytelling Center

 

Performance #3: Webs: A Circus Confronting Sexualized Violence with Humor, Tragedy, and Empathy by One World Circus

1:00 p.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 4:00 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 21:00 GMT (UTC +0)

 

Panel #3: Geography of the Appalachia Region

1:30 p.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 4:30 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 21:30 GMT (UTC +0)

Moderator: Keryl McCord, CEO, EQ: Equity Quotient
Panelists:
     A. Hasan Davis J.D., Founder and Director, H D Solutions
     Becca Finney, Director, Roadside Theater (Appalshop)
     Robert Gipe, Producer, Higher Ground
     Kim Pevia, Founder and CEO, K.A.P., Inner Prizes

 

Performance #4: What the Water Tells ME by Cattywampus Puppet Council and Good Guy Collective

2:45 p.m. PST (Los Angeles, UTC -8) / 5:45 p.m. EST (Knoxville, UTC -5) / 22:45 GMT (UTC +0)

 

A Performance of The 5th Woman

This event is made possible with generous support from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation and the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation. The event is being hosted at the Press Room in Knoxville, TN.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

1
Add Comment
Newest First