Event Has Passed

Livestreamed on this page from Friday 31 July to Sunday 2 August 2020.

United States
Friday 31 July to Sunday 2 August 2020

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble’s Neurodiversity New Play Festival

Premiering capstones for four new 10-minute plays, four public readings of works by playwrights on the spectrum, and panels on neurodiversity in the arts

Friday 31 July to Sunday 2 August 2020

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble presented their Neurodiversity New Play Festival livestreamed on the global, commons-based, peer produced HowlRound TV network at howlround.tv from Friday 31 July to Sunday 2 August 2020.

Spectrum Theatre Ensemble in partnership with Brown University’s department of theatre and performance studies is proud to announce The Neurodiversity New Play Festival, with online performances July 31, August 1, and August 2, 2020. The Neurodiversity New Play Festival will premiere capstones for four new 10-minute plays, four public readings of works by playwrights on the spectrum, and panels on neurodiversity in the arts. The festival will also be hosted in partnership with HowlRound Theatre Commons on their organizational website.

“The creation of The Neurodiversity New Play Festival has been a goal of STE since our inception”. states Clay Martin, Artistic Director of Spectrum Theatre Ensemble. “By launching this festival with amazing artists from around the country, we hope to expand the cannon of the American theatre to include more diverse roles for artists on the autism spectrum”.

During the festival, leaders of autism service organizations, and experts in the arts and autism field will participate in panels on topics of representation and inclusion for individuals on the autism spectrum in the theatre industry. STE is hoping to educate artists and audiences on how to how to provide inclusive and collaborative practices, while increasing the quantity of acting roles for the autism community as a whole.

More information about STE can be found at stensemble.org.

Friday 31 July

Elevating the voice Neurodiversity: Barrie Prizant, Leon Hilton, Michael John Carley
2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

10 min play: Respec by Oscar Carberra , directed by Dewey Scott-Wiley
2:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Panel Discussion with 10 min Play Group Mashuq Deen
3:15 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7 / 5:15 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 6:15 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Full Length Play: The Age of Belief by Michael John Carley, directed by Dewey Scott-Wiley
4 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 6 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 7 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Playwright Interview: Michael John Carley, Dewey Scott-Wiley
5:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 7:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 8:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Saturday 1 August

STE Feature: Viewpoints in Social Distancing
11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Scene: Importance of Being by Jeremy J. Kamps
11:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

One Act Play: Piotr’s Magic Radio by Michael John Carley directed by Dewey Scott-Wiley
12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-7)

10 minute play: The Simulation of the Mundane Bedlam that is Sensory Overload by Charles H. Hughes directed by Teddy Lytle
2 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Wrap Up: STE Sizzle Reel
2:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Sunday 2 August

UP Next Panel: The Exonerated; Javier Aybar (producer), Deron Wiliams (director) and Jay Walker (cast member)
11 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

10 min play: Internal Negotiations by Kevin Talley directed by Clay B. Martin
11:45 a.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 1:45 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 2:45 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

Full Length Play: Light Switch by Dave Osmundsen, directed by Clay B. Martin
12:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 2:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 3:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-7)

Playwright Interview: Gary Garrison and Dave Osmundsen
2:30 p.m. PDT (San Francisco, UTC-7) / 4:30 p.m. CDT (Chicago, UTC-5) / 5:30 p.m. EDT (New York, UTC-4)

About HowlRound TV
HowlRound TV is a global, commons-based peer produced, open access livestreaming and video archive project stewarded by the nonprofit HowlRound. HowlRound TV is a free and shared resource for live conversations and performances relevant to the world's performing arts and cultural fields. Its mission is to break geographic isolation, promote resource sharing, and to develop our knowledge commons collectively. Participate in a community of peer organizations revolutionizing the flow of information, knowledge, and access in our field by becoming a producer and co-producing with us. Learn more by going to our participate page. For any other queries, email tv@howlround.com, or call Vijay Mathew at +1 917.686.3185 Signal/WhatsApp. View the video archive of past events.

Bookmark this page

Log in to add a bookmark