fbpx re:ROUTES—the 2018 Network of Ensemble Theaters' National Gathering & Symposium in Tempe and Tucson, Arizona | HowlRound Theatre Commons

Livestreamed on this page Wednesday 31 October to Sunday 4 November 2018.

Tempe, Arizona and Tucson, Arizona, USA
Wednesday 31 October to Sunday 4 November 2018

Add to Calendar

re:ROUTES—the 2018 Network of Ensemble Theaters' National Gathering & Symposium in Tempe and Tucson, Arizona

Wednesday 31 October to Sunday 4 November 2018
re-ROUTES conference logo

Join NET's national community in the Sonoran Desert for reflection, conversations, sunsets, workshops, local community highlights, leg-dangling poolside hangouts, panels, performances, networking, and Tucson’s renowned All Souls Procession Weekend (a city-wide series of grassroots, art-infused ceremonies, celebrations, and events culminating in a community ritual procession and finale performance, produced by NET member Flam Chen/Many Mouths One Stomach)!

A two-city event in Tempe and Tucson, re:ROUTES explores expansive and emerging definitions, notions, and manifestations of ensemble practice and collaborative creation through the themes/priorities of:

  • Artistic Disciplines, Forms & Aesthetics
  • Decolonizing Ensemble Theater: Power, Systems, Culture & Traditions
  • Civic Applications; Community, Ritual & Collective Resistance
  • Place: Local, Regional & Indigenous Work, Artists & Ideas
  • Cultural Pluralism, Equity, Justice & Anti-Oppression.

NET's National Gathering & Symposium events bring together performing artists, co-creators, practitioners, producers, scholars, educators, teaching artists, students, cultural workers, organizers, activists, policy makers, funders, and community partners. 

Livestream Schedule

View the complete session descriptions.

Wednesday 31 October 2018

Opening Circle Plenary

Navigating re:Routes 

4 p.m. - 6 p.m. MST (Los Angeles, Tempe) / 7 p.m. - 8 p.m. EDT (New York)

Thursday 1 November 2018

Morning Plenary

 From DIY to DIT: Artists Building Community, Weaving Networks & Sharing Resources

9 a.m. - 11:45 a.m MST (Los Angeles, Tempe) / 12 p.m. - 2:45 p.m. EDT (New York)

Friday 2 November 2018

Breakout Sessions C

3-Dimensional Dramaturgy: Balancing Ensemble Engagement with Aesthetic Excellence

9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m MST (Los Angeles, Tempe) / 12 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EDT (New York)

Morning Plenary

In Conversation: Liz Lerman & Michael Rohd

10:45 a.m. - 12:15 p.m MST (Los Angeles, Tempe) / 1:45 p.m. - 3:15 p.m. EDT (New York)

Evening Plenary / Performance

Indigeneity, Sovereignty & Liberation

9 p.m. - 11 p.m MST (Los Angeles, Tucson) / Saturday 3 November  at 12:00 a.m. - 2:00 a.m. EDT (New York)

Saturday 3 November 2018

Morning Plenary

A Place-Based Primer

10 a.m. - 12 p.m. MST (Los Angeles, Tucson) / 1 p.m. - 3 p.m. EDT (New York)

Breakout Sessions D

Art as Creative Resistance: Waging ART WAR

2 p.m. - 3:30 p.m MST (Los Angeles, Tucson) / 5 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EDT (New York)

Sunday 4 November 2018

Morning Plenary

Barrio Stories in Barrio Anita: A Case Study in Revitalizing the Present through Honoring the Past

9 a.m. - 10:30 a.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 10 a.m. - 11:30 a.m MST (Tucson) / 12 p.m. - 1:30 p.m. EST (New York)

Closing Circle Plenary

  

11:45 a.m. - 1:15 p.m. PST (Los Angeles) / 12:45 p.m. - 2:15 p.m. MST (Tucson) / 2:45 p.m. - 4:15 p.m. EST (New York)

Find all of our upcoming events here.

Upcoming Events

Interested in following this conversation in real time? Receive email alerting you to new threads and the continuation of current threads.

subscribe

Comments

0
Add Comment

The article is just the start of the conversation—we want to know what you think about this subject, too! HowlRound is a space for knowledge-sharing, and we welcome spirited, thoughtful, and on-topic dialogue. Find our full comments policy here

Newest First