Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page on Wednesday 29 and Thursday 30 April 2020 at 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)

United States
Wednesday 29 and Thursday 30 April 2020

Neurodiversity Matters Conference

Topics include Opportunities & Challenges with Neurodiverse Inclusion, Sensory Friendly Awareness, and much much more!

Wednesday 29 and Thursday 30 April 2020

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble presented Neurodiversity Matters Conference livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer-produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv on Wednesday 29 and Thursday 30 April 2020 at 10 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)

This two day event will bring experts, theatre artists, and members of the community together to discuss inclusion in the arts.

Topics include Opportunities & Challenges with Neurodiverse Inclusion, Sensory Friendly Awareness, and much much more!

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble mission is to evolve the awareness, resources, and professionals that empower our neurodiverse community in achieving equal opportunity and full participation in society.

Schedule:

 

Wednesday 29 April

Topic: Meeting Neurodiversity: Definitions and Ideas Regarding Neurodiversity
10 a.m. -10:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12 p.m. - 12:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:00 - 18:30 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:00 - 19:30 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Panel: Julie Dind, Vanessa Garcia, Nat Sorscher, and Nicole Yee
Moderator: Dr. Leon J. Hilton

Spotlight On: The Miracle Project New England
10:40 a.m. -10:50 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12:40 p.m. - 12:50 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1:40 p.m. - 1:50 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:40 - 18:50 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:40 - 19:50 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenters: Anna Zembo and Rachel Balaban

Topic: Autism, The Army, and The Arts; A Conversation on How Theatre Can Fill an Essential Need for Disabled Populations
11 a.m. - 11:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19:00 - 19:45 BST (London, UTC+1) / 20:00 - 20:45 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Panel: Adam Martin and Michael John Carley
Moderator: Dr. Tara Devine

Meet an STE Member: Dan Boyle
11:50 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1:50 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2:50 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19:50 BST (London, UTC+1) / 20:50 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)

Workshop: Using Viewpoints to Teach Social Distancing
12 p.m. - 12:50 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3 p.m. - 3:50 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 20:00 - 20:50 BST (London, UTC+1) / 21:00 - 21:50 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Instructor: Madison Weinhoffer
Teaching Artists: Daniel Perkins, Teddy Lytle, and Fallon Sousa

Spotlight On: STE Workshops
1 p.m. - 1:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 3 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 4 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 21:00 - 21:15 BST (London, UTC+1) / 22:00 - 22:15 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Teddy Lytle

Featured Program: Creative Communicators
1:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 3:30 p.m. - 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 4:30 p.m. - 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 21:30 - 22:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 22:30 - 23:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Mark Corallo
Moderator: Anna Zembo and Dan Boyle

Respec by Oscar Cabrera: 10 Minute Play Preview
2:10 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:10 p.m. - 4:50 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:10 p.m. - 5:50 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 22:10 - 22:50 BST (London, UTC+1) / 23:10 - 23:50 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Director: Dewey Scott-Wiley
Cast: Dan Boyle, Teddy Lytle, Adam Bram, James Miller

Spotlight On: Neurodiversity New Play Festival
2:50 p.m. - 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:50 p.m. - 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:50 p.m. - 6 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 22:50 - 23:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 23:50 - 00:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Clay Martin

Thursday 30 April

Topic: Standardizing Sensory Friendly Practices
10 a.m. - 10:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12 p.m. - 12:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:00 - 18:45 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:00 - 19:45 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Panel: Troy Battle, Dan Boyle, Daniel Perkins, Gavin Petty, and Clay Martin
Moderator: Dr. Mark Charney

Spotlight On: STE NICE Initiative
10:45 a.m. - 10:55 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 12:45 p.m. - 12:55 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 1:45 p.m. - 1:55 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 18:45 - 18:55 BST (London, UTC+1) / 19:45 - 19:55 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Gavin Petty(Berlin, UTC+2)

Featured Program: The Summit School Jesse Heffring
11 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19:00 - 19:20 BST (London, UTC+1) / 20:00 - 20:30 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Jesse Heffring
Moderator: Dan Boyle

Featured Program: Norwich Free Academy
11:30 a.m. - 12 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1:30 p.m. - 2 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2:30 p.m. - 3 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 19:30 - 20:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 20:30 - 21:00 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Phillip Trostler
Moderator: Dan Boyle

Topic: Playwrights Round Table on Creating Neurodiverse Plays
12 p.m. - 12:40 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2 p.m. - 2:40 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3 p.m. - 3:40 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 20:00 - 20:40 BST (London, UTC+1) / 21:00 - 21:40 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Panel: Dave Osmundsen, Jeremy Kamps, Amina Henry, Mashuq Dean
Moderator: Gary Garrison

Featured Program: Community Autism Resource’s Gottschall Access Program
12:40 p.m. - 12:55 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2:40 p.m. - 2:55 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3:40 p.m. - 3:55 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 20:40 - 20:55 BST (London, UTC+1) / 21:40 - 21:55 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenter: Late Dansereau

Topic: Challenges and Opportunities for Neurodivergent Inclusion in Colegiate Arts
1 p.m. - 1:45 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 3 p.m. - 3:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 4 p.m. - 4:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 21:00 - 21:45 BST (London, UTC+1) / 22:00 - 22:45 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Panel: Dr. Mark Charney, Dr. Leon Hilton, Ava Rigelhaupt, and
Dave Osmundsen

The Neurodiversity New Play Festival: The Importance of Being Workshop
2 p.m. - 2:50 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4 p.m. - 4:50 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5 p.m. - 5:50 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 22:00 - 22:50 BST (London, UTC+1) / 23:00 - 23:50 CEST (Berlin, UTC+2)
Presenters: Clay Martin, Dan Boyle, and Jeremy Kamps

 

Announcement: Neurodivergent Playwrights and Plays for the Neurodiversity New Play Festival
2:50 p.m. - 3 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:50 p.m. - 5 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:50 p.m. - 6 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4) / 22:50 - 23:00 BST (London, UTC+1) / 23:50 - 00:00 CEST

Funding provided in part by a grant from the Rhode Island State Council on the Arts, through an appropriation by the Rhode Island General Assembly, a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts and private funders.

About HowlRound TV

HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Comments

0
Add Comment
Newest First